We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organisation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel London Watford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Organisation”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very disappointed with Elstree Village. Stayed last Thursday/Friday/Saturday nights. On way home we realised that a new shirt still in M&S bag had been left in wardrobe.
Sunday rang hotel told housekeeping were off duty.
Rang hotel early Monday/ told room was occupied so they couldn't look. I pointed out that surely the chamber maid would have ensured wardrobe cleaned . Change of response they would contact housekeeping no respofnse would ring back. They didnot I rang back that particular chambermaid was of duty. Another call yes the chambermaid had been contacted she knew where shirt was. She would let them know when she returned.
No further calls have been received.
Tuesday Hotel staff still behaving in uninterested way.
The responses give a very bad impression on the integrity of staff and on the organisation. Lost / forgotten items.....found by staff /put in designated place with room number and date. Those answering phone know where to look and can respond to customer. Arrangements can be made for collection and return.
In this particular case we are not expecting spring lean to find an earing. This is a fairly obvious left behind item.
Could I have a response from a senior manager. For family reasons my husband and and I stay at Elstree 4/5 times a year. I am still waiting shirt and response.

Room Tip: Don't bother with Upper Deck.........coffee dreadful. Only difference with other rooms some aver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    474
    257
    83
    82
See reviews for
331
615
86
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Staying here right now and after a week if staying the Mercure (don't bother) I have to say this hotel is perfect.
Lovely rooms, good size, only flaw is lack of view but I don't care so much about that.
Showers are amazing!
The food is very good and the bars are very nice, we had dinner in one bar and unfortunately our order got messed up but it was handlers very well and we got a suprisingly good discount for the error.
Staff are extremely helpful.
Would definitely stay here or at any other de vere again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Set in a business park / industrial estate, so no ‘view’, however this hotel is good, and represents very good value for money.

Lots of free parking, helpful friendly staff on reception, and at breakfast, a small but really nice room. Free WiFi (finally a hotel gets that this is important). A great gym, with a proper 25m pool.

One thing for the hotel to sort is a light near or in the wardrobe.. the bedrooms are quite dark, which in general is fine, apart from when you need something to wear! You’ll need a torch or your iPhone’s light until then.

You might think of The Village Hotels as pretty poor, maybe since DeVere have owned them, and maybe it’s just this hotel – but it was very good and easy to recommended. An enjoyable 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Top (4th) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsumerJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here I September 13 for a few days in London doing the tourist thing. The hotel is very typical and corporate but as is usually the case the staff sets it apart from a lot of other chains, they are very friendly and attentive and always treat us very well. We had an upper deck room which was great but I don't know if the price is worth it against a normal room. One negative was the 'Starbucks Package' this comprises Starbucks instant coffee instead of normal instant coffee! Plus some biscotti (yuck).

The bar here is good and serves nice trashy pub food, the Italian is very nice and look after you well and good prices.

I wasn't keen on the gym which needs updating I think but is run more of a separate health club and so there is plenty of gear but it's just a but dated.

We always try and stay at Devere/Village as they are great so good to see this one was the same

Also worth noting this is a great location for London as it's about 2 miles from the Jubilee line (stanmore) and also the District line (Edgeware).

Room Tip: As usual go for a high floor as the bar can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neclemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Upon arriving, we were surprised. modern the establishment was and had plenty of parking available. It was busy and full of gym goers (the gym is open to non-hotel goers) and business people. Room was adequate, though they should have made it easier to find the switch for the desk lamp. There were so many switched I woke my partner up fiddling with all the lightswitches in the m. As other reviews have mentioned, the pool is filled with children in swimming lessons so this hotel shouldn't be a place to come for a couples relaxation stay, I came away feeling very disappointed. Firstly my nights sleep was disturbed by a noisy couple arriving to their rooms nedt door at 3am in the morning, shouting outside our room door and subsequently having guests join them in their room. The walls are very thin and to top it off, continue laughing and shouting all morning tillit was time to get up. I paid for bnb but when I arrived at the restaurant in the morning they had noted my room as no breakfast inclusive so had to talk to someone at front desk before I could go to eat. I stayed on Friday 13 Sept for one night and wouldn't come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LingMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

me and my partner came to this hotel on the 12th of September for an overnight stay and bnb. much to our disappointment on arriving it was like walking into a social club, extremely noisy and very busy. (not what you expect when walking to a hotel reception) we could not use the leisure facilities as it was full of swimming lessons and had a very overcrowded pool. the room was filthy and the dust in there was disgusting. we only had one towel and 2 tea bags and 2 milks of which was covered in brown staining. the room had a foisty smell and remnants on the carpet which didn't look hoovered, even the menus had food on them. Village boast about how upper deck is the best it can offer but coming from Devere Mottram hall in Cheshire the same day which is in the same brand as village hotel i found it extremely disappointing and hygeine standards very low. Breakfast was awful to, there was food all over the seats hairs on the pastries and dirty cutlery. We weren't offered any tea or coffee and just wanted to get out of there. This was a suprise for my partner of which we both couldn't have been more disappointed with. We soon checked out and left promptly.

Room Tip: dont bother booking upper deck you probably would get a nicer standard room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here night before Harry Potter. Everything was good, pool facilities are always good at Village and this was no exception. We ate both evening meal and breakfast and both were tasty. Staff were friendly and always acknowledged yoh when passing. Bed was comfy and room spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogibear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elstree
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.8 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,697 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel London Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel London Watford

Property: Village Hotel London Watford
Address: Centennial Avenue, Elstree WD6 3SB, England (Formerly Village Urban Resort London Elstree)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Elstree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel London Watford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel London Watford is located just off Junction 5 of the M1, 1 mile from Elstree and Borehamwood Train Station and just 30 minutes from Central London. It is ideal for quick access to the M1, M25, A1 and Watford Junction Train Station. Nearby attractions include Wembley Stadium, Harry Potter Theme Park and Legoland. Village Hotel London Watford has 120 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, Hair Salon, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Village Hotel London Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village London Hotel Elstree
Village Hotel London Watford Elstree, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing