We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the resort feel of this place and the staff make this happen. They were always happy and friendly and gave the feel of being on holiday.

Kids also used the indoor pool. Room is spacious enough and has separate kids area with bed that they loved. Only a few minutes walk to get into the park.

Standard help your self buffet breakfast staff obliged all requests that we had on both days. Thank you.

Kids also enjoyed evening entertainment. The restaurant doesn't quite meet expectations with good quality and price but was ok.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TelfordAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your great five star review; regarding you stay at the Safari Hotel. It’s brilliant to hear that you feel our staff helped in making your stay special. We are pleased your family enjoyed the leisure facilities we offer and the evening entertainment. It’s great to hear the room was appropriate for your needs during your stay. We hope to see you again soon at Chessington Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    567
    281
    151
    131
See reviews for
1,253
104
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We booked an African themed room - what a mistake. I will post some photos on here in a minute of the 'four poster bed' and the treasure that my daughter received from the treasure hunt in the room (namely one pic and mix type sweet). If this had been the only things wrong I could have coped with the overpriced stay but the list just goes on and on.

When we returned to the room in the evening we found that neither tv worked and we had to get somebody to come up and check them. We were given two other remote controls which seemed to do the trick. This whole process took about 30 minutes so by the time we could watch tv I just wanted to sleep. We also had to order two hot chocolate drinks from room service for £12.50. There were meant to be sachets in the room (I later found out) but we had none! There were also no toiletries in the room despite this being advertised.

The hotel restaurant had a nice outlook over the reserve, however the plates and glasses had not seen a sponge and washing up liquid and we were unable to eat off of them. This was pointed out to the manager in the restaurant but he didn't seem at all concerned about our comments.

We were meant to have an hour extra in park from 9am as we were hotel guests but the rides which were meant to be opened earlier were shut. Why specify they are going to be open if they're not? There is a general lack of care about the outlook of the park. The pond is filthy and the other pond like thing that has a crocodile sign is just disgusting. Why is it there if there's nothing in it?

Overall, a real let down and so overpriced. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveyousomuch111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with your stay. Your comments will be passed on immediately to the relevant managers to investigate the sectors mentioned in your review, including the park; as our guests comfort during their stay is paramount to us and any feedback is always appreciated. Apologies our African themed rooms were not as you expected; however, our new Azteca hotel will have heavily themed rooms – which you might wish to explore in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent a week here with my friend and our children, had the most amazing time! The hotel itself is amazing, being an animal print fan this was right up my street, the room was lovely although we didnt have enough towels and the loo didnt flush but that was sorted within minutes of our arrival!

The food is all delicious, fairly priced, Big shout out to my favorite waiter Julien, lovely person and what a fantastic job he does too making sure everybody is happy no matter how busy he was!

We fed the giraffes that was an incredible experience - loved every second!

All in all a fun and manic time! would highly recommend this hotel to everybody! Cant rate this place and what it has to offer enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time in writing your lovely five star review on the Chessington Safari Hotel. It’s fantastic to hear your family had a pleasant stay and your queries were dealt with as quickly as possible. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening meals in the Zafari Bar and Grill and your waiter was attentive during your stay. We hope to see you again soon at Chessington Resort, perhaps in our new Azteca Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed one night, 2 days at the park. The hotel is really close to the gate of the park. We found the reception area and common areas to be pleasant, up to date and clean. We had a themed room which meant we did not have few on the reserve. We did not regret our choice. It was just perfect and what you expect to have the theme running also into your bedroom. All these rooms are on the 3rd floor as I understand facing the car park, and it was very quite. I was just surprised that the separate sleeping area for children was not separated by a door but it was still better than a regular family room. They had their own little tent themed corner.
There was a large breakfast and the quality was ok. We also had dinner there and thought the food was nice- superior to other parks we have stayed at. Overall we enjoyed the feeling of being in a smaller park hotel. People were friendly too. The waitress we had for dinner was excellent and attentive to our needs.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the themed room- facing the car park but quiet because of being on 3rd floor and nice sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kald06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your fantastic five star review; regarding your previous stay at the Chessington Safari Hotel! It’s great to hear you were pleased with the African themed room and the service you received in the Zafari Bar and Grill. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as it was my daugthers 8th birthday and wanted to do something abit speical for her. Have been to chessington before but never stayed in the hotel but i would defernitly stay again. We got the 2 days for 1 deal and it was fantasic the hotel and staff where very nice food was very good too if alittle bit expensive, the room was great very clean and tidy we paid abit extra and overlooked the nature reserve which is amust our two girls (aged 3 and 8) loved it, it was nice 2 just lay on the bed and watch the animals roaming around. Breakfast which is included in the price was ok it was abuffet so u can just help yourself, they even had characters from madagasger come round and take pictures with you which my eldest loved. They also have apool, spa and games room to keep children happy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCallistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your great review about your stay in the Chessington Safari Hotel! We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed our amazing Wanyama Reserve views with the giraffe, ostrich and zebras roaming around freely. We're really pleased to hear that you found the added activities a bonus to your stay and kept the children occupied! We hope to see you again soon at the Chessington Resort, perhaps in our new Azteca Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my teenage son. Hotel is very spacious and clean,room very clean too. Large mirrors and plenty of lamps, bathroom very clean and a decent size. Bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Great air con in the room which was much needed!
The second hotel is currently under construction and I was woken up each morning at 7.25am by workmen outside - not impressed, however this shouldn't be for too much longer. Ate both evenings in the hotel bar and restaurant, very expensive and ok quality. View from my room was new building but you can pay a premium to overlook nature reserve.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Chessington Safari Hotel! Its brilliant to hear that you found the rooms very relaxing and comfortable. We are sorry to hear that you were woken up by building works, we are currently building a new hotel; Azteca and are disappointed to hear that this affected your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family are merlin pass holders and decided to take a very last minute breakaway, we were very lucky that chessington could fit us in. We stayed in a King Executive room which was situated at the rear of the hotel, this was fab because the view from our window was of the nature reserve. From our window we could see giraffes, zebras and others animals, our four year old son thought this was amazing (as did we) the hotel itself is very modern and has a lovely internal and external bar area. The restaurant was love,y too and we had amazing food. There is a pool and gym in the hotel too, although we didn't actually use this because we were too busy exploring. The evening children's entertainment was great fun and again our son had a great time. The staff were all brilliant and took time to chat to us about our plans. We did get to have special access to the reserve when the park had closed which was nice too and we also got. To go into the park and hour before the public got access which was good, although not many of the rides were open so we found ourselves walking around abit. We had such a good time that we got a room for the following night too,intact the resort do a bounce back offer which gives returning customers cheaper resort tickets the next day, but as we had merlin passes and were leaving very early the following morning we did not have to use this option but it may be helpful to other people. The staff were very good and as the rooms come with breakfast included they had arranged for us to have breakfast bags for us to take with us on the Monday morning,which we thought was very kind of them. All in all we had a lovely time and will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of the Chessington Safari Hotel. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our King Executive rooms, with great views on to the Wanyama Reserve! We are sorry to hear that you did not get the chance to enjoy our swimming facilities but happy that your children enjoyed our Rangers Club entertainment! We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#138 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#87 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Property: Chessington Safari Hotel
Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing