We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What good value for excellent food”
Review of Bear at Home

Bear at Home
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in Didcot
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What good value for excellent food”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were advised to book a table, but boy we were lucky. Managed to get one at 12:00. Food was out of this world. Outside looks shabby but inside was timber beams and all tables had a lit cadle on them. Boy what an atmosphere. If the log fire was lit, could have stayed there all afternoon. Will definately go there agin when in the area, but will book first.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    35
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holbeach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing amazing amazing!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My friends and I go away every year and look on trip advisor for a nice restaurant to go to while we are away. We were staying at steventon about 15 mins drive but only 7 miles. I had pre booked which was good as they had a note on the door when we arrived that they were fully booked. We found a hidden gem! This is a small quaint very old pub with bags of character. Every course we had was a taste sensation with every mouthful. I can still taste all the lovely flavours. Absolutely fantastic place to eat if your in the area make sure you pay this place a visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic meal, great service, and lovely atmosphere. I had the fish & chips which was amazing! Beautiful pub & could not fault a thing. Can't wait to go back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, service and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Title sums it up. Food was lovely, reasonably priced - certainly good value - and attentive but unobtrusive service.
Were told the portions were big and they were. So we decided to skip the starter in the hope of having room for a pud. Glad we did. Main courses were huge, beautifully cooked, including the veg, and the sticky toffee pudding just melted in the mouth. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Excellent Country Pub”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have eaten here on a number of occasions both at lunchtimes and evenings during the week and weekends and have always found the food, drink and service excellent.
The food is what I would describe as good wholesome home-made pub grub.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinBW750WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear at Home also viewed

 
Steventon, Didcot
 

Been to Bear at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing