We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but a bit quiet”

Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 60 Restaurants in Didcot
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Kingswell has a welcoming atmosphere & provides the highest standards of freshly cooked, locally supplied food, drink & effortless service. Located in the beautiful south Oxfordshire countryside only minutes away from Harwell Campus, Abingdon, Wantage, Milton Park & Didcot. We also have 20 fully equipped bedrooms & meeting facilities within our traditional building, parts of which used to be a 16th Century Farmhouse.General informationThe sixteenth century oak-beamed restaurant offers extensive menus, as well as a traditional Sunday Lunch.Luncheon is served between 12 pm and 2 pm Monday to Sunday. Dinner is available between 6.30 pm and 9.30 pm Monday to Saturday and between 7 pm and 9 pm on Sundays.All dishes are freshly prepared in our kitchen, with an emphasis on using local produce. To the best of our knowledge no GM ingredients.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place but a bit quiet”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food was good and the staff friendly and helpful. Prices were reasonable so i treated myself to a glass of port with the cheeses selection, a very pleasant finish to the meal. it was a shame that the place was so quiet as it's a good place for an evening meal. It was midweek and I was a bit late, so hopefully it is usually busier

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
many thanks for your comments, come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    21
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Good food and attentive service”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited the Kingswell without a reservation for dinner and this was not a problem. The 2 people in charge of the bar and the restaurant were very welcoming. We had one starter and two main courses all of which were very good. The total bill was £42 not including a tip but including drinks. We thought this very reasonable for what we had had. Would have no hesitation in calling here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheshirepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Many thanks for the review of your recent visit to the Kingswell. We all take pride in our work and it gives us a real boost to have it recognised. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wantage, Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Shocked and amazed”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We took some friends over here for their special wedding anniversary. We went over in the afternoon to drop off the presents and balloons and to order some Champagne to be on the table when we get there. The staff were very pleasant and amazing to chat to.

When we got over to the restaurant that evening I was shocked and amazed that they had done everything that I had asked them to do. Normally something gets missed but not here. Lovely warm welcome, lovely atmosphere and the food is exquisite.

I can't comment highly enough on the food here from the starters through to desert and coffee, And the only thing that I can say is Please go over and try it. You will not be disappointed.

Tip though the ceiling is quite low when you first go into the reception so if you are in high heels then just watch your head :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your celebration at the Kingswell. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mother's Day lunch”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This was my husband,s choice as we had an excellent meal here before.The starters were fine ,but the main course was very disappointing ,the plates were not hot,we didnt eat the roast potatoes which seemed to have been cooked earlier,cauliflower didn,t have a sauce just a covering of cheese.Yes you were busy but a freshly cooked Sunday lunch shouldn't,t be that difficult.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Sorry to hear you were a little disappointed with your Husbands choice for Lunch. Please be assured we note all comments from our Clients in the hope we learn and can improve on the expectations of their visits to the Kingswell. Trust you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and not overpriced”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We eat at the Kingswell quite regularly and thought it was about time we gave them a review. The food is consistently good. The menu is pretty varied and reasonable value and there are always specials which means that you can have quality different food each time you visit. The service is also invariably good and the wine good quality and reasonably priced. I have no hesitation in recommending the Kingswell and, if you don't want to pay a bit more and visit the best local restaurant (the Sweet Olive), the Kingswell should be your destination in the Didcot area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
So good to hear you enjoy visiting the Kingswell. We take pride in what we do here and its so gratifying when people take the trouble to recognise what we are aiming to provide. Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing