We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chessington Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Family Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Booked a mini break to go to Chessington World of Adventures. We wanted a family room with a seperate area for children but you cant prebook this, we were firstly put in a smoking room that smelt awful so we asked to move. (1st floor seems to be smoking floor).
The room was large and bed very comfortable, a shower only in room 120 which is hard if you have little kids that still need bathing. Tea and coffee in room which is always a bonus and toiletries in bathroom as expected.

The restaurant was pretty good considering and the activities for children great in the evening with Films and the Wii room. The breakfast was really good and they have a great selection of hot and cold food.

You gain early entry into the park if you stay in the hotel. But actually its a false offer as none of the rides open until 10am anyway so its relatively pointless being there at 0915! You also get free car parking but they ask you to move the car on the day you check out, we ignoredthis as it was stupid to expect us to!

Overall a nice break and handy being on the park site itself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a nice stay. The rides do open early for hotel guests - sorry, we're not sure where you got the information from that they don't?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    550
    272
    147
    125
See reviews for
1,210
104
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Customer service is not a strong point in this hotel!

Stayed at the holiday inn at chessington as part of a 2 day trip to chessington world of adventures! I booked a twin room & a triple room as their were 5 of us! Upon arriving at the hotel I asked at reception for interconnecting rooms - the male receptionist advised (after a few minutes of searching), that it would be possible for us to have an interconnecting room. I asked if we could check in at that point and as it was only 10.30 we could not check in, but we're assured the interconnecting rooms were held for us. We went off into the park for the day!
Came back at around 5.30 to check in - advised the lady that was checking us in that I had spoken to some in the morning and we had requested interconnecting rooms. Typing away on her computer, she advised that the was nothing on our booking -asked if I could wait for a minute & disappeared behind reception for about 10 minutes. She came back to advise that unfortunately there were no interconnecting rooms available & there never were. The man I spoke to in the morning was mistaken apparently - which basically means the rooms was given to someone else!!! Not a great check in experience. I was not particularly annoyed that we could not have the rooms as I understand the hotel is busy, I was more annoyed that I was kept waiting for so long with no explanation & seemingly have been to lied too.

The Rooms
The rooms we were given we're very spacious and nicely decorated.
The beds and pillows were extremely hard in the family room we had - we had a terrible nights sleep because of this.

The room was supposed to be for 3 people yet there were only 2 towels in the bathroom - 1 large small - 1 large!

Took me about 15 minutes to get hold of house keeping to get an iron & ironing board!

The facilities in the hotel are great we used the pool & the restaurant for breakfast - We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner as the menu was fairly expensive and does not cater that well for children (which was a surprise).

The hotel is busy & noisy but I think that it is be expected with this type of hotel.

I am not sure I would recommend this hotel as there is a Premier inn in the area which would have been cheaper and probably to the same standard (minus the swimming pool).

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomase77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review and the relevant departments will be fed back to with regards to your comments about the towels and ironing board. Our rooms do have a choice of soft or firm pillows so we're sorry that you didn't feel that they were very comfortable and apologies that you were given the incorrect information with regards to the interconnecting rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having read many of the Tripadvisor reviews I was prepared to by decidedly underwhelmed by the Holiday Inn Chessington. I am pleased to say that I was actually quite relieved and impressed by the whole experience.

One of the most common complaints is about the unfriendly staff – our experience was the very reverse. Without exception everyone seemed to work as hard as they could to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

Travelling with children is always a bit of a hassle but the family room (not themed) turned out to be ideal for us with two boys aged 5 and 8. There is a separate area just inside the door with the kids beds and that is separated from the main room by the bathroom. It’s not a suite but is a genuine family room.

The pool area is really nice too, they limit your stay to 45 minutes during peak times 4:00 – 8:00 which I think is good as it is never too crowded and gives everyone a chance for a dip. There’s always an attendant on hand and rowdy or selfish behaviour is not allowed to spoil everyone’s fun.

Our stay was over the Easter weekend and the hotel was very busy. Even at such a busy time the standard of behaviour from all of the children in the hotel was exceptional, I guess it is just the type of families that the place attracts. Even so, if you don’t like seeing children enjoying themselves then you had better choose a different hotel

In short if your are visiting the theme park then your really can’t go wrong by choosing the Holiday Inn, if you want it as a base for other activities then it might be worth considering other options.

The only gripe with the whole place is the beds, they feel a bit cheap and wobbly, they’re ok for a couple of nights but that’s about it.

Well done! Holiday Inn

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glasssol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope that we can welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Myself and my wife where put into the holiday inn chessington on 05-02-12 untill 14-03-12 because of a massive flood at our house,we would like to give all the staff a big thankyou for all there help whilst we stayed at the hotel,the accomadation is superb and is very clean.
The food was excellent and once again there are special thankyou's to Sofie,matt and kelly for all there help,I would recommend that you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Very sorry to hear about your flood but we are very pleased that we could be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have no children and were concerned when we saw where we had booked however the staff were great. They gave us a room on the top floor at the far end and we had a silent nights sleep (better than some more expensive hotels). The executive room was spotless and quite large for 2 people. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The fried eggs were cooked to order and served just as requested. All the staff smiled and were friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write that review. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice, both times for the Hocus Pocus event in Halloween half term. The first stay was nice - had a swim (the pool was highly chlorinated, but probably needed it with the amount of young children), enjoyed the veranda and especially enjoyed the early entrance to the park where we took advantage of the lack of queues on the big rides. We ate in and it was perfectly ok. We had two family rooms which were clean.

The second visit was very much different to the first. We went with the same family as last time and had rooms next to each other. It was apparent as we approached the rooms that something wasn't quite right as the Whiff was strong from outside the doors. Once the doors to the rooms were opened it was disgusting - the stench was dreadful and can only be described as raw sewage with a hint of rotting cabbage - you get the picture! Two adults stayed with the children and two went to reception, which was rammo. Staff accompanied us back to the rooms where they confirmed there was a problem with the 'bathroom'. Back to reception - there were no more rooms available to swap and so our blood pressure started to rise. We were told to 'go and enjoy ourselves' while the room situation was sorted. The upshot was a room swap (I later saw the poor unsuspecting couple who were given our original room after a caustic soda clear out !) We ate in the newly refurbished restaurant which was ok, we felt limited choices on the menu, especially for the children. Breakfast was a shambles with no sausages or mushrooms, limited egg, and tomatos - the staff were frantically running to the shops to replenish stock - OMG!
After voicing our displeasure, we were offered some points on a reward card and an apology which went some way to appeasing us. UNTIL we didn't receive the cards with the rewards on and staff failed to call me back no fewer than 6 times. We are still waiting for this to be sorted out!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with the whiff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntiebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are very sorry that you had a mixed experience. We have taken all of your feedback on board and we are launching a new menu with more choices in two weeks. I hope that you have now received your cards, if not please email for the attention of Sophie Cross to conference@holidayinnchessington.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have visited Zafari Grill three times in a year with our Grandchildren and enjoyed the experience each time .As we are neighbours of the Holiday Inn i cannot comment on the rooms etc but i felt it was a shame the excellent staff and chefs of the Zafari Grill do not get the written credit they deserve.the staff are always attentive and friendly and there to make you visit enjoyable..The only problem we experience is viewing the roaming animals so always ask for a window table as they are usually taken by adults who wouldn't know the zebra's etc are there .Looking forward to our next visit soon dws50

Room Tip: Pick a window table
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dws1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review of the restaurant. We are very proud of this unique venue with the open kitchen and views of the Reserve. The chefs will be delighted. We have a new menu starting in two weeks so we hope you will come soon to try it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#151 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Property: Chessington Safari Hotel
Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing