We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great experience for the kids”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Overall a great family hotel with kids in separate area in bedroom which let's everyone have their own space which is essential for families. Really helpful staff. However not enuf activities/entertainment in hotel when not UK school holidays as we came from Ireland for first week in July so missed out on the extra entertainment, a pity, as we were there three nights!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel! It’s fantastic to hear that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms, with separate sleeping area’s for the children. We do apologise that you were not able to enjoy any of our entertainment on this particular evening. We hope to welcome to the Resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    567
    281
    151
    131
See reviews for
1,253
104
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Overall this hotel is great value and makes the trip to the theme park all the more special. The outlook from the hotel to the zebras and giraffes etc is fabulous and its a nice touch that guests have access to another little section of the park in the evening. The décor is lovely and runs with the African theme. We didn't stay in a themed room but it still held the African theme in its décor. The family room was by far the best we have had with a separate alcove with 2 kids beds, which let them feel like they had their own room. They even had their own TV.
In the main hotel area there was a chill out zone with beanbags and films playing on a big screen so the kids could go there after dinner allowing the adults a bit of time.
The swimming pool was ok but a bit small. However the splash zone in the new hotel looks fun. Staff were very friendly. The food was fine and not too pricey but as with all hotels the drinks inc soft drinks were expensive.
Overall I would definitely stay there again and look forward to visiting the new hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for such a great five star review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly enjoyed the fantastic view on to the Wanyama reserve! We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked this for myself and my 5 year old for a birthday treat for him. When I booked on the website it said 'half an hour early entry in to the park' I thought perfect no queuing. We arrived at 11am and were told check in was not until 3pm, so we got the car parking ticket and went into the park for the day. We had a great time.
At 5pm we went back to check in, we waited 20 minutes as this was a busy time (I'd advise to nip out at 3pm if you can). A lovely chap checked us in gave us our keys and said 'we have started a new thing you now get into the park an hour earlier than opening time so you can go and enjoy the park before the crowds' ideal I thought! We were then told by the same lovely chap that the restaurant was full until 9pm but there were places out of the hotel in the nearby vicinity or room service we could eat...not ideal with a hungry 5year old! It would have been great if this was mentioned when I tried to check in at 11am! We headed to the room (which was very nice) then down for a swim, to be told there was a wait as it was full. They took our room number and said they would give us a call when there was room which they did about 20minutes later.
We then discussed the next day and mapped out the rides we were going to head for before the crowds. The next day we got up had a good breakfast in the restaurant and headed to the gate for the 9am start. 9.15 we were finally let in then held in the zoo area until 9.30, (I didn't feel this was too bad as I booked with the understanding we had half an hour before the crowds, and only the lovely chap in reception had said we had an hour) one we we're let in we rushed off the bubble boat ride to be told 'sorry this isn't open until 10am' we went to the pirate ride to be told the same...I was told it was only the big rides open early by one of the team members...I was now pretty angry as this was not mentioned on the website and my 5 year old is not a big ride fan. I feel I was totally miss sold to on the website. Had I have know this before booking at £250 for one night I would probably have booked the travel lodge just outside the park at less than half the price!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for providing some feedback regarding your stay at the Chessington Safari Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not get to experience our restaurant. The Zafari Bar & Grill is an extremely popular dining choice at the Resort and consequently, we do encourage all of our guests to pre-book in advance of their arrival. Health and Safety is of paramount importance to the Resort as a whole and consequently, we have strict capacity regulations in our pool and a waiting list is put into place on busy days to ensure it’s fair for all. We are glad to hear that the team contacted you when there was availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel and staff were very friendly, got there early and my husband asked if there was a possibility of a free upgrade we were told to go backing a hour which we did and they obliged, the room was overlooking the safari which was excellent, the kids couldn't get over been able to see the animals. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant which was delicious a tad bit expensive but watching the zebras and animals was unbelievable while you eat. My husband got a cheesecake pudding which was extremely overpriced we couldn't get over it, it looked like a cheap cheesecake out of a tub with a bit of juice on it, £5!! Not worth the money at all.
Next day breakfast was lovely, a great way to start the day. We had wristbands for early riders which was deceiving we thought we got in a hour early but we didn't it opened same time but we could use fast pass which was great but half of the rides were still running tests so we were running round the park trying to find rides we thought would benefit the fast pass, got to bubble works and the fast pass gate was locked so we joined t he really long queue, I then noticed people going through the shop to the exit and hopping on which really made me mad, I asked a man on the ride if that's what I was supposed to do and he said ' not really there's no one to do fast pass but you can hop over if you would like'. We managed to get on o ly 3 rides in a hour using fast pass so found it a waste of time and not really a benefit to staying at the hotel, we could have stayed at premier inn round the corner.
To add insult to injury when we got home we have been charged for the 'free room upgrade'.
Room was very nice though not sure we would stay here again as we have done it now and due to the problems may stay at premier inn and save the money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank head2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel. It’s fantastic to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed the great views on to the Wanyama Reserve both in your bedroom and whilst having dinner. We are sorry to hear that you did not get to experience our Early Rider scheme at its fullest. We are sure that you understand that Chessington does endeavour to ensure that all rides are available at all times but unfortunately this is not always possible. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is our third stay at this hotel and because of the excellent time we had on our previous visits our expectation levels were set very high.

On arrival we noticed that there was still some on going works with the new Chessington Azteca Hotel being built next door so expected that to have some impact on our stay.

However our fears were soon forgotten as we received a very warm welcome by the excellent reception team as we entered to hotel.

Though there is clear evidence that the building work is being undertaken we never found it to the detriment of stay, we never heard any construction work nor were we restricted on where we could go or do. The only sign of the work being carried out was the boarding which was tastefully put up. This gave us confidence that the Hotel management were making sure that the new Hotel, which I'm sure will add to the experience for future visitors, wasn't going to impact on current guests.

Our room was superb, very clean, spacious and my son just loved having his own bedroom area.

The staff in all areas of the hotel always had time for us and made us feel very welcome and valued.

The restaurant was very good and the whole family found something they liked on the menu and enjoyed it when it arrived which is rare for us.

I understand the comments from others with regards the cost but for us we felt that the experience and service we received, and the way the staff appear to value us as customers, made it feel worth every penny we paid.

The only down side for us was that we stayed two nights......We should have stayed three nights instead as it was hard to leave when the time came!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the fantastic five star review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! It’s so brilliant to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the customer service delivered by the teams to the clean and spacious bedroom you stayed in. We do hope that you will be able to return to the Resort and the new Azteca Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly staff .. Breakfast was lovely and so was the view of the zebras .. we had an evening meal which was not nice we both ordered a chicken leg with a side very bland chicken which was disappointing as they are expensive .. Hotel rooms are nice and clean . We stayed in a themed room have to say it didnt really have wow factor to it being classed as themed glad we had the sun discount code as wouldnt pay full for themed room.. But was very clean .. Enjoyed being so close to the theme park.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sareena87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review of your recent stay at the Safari Hotel. Its brilliant to hear that you enjoyed breakfast whilst looking out on our Wanyama Reserve, home to Grevy’s Zebra amongst many other animals! We will ensure your feedback regarding your evening meal is passed on to our Head Chef to review. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight as part of a 2 day visit to the park. Very friendly and attentive staff, excellent Duty Manager who dealt professionally with our concerns after someone kindly ploughed into our car and didn't leave details. Hotel room excellently designed with kids beds separated from ours with their own TV. Very small window to see animals and dirty carpet. Couldn't fathom the smart TV either! Evening dinner was average- kids burger was same as adult burger but without the salsa! Impressive breakfast, items constantly replenished. Will come again but look forward to trying out new hotel next door!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reedyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! Its great to hear that our staff were able to efficiently deal with an unpleasant situation for you and your family. We appreciate all feedback so will ensure that all your comments are passed on to our relevant management teams to review. We hope to welcome you back to experience a new adventure in the Azteca Hotel which opens in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#138 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#87 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Property: Chessington Safari Hotel
Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing