We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights July 13-16th in large family room (separate sleeping area for kids brilliant).
Great weather which helped. Hotel itself lovely and felt fairly relaxed and unbusy (although full). restaurant food for breakfast and dinner great - view of the animals a bonus and usually saw zebra, giraffe and others. Nice evening acces to reserve for strolls and giraffe feed is a must do - beautiful animals. Easy walk to theme park. Only had benefit of fast pass for one day though and due to our dates no early rider. However park was awesome and kids (19, 10 and 6) loved it. Once your child hits 120cm it opens up a lot more to do, although the ever popular vampire is 110cm. A brilliant stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank markjacqui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for providing such a fantastic five star review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon and hope you will be able to enjoy our Early Rider scheme!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Not had time to write a review but weren't impressed by the hotel service really. My mum took me and my daughter for the two days and one night at safari hotel. First glance looked ok but a bit manic. Got there early so went to the park and enquired about feeding experiences and was told could book through hotel when checked in. In meantime the heavens opened and was too wet to do anything for about two hours! Booked into hotel and was told couldn't book anything there it had to be in the park! By time got to park all had been fully booked so upset child in tow! When we came back could only book for one time to eat. Couldn't swim as pool had been closed til 6 which is when dinner was!!! Asked reception for headache pills and was told to visit toilet to use machine but that was empty!! No shop in hotel as advertised in room. Kids bed hard as rock! Food not good and overpriced with bad service! Only good thing was safari eve walk but not worth nearly 300!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisajay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your day was hindered by the weather. You will be pleased to know that we do offer our Rainy Day guarantee on all pre-booked tickets, where the rain continuously rains for over 1 hour. With regards to the pool closure, I am sorry to hear that this affected your stay. We will shortly be private messaging you and your family in order to gather more details and resolve any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

had a two night break with our two grandchildren 4th-6th August. Very well signposted and easy to get to by car. Reception arrival was dealt with very efficiently and quickly.{our grandchildren had no time to lose!!) Room was clean and spacious although perhaps a little tired.(no wonder with many young guests) Had a meet and greet in hotel reception on arrival and at breakfast the next day. So convenient for the adventure park, i never thought i would be enticed on so many rides albeit under pressure from my grandchildren. We were somewhat disappointed on the Wednesday when we making our way to the indoor pool to be told that it was closed for maintenance with no prior warning that it was going to be so. Other than that we found the hotel first class and will no doubt return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: safari room with separate childrens sleeping area was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for providing such great feedback on your recent visit to the resort! It’s great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and in particular your visit to the park! We hope to welcome you back again soon to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a 2 day break which works really well. Day 1 after using the park all day we went to the hotel to check-in which all worked really smoothly, no big queues., good service. The family room we had was large and lovely, fantastic views over the Wayamana reserve. The children loved the separate bed area for them. The hotel is very clean throughout and all of the staff are very helpful. Sitting outside the bar in the evening enjoying the views and watching the animals makes this hotel quite unusual and therefore well worth a trip. After the park is closed you can also go into the reserve area to visit the animals. We booked a table in advance for dinner (peak times 6-8pm gets booked up quickly). The menu is extensive with lots of options to ensure adults and children can find something they would like. The kids enjoyed having a kids cocktail menu and it and the food was reasonably priced. Service in the restaurant was amazing, good humoured, friendly, attentive staff. There is plenty to keep the children entertained, Madagascar characters giving a cuddle, small animals to pet, the children's club. By bed time they were worn out! On day 2 you can access the park early and get some rides in before the main gates open and your wrist band allows fast track access until 1030. Having a second day on the rides ensured that the children came away having experienced everything they wanted to. I can honestly say that both adults and children enjoyed this trip and I'd recommend it as a great short trip.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for providing such a great review of the Safari Hotel! It’s fantastic to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit and in particular the evening walks to our Wanyama Reserve and Madagascar Characters! We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked a family room with a view for three adults (1 teenager) and a child. On arriving we were taken to what must have been an Executive room with an extra bed squeezed in. The room itself was lovely but inadequate for a family, plus it had an adjoining door with the room next door so inadequate in terms of noise levels too. I called the desk and explained the situation and I was told another bed would be sent up!!! I expressed that another bed would only make the room even more cramped (as well creating various safety issues) and that we had paid a lot of money for a Family room for four! The gentleman didn't appear to care, infuriated I went to reception to complain where a man with a toddler and very young baby was complaining about an awful smell in his room. The young man on the desk appeared not to care and when the gentleman asked for another room he replied there were no other rooms and if he wasn't happy he could go somewhere else. As the gentleman pointed out to me it was getting late and he had a very young family! Thank God I spoke to a lovely young lady called Sam who apologised and immediately arranged a new room for us which was a family room and exactly like the room we thought we had ordered in the first place. So within an hour I had witnessed some of the worse and the best customer service I had ever seen. If it wasn't for the lovely Sam I would vow never to go there again! That said the food was lovely, the room was clean and tidy and the facilities were good. On entering the park we asked the young lady on the ticket desk for a park map she refused and told us to get one in the park, great customer service not!!! Hence I found myself wishing I was back in Florida where the staff cannot do enough for you and the customer service is second to none. Please Chessington management send your staff on a customer service course!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Chessington Safari Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated during your recent stay. Additionally, we pride ourselves on customer service at the resort and consequently, we will be in touch to gather some additional details of the member of staff you encountered. I am glad to hear however that Sam, one of our receptionists was able to improve your visit dramatically. We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the resort feel of this place and the staff make this happen. They were always happy and friendly and gave the feel of being on holiday.

Kids also used the indoor pool. Room is spacious enough and has separate kids area with bed that they loved. Only a few minutes walk to get into the park.

Standard help your self buffet breakfast staff obliged all requests that we had on both days. Thank you.

Kids also enjoyed evening entertainment. The restaurant doesn't quite meet expectations with good quality and price but was ok.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TelfordAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your great five star review; regarding you stay at the Safari Hotel. It’s brilliant to hear that you feel our staff helped in making your stay special. We are pleased your family enjoyed the leisure facilities we offer and the evening entertainment. It’s great to hear the room was appropriate for your needs during your stay. We hope to see you again soon at Chessington Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We booked an African themed room - what a mistake. I will post some photos on here in a minute of the 'four poster bed' and the treasure that my daughter received from the treasure hunt in the room (namely one pic and mix type sweet). If this had been the only things wrong I could have coped with the overpriced stay but the list just goes on and on.

When we returned to the room in the evening we found that neither tv worked and we had to get somebody to come up and check them. We were given two other remote controls which seemed to do the trick. This whole process took about 30 minutes so by the time we could watch tv I just wanted to sleep. We also had to order two hot chocolate drinks from room service for £12.50. There were meant to be sachets in the room (I later found out) but we had none! There were also no toiletries in the room despite this being advertised.

The hotel restaurant had a nice outlook over the reserve, however the plates and glasses had not seen a sponge and washing up liquid and we were unable to eat off of them. This was pointed out to the manager in the restaurant but he didn't seem at all concerned about our comments.

We were meant to have an hour extra in park from 9am as we were hotel guests but the rides which were meant to be opened earlier were shut. Why specify they are going to be open if they're not? There is a general lack of care about the outlook of the park. The pond is filthy and the other pond like thing that has a crocodile sign is just disgusting. Why is it there if there's nothing in it?

Overall, a real let down and so overpriced. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveyousomuch111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with your stay. Your comments will be passed on immediately to the relevant managers to investigate the sectors mentioned in your review, including the park; as our guests comfort during their stay is paramount to us and any feedback is always appreciated. Apologies our African themed rooms were not as you expected; however, our new Azteca hotel will have heavily themed rooms – which you might wish to explore in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
#9 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
3.9 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
64 reviews
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range: £66 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing