We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a shame one persons opinion can destroy a reputation!!!”

The AppleCart Table Table
Ranked #7 of 59 Restaurants in Didcot
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: THe AppleCart is just under going a fantastic extension & refurbishment. We are close between 18th-25th of March.. Please come & visit us as a new business..The AppleCart is a central location just outside of Didcot with direct access to the A34. We are joined to the Oxford South Premier Inn.We have a fantastic menu that caters for everyone including children. Please call to make a reservation or book for a special occasion.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a shame one persons opinion can destroy a reputation!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was so sad to read the bad review today, having always used this venue to meet my Family and Friends! Anyone who has been to The Applecart as often as us would know that you have to be patient on a very busy Bank Holiday weekends, as you do in ANY eatery!!! Although the revue I have just read is very detrimental, I nevertheless have still recommended the Applecarte for overseas friends to use as their one night stopover en route to Gatwick. I shall contact THEM before they fly from Gatwick, and reserve any further opinions that may put other travellers off!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    83
    67
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and will not be going back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have eaten at the AppleCart before and had acceptable food .However,on this occasion the starter was unacceptable,cold mushrooms and hard bread.
Sunday roast,the beef served up was too tough even to feed to my dog.The staff were very apologetic,and we didn't pay only for drinks,but really the offering should be better than this,even allowing for it being bank holiday.
Others were complaining on neighbouring tables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one to avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have been for a meal here twice in the past 6 months and complained about our food both times. Today we waited 45 minutes for our meals and I think they had all been reheated. I had mushroom risotto which was incredibly dry and presented with dry squares of cheddar cheese on top. Others had roast dinners, all of which were equally dry as tho they had also been reheated. Service was slow and lacking personality. Sorry, I wouldn't normally take the time to write a bad review but 10 of us can't be wrong can we!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed in the Pemier Inn on the same site and cjhose to eat in the restaurant after a fairly long day.
The staff were extremely helpful in the bar and at table. Dania looked after us very efficiently and professionally.

The wine list was not available to inspect as it is in the process of being updated, but Jennie asked a few questions and brought us a couple of botles to choose from. Her recommendation was good.

Overall, we felt that the price we paid was very reasonable for the style and quality of the food.
We would eat there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The AppleCart Table Table also viewed

Steventon, Didcot
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The AppleCart Table Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing