We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cash flashers spoil things”

Chessington World of Adventures Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.25*
and up
Chessington World of Adventures Resort Admission...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us at Chessington World of Adventures Resort for a family adventure! Spin on KOBRA in the heart of Wild Asia, soar on Vampire in Transylvania, see giraffe, rhinos and flamingos on ZUFARI: Ride into Africa!, and try not to get soaked on Scorpion Express and Rameses Revenge! Meet the lions, tigers and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, hiss with the snakes in Creepy Caves and get lost beneath the waves in the SEA LIFE centre, before letting your little monkeys play in the AMAZU Treetop Adventure.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I always say this when we've been to a Merlin park but it needs to be said on every review - the Fast Trackers (or Cash Flashers as I affectionately call them) really ruin things for us average Joes. I feel I need to make a particular complaint about how the Cash Flashing queues were dealt with on Dragon's Fury and Tiger Rock. The attendants were just allowing swathes of Cash Flashers on to the rides at the expense of the standard queue. Disgusting service for the average customer. Once again a two tiered system so Merlin can make more money. Despite this and because we got there early, we did manage to get quite a few rides done. The new Tiger Rock ride hasn't changed much since it was Dragon Falls. Use the queue app to help you to make the best of your day. Staff were, in the main, more pleasant than last year. Beware Hocus Pocus Hall would be quite scary for young children and if you don't like mirror mazes, steer well clear.

3  Thank TravellerNearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChessingtonResort, Manager at Chessington World of Adventures Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit, we are subsequently disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your visit that did not meet expectation, and for this we can only apologise. Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea life"
in 246 reviews
"sealife centre"
in 216 reviews
"summer holidays"
in 122 reviews
"merlin pass"
in 151 reviews
"sea lion show"
in 92 reviews
"bigger rides"
in 122 reviews
"great family day"
in 84 reviews
"hocus pocus hall"
in 82 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 71 reviews
"great park"
in 73 reviews
"safari hotel"
in 150 reviews
"zoo"
in 1,407 reviews
"animals"
in 1,213 reviews
"lions"
in 103 reviews
"halloween"
in 135 reviews
"refill"
in 91 reviews
"coasters"
in 98 reviews
Filter

124 - 128 of 6,985 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Poor signage for disabled parking.
No concession fee for disabled.
Overly priced entrance fee, queued for over an hour on rides, so only managed to get on 4.

Food expensive.

One good thing there was plenty of toilets around.

1  Thank Deenut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChessingtonResort, Manager at Chessington World of Adventures Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit, we are subsequently disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your visit that did not meet expectation, please do not hesitate to contact the team further to discuss your experience with a member of the Guest Experience Team at feedback@chessington.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at the Safari Hotel.
The Good:
+ Love the Safari / Ancient City decor, the large field with roaming Giraffes and Zebras
+ We went with a toddler and she loved touching the animals, the Gruffalo River-ride, exploring the hotel surroundings
+ Gruffly comes to the hotel toddler loved this
+ Splash pool is great
+ Food once it finally arrives is OK

Improvement:
- The lifts are very small and queuing for them takes a long time.
- Staff could benefit from hotel management training. We made reservations in the restaurant. No record of them when we arrived. Not offered any alternative. Had to go to Epsom tapas restaurant for dinner.
- Staff manning the bar till was unable to do it effectively. Other staff just looked on doing nothing. Queues and frustration rose.
- No food in the bar until 2pm. Why?
- Not enough staff and food for dinner times.
- At breakfast an army of Mums queues for the one ancient toast machine. Forget about getting toast. Why aren't there more toasters around?

This place could be amazing if Merlin invested in staff training and management and cared less about mark-ups and bodies through the door and more bout efficiency and delivering an experience people will come back for.

2  Thank mj52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChessingtonResort, Manager at Chessington World of Adventures Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit, we are subsequently disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your visit that did not meet expectation, and for this we can only apologise. Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today (bank holiday) so expected the park to be busy and for rides to have a lengthy waiting time (90 minutes) however this wasnt the issue. The food and drinks are ridiculoulsy over priced, this is half ‘to be expected’ but £3 for a fizzy (flat) drink in a cup which would be a size ‘small’ for any popular fast food chain. You cannot get a ‘blue’ re-fill drink unless you are a merlin pass holder (unless you go somehwere where they dont ask to see your pass, like the lady behind us) the stalls had run out of water. THIS wouldnt have been such an issue, but the reason for the low rating is the terrible attidute from the staff. Completley ruined our trip. No smile, no manners and a careless attitude. Working with customers myself, I would never have such a rude attitude and if i did, there would be reprecussions. The staff need more training or recognition.. or something. There was one guy, working on the little bus ride at about 11am on monday, noticed my sons birthday badge and encourged everyone on the ride to guve him a cheer. This is the sort of customer service that would be expected from a family theme park, i hop he gets some recognition but i imagine this will not be the case, im doubtful chessington care about these reviews considering the thousands they rinse from customers each day.

1  Thank Rhiannon103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChessingtonResort, Manager at Chessington World of Adventures Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit, we are subsequently disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your visit that did not meet expectation, please do not hesitate to contact the team further to discuss your experience with a member of the Guest Experience Team at feedback@chessington.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a good day out here lucky the weather was on our side, we got in with a 2-4-1 ticket , however this park is no way on earth worth £50 each full price!
The gruffalo ride was boring to be kind and the tiger rock ride that our little one was most excited about had a 1.4 m height restriction on it, I don’t have a problem with that but don’t advertise it on tv with little kids programs when actually you have to be like 10 years old to be tall enough!
Food and drink outrageous as you’d expect, and £3 to use the car park was a liberty!!!!!
Will put it down to a been their done it !

1  Thank dilly-dally007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChessingtonResort, Manager at Chessington World of Adventures Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit, we are subsequently disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your visit that did not meet expectation, and for this we can only apologise. Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chessington World of Adventures Resort also viewed

 

Been to Chessington World of Adventures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing