We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely first stay at Chessington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Essex, Uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely first stay at Chessington”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

First Impressions

The hotel next door is being completed so the front of the hotel was having a little work done on it, this was only minimal and was of not concern. The hotel has free parking and is just a few minutes walk to the theme park.

Room

We stayed in a room with a view of the animals. The room was nice and clean and had a separate sleeping area for our son with his own TV. The room was a good size and depending what time of day it was there was always animals to look out on which was lovely.

We had a quiet room at the end of the corridor but the whole hotel in general seemed quiet, nothing like the noise experienced at the Alton Towers Hotel. We had a good nights sleep. There is also free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

Breakfast

Much like the breakfast at the Alton Towers hotel it is a big letdown. Of course its busy and of course it is hectic and I fresh items were being brought out all the time BUT the food quality is poor. The variety is decent but I would stick to the cold items instead of the hot food.

Reserve Walk

The walk is open from dusk and really set the hotel apart from anything else, it is a great idea and my son loved it, it was a quiet and lovely walk getting up close to the animals in the evening.

Theme Park

The theme park is great for a 3 year old, lots of rides he can go on and its not a huge park so not much walking, the zoo is an added bonus and there is also a sealife centre there as well.

We will definitely come back and if they can improve the quality of the breakfast and offer earlier dining times then I wouldn't hesitate in giving the hotel 5 stars. The waterpark and extra hotel will be a welcome addition.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psbakerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for providing the team with such great feedback on your recent stay at the onsite Chessington Safari Hotel. Its great to hear that many aspects of your stay were fantastic including the park, the room and also the evening walks into our Wanyama Reserve. We will ensure that your feedback about breakfast is passed on to all relevant management teams. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    578
    290
    154
    136
See reviews for
1,283
106
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in a family room for a Saturday night as a treat for my son's birthday so we could visit the world of adventures for 2 full days. The room was spacious with bunk beds for the children in a separate area and tastefully decorated. We enjoyed the early access to the World of Adventures and managed to get on a couple of rides before the theme park got busy. The restaurant was excellent for both adults & children with plenty of healthy options. We used the pool during early evening which was lovely with a gorgeous spa area which I enjoyed while the kids were with my husband. I also booked a full body massage for the Saturday evening at Pure Bliss the beauty salon located next to the spa. This was a real treat after a day at the theme park and I would absolutely recommend a visit if time allows. The beautician was fabulous and I left feeling totally relaxed. We will be returning as the hotel offers so much for all the family and at a reasonable price too

Room Tip: Family rooms great for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your great review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! It’s great to hear that your son thoroughly enjoyed his birthday treat at the Resort and that you felt totally relaxed after your trip to the spa! We will pass on your great feedback about our spa therapist to the team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I had read some reviews before I stayed and they were quite mixed! Our stay was quite fabulous, the room was large and clean, the location was fab, the Wanyami reserve was great! We had dinner at the hotel which was very nice, the breakfast buffet was great too! My only complaint is that we has American students in the next hotel room and they made a terrible racket! I called reception who apologised and said they would sort it! And they did! 5 mins later no noise!
Would deffo recommend

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmMicknJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic 5* review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! Its brilliant to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and although you encountered a small issue, our staff were able to fix the situation straight away. We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was my second trip to this hotel, but a first for the rest of my family.
It was good to see they enjoyed it as much as I hoped they would.
The hotel is well equipped, decorated in an animal theme, with a particular emphasis on giraffes!
There's a kids entertainment program too.
We took advantage of roaming around the animals once we checked in, before we had our evening meal. Getting up close with the meerkats was good fun.
The added bonus was getting into Chessington world of adventures early the following day and having fast-track bands to use for the first house the park was open.

Room Tip: Safari rooms have a GREAT view, but come at a price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your great four star review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to experience our Wanyama village walk during the evening, exclusive to hotel guests! We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our third stay at the Hotel which provides great value with free entry into the Park. We also had early entry and fast pass for the first hour. Kids are already asking when we are going back.

Room Tip: add a little extra and get a themed room overlooking the giraffes and zebras
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic five star feedback regarding your stay at the resort. Its great to hear that you found our hotel such great value. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

It's amazing the staff love to talk and help theme park amazing overall amazing and can't wait for the new hotel looks amazing
The food is lovely u can see some animals from your window and a little zoo next to the hotel with is free

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fox n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your fantastic 5* review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! Its fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our Wanyama Village and found our staff to be extremely friendly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived at the chessington hotel after a long drive from the north east. We had a day in the park, which I have to say is an amazing place, we then headed into the hotel. Fantastic check inn even though it was very busy. We went to our rooms and what a beautiful clean place the whole hotel is. All the staff were guenuinly friendly. After a great nights sleep we had a lovely relaxing breakfast watching giraffes etc. Have to say what a lovely place, my children loved it and even with a 5 hour drive we casnt wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the brilliant 5* review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! Its brilliant to hear that you enjoyed an amazing day in the park, followed by an enjoyable and great night’s sleep in our Hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#143 of 1,067 in London
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Property: Chessington Safari Hotel
Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing