We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quality addition” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildwood

Wildwood
Ranked #19 of 59 Restaurants in Didcot
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A quality addition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Although there's not a great deal of choice on the menu here, and the passer-by might be tempted in the direction of the variety at Prezzo opposite, you should try Wildwood Kitchen because of its quality. What they do, they do well; all the food is lovely and tasty.

The downside was that the service was really slow on the night we were there, especially paying the bill, which took far too long at over 15 minutes, but they've not been open long so we'll cut them some slack for now. It was friendly, though.

The atmosphere is excellent: the wood panelling and Italian produce gives it a classy feel which I imagine could be quite romantic in the evenings. The booths on the right are incredibly comfortable.

I hope this place gets enough trade to do well, as it deserves to. If you're off to the cinema, try this instead of Prezzo, just give them a nudge when you need to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thechintzfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    95
    44
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have to admit when I first heard another Italian restaurant was coming to Didcot, I was disappointed. However after eating there as a couple in the evening and also at lunch time with the children, I can't rate this restaurant highly enough. The menu isn't vast, but they have a great range of dishes to choose from. The service is prompt and friendly, the decor is lovely and has a great feel about the place. The children love the candy floss machine, this is a free treat for the children after their food, excellent touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenWr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“|Wildwood Didcot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had lunch here with 2 daughters - very pleased with both the service & food. Staff very attentive and food was great.. Would recommend this and we plan to return again when we have relatives stay with us in June. Loved the Garlic Bread & Olives as an appetiser. All in all well satisfied.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average menu choice, good food with excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

6 adults arrived at 8pm. The service was fantastic throughout the evening and the price was reasonable. Unfortunately one main was delayed, but the waitress simply said it was on the house. If you fancy an average menu choice with good service I would recommend Wildwood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Visited Wildwood on Sun 12th May. Menu Italian with pasta, pizza and grills with a small selection of 'Specials'. Our small party had a selection from the regular menu and specials. Generous portions of tasty, beautifully cooked and well presented food. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J40ASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildwood also viewed

Didcot, Oxfordshire
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 
Steventon, Didcot
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Wildwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing