We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel London Watford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A last minute booking as needed to be in London the next day.

Rooms are fabulous and high quality - attention given to every detail. Funky, modern clean and substance.

A la carte menu and pub/kitchen places to eat in the hotel.

Free wifi in every room

Excellent breakfast options in the morning.

Free car parking,

The next day we drove couple of miles to Stanmore tube and left car in big inexpensive car park for £1.50 - took 20 mins to get to Bond Street.

Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne_zc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    427
    244
    74
    77
See reviews for
300
558
74
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stated here for one night. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly. However I do have to say the view from our room was basically another concrete building and the hotel village did appear to be located in the middle of an industrial estate. The public transport in this area seemed to be poor so really our only options in the evening was to use the hotel bar and restaurant.

The restaurant food was ok if a little over priced . The Gym and swimming pool were on the whole pretty good facilities and a reasonable size.

One thing I will say is that I left my tooth brush charger here, when I tried to contact customer service for help in getting it back they just ignored my emails so word of warning dont forget anything.!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly8468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The rooms are very comfortable and modern and the bathroom was great. A big walk in glass shower. All the staff we spoke to were extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. There is a Starbucks in the reception area too. The best thing of all? It's dog friendly, so we will be going back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScootersMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have just come back from this hotel after spending 3 nights with my family. We checked in with a lovely girl who made us feel welcome. The room was nice. Not very big if you consider we are a family of four. We booked a family room, we got a kingsize bed and two rolling beds for the kids. The bathroom was clean and fresh towels were provided every day. Leisure facilities are the best part of this hotel. Even if the pool can get very busy, given that it is open to members who pay to get into the club, the kids could go and swim every day in the morning from nine onwards and the afternoon till a certain time. We didn't use the pub as we chose to eat in the Italian restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised by the excellent customer service of the waitress- blonde girl. All in all good value for money and very good location if you are going to visit the Harry Potter studios in Watford.

Room Tip: Check kids swimming times before making plans
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August, didn't have time to use the gym facilities. Rooms were standard size bed and pillows very comfortable! I wanted to take the pillows home with me!!

Large walk in shower, however if you are having a shower, don't stay in there too long otherwise it gets steamed up and it doesn't seem like the extractor fan was working. As it is a walk in shower, you need to be careful that the plug hole is working properly as it didn't seem to be draining the water and the bathroom floor was getting wet. I had to keep turning off the water to wash my hair. They provide shower gel similar to the premier inn hotels so bring ur own toiletries unless u are paying extra to stay on the Upper deck.

Ordered room service, food was warm when it arrived and quite bland. I would make sure u find somewhere else to eat

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMdorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed her on the 19th August due to training hotel overall was lovely! Clean and some member of staff friendly on arrival at reception we told the receptionist what package on and to be replied to no your not, which wasn't friendly or helpful! Having to ring back to work to clarify what package we were on which was time wasting to then for reception to agree. Rooms are beautiful modern & clean everyday even the sheets! At the leisure reception a young girl was most unhelpful we arrived at the desk and she just looked at us no welcome or anything with us making the conversation and not knowing what we were doing otherwise leisure facilitates was lovely clean. The morning staff in the bucca de beppo only showed family what was available was letting people hover and not have a clue. Over all okay and if area again would stay

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank snophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Great location, great service, our room was a little tired but the amount of people using this hotel you can forgive this very easily, lighting was poor but has for everything else it made for an amazing stay after a long day in London. Food great and plenty of choice. Next trip to London this will be where I will be staying. Great stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mleeder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elstree
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.8 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,577 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
6.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
695 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel London Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel London Watford

Property: Village Hotel London Watford
Address: Centennial Avenue, Elstree WD6 3SB, England (Formerly Village Urban Resort London Elstree)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Elstree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel London Watford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel London Watford is located just off Junction 5 of the M1, 1 mile from Elstree and Borehamwood Train Station and just 30 minutes from Central London. It is ideal for quick access to the M1, M25, A1 and Watford Junction Train Station. Nearby attractions include Wembley Stadium, Harry Potter Theme Park and Legoland. Village Hotel London Watford has 120 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, Hair Salon, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel London Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village London Hotel Elstree
Village Hotel London Watford Elstree, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing