We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost There”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Almost There”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have used this hotel many times and there is always something that irritates, be it lack of communication, a rogue bad attitude or something.

This time, I stayed 3 nights and all was great. Maybe it'd because they weren't too busy but they really seem to have got their act together. A little attention to the billing process would give it a 5. If the room is pre-paid, you don't need to charge me again!

The hotel is having an extension built so the leisure centre is closed. It would have been nice to have been informed of this either before my stay or when I checked in. Never mind, a short walk in my trunks gave me some exercise........

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Chessington Resort! We have ensured that all information regarding the closure of our leisure club is available to all of our guests through the hotel website. However, we are sorry to hear that you were not made aware – we are currently building a new exciting leisure club set to open in the near future! We hope you will return again soon to experience the brand new changes we have in store!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    567
    281
    151
    131
See reviews for
1,253
104
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here on in February for 1 night 2 adults, 2 children (8, 6).

Parking easy and plentiful.
Check-in was quick.

Room (140) did not have a great view (just the car park) but no big deal.
Room was well laid out into 3 'separate' rooms
Small area with two small beds and a telly for the kids (which they loved), modern bathroom, then main room with king bed, desk, large lcd tv, and comfy chair. Good air con too.
All well furnished and very clean - nothing at all to complain about.
Much better than many other holiday inns I've stayed in.

Dinner in Zafari came alarmingly quickly - but was better quality than expected.
(TGI's type food). Kids meals were good and it is quite a nice 'themed' restaurant.

Prices in Bar and restaurant are expensive for what you get - but it is (sadly) expected in this kind of hotel.

Breakfast was really good I thought - much better than I was expecting given previous reviews. Some of the characters from Madagascar film were present too which the kids loved.

There is an area in hotel lobby with bean-bags for kids to watch 'disney-type' movies.
I suppose two moans about this - TV is a bit quiet, and it's not in sight of bar area.

There was also a programme of kids entertainment in hotel - face painting, stories, crafts etc - this was in lobby and some function rooms.
I think a mini-disco would have been a good addition.

Shop in lobby with toys / sweets / etc.
Views at back of hotel to the Safari area of chessington - where there are deer and ostrich to see from the hotel (I guess more animals come near the hotel in summer) there is a nice terrace and viewing area here too.

Overall a great family hotel.
The rooms are much, much better than comparable hotels at alton towers, food & service much better too although entertainment could be improved a bit.

We paid £79 for one night which included Bed, Breakfast, and park tickets for 4.
I think that's amazing value!

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel overlooking safari bit rather than car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your great 5* review of the Chessington Resort Hotel – it’s brilliant that you found your whole experience enjoyable. We are particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your comfy room and dining experience in the restaurant! We do hope that you will come back and visit the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with the whole safari and animal theme. On check in they wanted to pre-authorise my card for the two nights stay, however the room was supposed to be paid on on departure by my colleague. It was non-negotiable and so they had to use my card and 2 days later the amount is yet to go back in? Ridiculous I think, and annoying!

The room was nice, however the lack of wifi is inconvenient and quite surprising.

Dinner was ok, however surely when ordered together all food should come together, 15 minutes apart? Breakfast was ok, nothing special!

Staff were nice and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Loubie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review of the Chessington Resort. Our reception team do take a pre-authorisation on your card upon check in; this amount will show back in your account within 3-5 working days. We do apologise for the inconvenience; should you have any further issues with regards to this, please do not hesitate to message us directly. Wi-Fi is available in all public areas of the hotel, however there is a chargeable wired connection in all of our bedrooms. There are many exciting new changes on the way so we do hope you will come back to ‘Britain’s Wildest Adventure again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel twice. The location is perfect. The restaurants and our rooms has a lovely view. We highly recommend this place for family, their family room is perfect for my little family I genuinely like the ambiance of the room. They have all the facilities for children.

Room Tip: Family room with the back view over-looking the animals in the zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhenniJayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of the Chessington Resort! It’s great to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and the view from your room. We do hope you’ll come back and stay with us in our new Azteca Hotel which will open this Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
258 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived late after evening out. Checked in ok but reception man not friendly and no recognition of card level.
Had a double room with bunk beds which seems odd for the two of us. Bed only a double with basic duvet and only wall dispenser shampoo in shower room.
We were woken before 8am on Sunday with workmen on the adjacent rebuilding site. That and noisy doors closing spoiled our hoped for sleep in. The reception lady apologised (just) but overall the quality and standard overall has slipped. No offer of upgrade or any other pleasantries.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Resort after your recent visit. With regards to the service you received, this is something that we will further investigate with our teams. Being a family orientated hotel, all of our rooms are fully equipped to sleep up to four people to allow families to stay together although all guests can take advantage of the extra space! There are many exciting changes on the horizon for our hotel so we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watton at Stone
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here just for one night so that we could see our grandchildren in their local pantomime. The hotel had a special offer going and we stayed in one of their executive rooms, which was really good with plenty of space. We were very pleased to find the bar open and welcoming when we got in at about 11.30 P.M.
Our family joined us for breakfast and they were accommodated without any fuss. The breakfast was very good and the staff were happy to let us sit and chat well after service had finished.
It is a big corporate hotel that is very much run for the World of Adventures but it provided us with a very welcoming stopover.

Room Tip: Go for the executive room if you can and ask for a room so that you can see the animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your recent four star review of the Chessington Resort. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and in particular, the great breakfast that we offer. We have some new and exciting adventures planned for 2014 and so we hope that you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband & I recently attended a wedding here. We felt it was a very nice themed hotel & would look to return again with our 2 young children. We enjoyed our stay & the room was very nice, however the breakfast was hideous!! It was extremely hectic & the breakfast was so unappetising. The scrambled egg was worse than airline food. Vile, vile, vile!! I was very disappointed that we'd paid for breakfast in advance as if we hadn't we would've certainly given it a miss. My advice would be to check it out before you pay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-from-Sydenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Chessington Resort! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended at the hotel and that you would like to bring your children back to the resort. Regarding the issues you encountered with breakfast, we will ensure our management teams are made aware of the problems and will look to improve these in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#138 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#87 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Property: Chessington Safari Hotel
Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing