We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, but beware drinks prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely hotel, but beware drinks prices!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at this very attractive hotel. The location, the building itself and the décor are all beautiful. Being picky, compared to the rest, the bathrooms are a little less luxurious although we've never seen a computerised loo before! We booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal which was very good value for money. The food was excellent, although there was only us and one other guest dining at the time. The Maitre D and the staff were very attentive, probably because it was so quiet.
Given that it's so close to London we were expecting the drinks prices to be high, and we weren't disappointed. Our (albeit very nice) bottle of house white was £20, but the big one was a G&T - £9! With an extra £4 on the set menu price for a plate of cheese and biscuits, the total extras bill was £50. However, all in all we had a good time, a brief relaxing moment in the stress of life. We would recommend the place as a different place to stay when visiting London, if you don't want to be in the noise and the pollution of the city itself

Room Tip: We would imagine staying in the main house would be nice (although more expensive). We had a superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorGM, General Manager at Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review, Angie O, after your stay at The Manor, Elstree.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location, the building and the décor. We are currently looking at ways to improve the bathrooms in the newer part of the Hotel and, yes, the “computerised” loo’s are a talking point!

Our drinks prices are competitive for the area and we automatically serve doubles in the Terrace Bar, although singles are available on request. This should have been explained to you when you ordered and is also printed on the drinks price lists and if it was not made clear, I can only apologise.

The Main House is where our Feature, Deluxe and Suites are located and, although, slightly more expensive are well worth the money.

I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Manor, Elstree at some point in the future.

Kind regards,

Iain Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    289
    105
    30
    18
See reviews for
181
532
19
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Last summer a large group of us enjoyed Afternoon Tea in a lovely room at £16.95 a head. Afterwards we had a stroll round the gardens and all agreed that as a great venue we would return this year to do it again.

How disappointing to find the current charge is outrageous.

The actual Tea has increased to £19.95, which we would pay BUT there is now an extra payment of £150.00 for the group to hire a dining room. This is unacceptable and we won’t be sipping tea here and have booked elsewhere. Shame.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Silvertappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorGM, General Manager at Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review, Silvertappers, regarding the Afternoon Tea booking you tried to make.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us last year, however, things have changed with regards to the pricing and the offering we provide for Afternoon Tea. The price has increased to £19.95 per person for Full Afternoon Tea but we have upgraded the product and are using Laura Ashley crockery to complete the experience we offer at the Hotel.

Without knowing when you tried to book, the size of your party or the date you were looking for I cannot comment on your experience whilst trying to make a reservation. The largest party we are able to accommodate in the Cavendish Restaurant is 12 people and I can only presume your party was larger than this. We would automatically offer a Private Dining Room and there would be a small room hire charge for this. Our restaurant is not big so we would not want to take a large party that would make it difficult to take any other bookings. I am sorry that you find this unacceptable but we are becoming busier by the day and therefore we have had to adapt to meet the needs of the business.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Iain Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were lucky enough to spend a Saturday evening at this beautiful hotel. I had been on the website but the photos do not do the property justice, approaching via a lovely winding drive, the manor house looks lovely.

We were greeted by Marc on reception, very professional and friendly. He made us aware that there was a wedding in the hotel - we hardly saw them!

Our room was on the 2nd floor, clean, stunning views and very comfortable. We had a lot of fun playing with the space age loos... (anyone who has stayed here will understand!)

In the morning, we were greeted by very upbeat and friendly restaurant staff, Joanna in particular was great. Breakfast was fantastic, fresh fruit, amazing granola bar and lovely hot choices.

Cannot recommend this hotel more highly. My husband and I are fortunate enough to have stayed in many hotels and we both agreed that this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Kensington was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel-Lover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorGM, General Manager at Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review, Hotel-Lover21, after your recent stay at The Manor, Elstree.

We are looking to upgrade our photography and will subsequently change the photo’s on our website which will hopefully do the Hotel more justice. I am pleased that the team you met were helpful, and friendly, and that you weren’t inconvenienced by the wedding that was being held at the Hotel. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room, the view and the breakfast offered the following morning.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that I get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Manor, Elstree in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Iain Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful old manor located in a superb, lush green garden. If you're lucky enough with the weather you might get to enjoy the terrace with outside seating.
The rooms are small but confortable. The barthrooms not the best due to the mechanic vent which is extremely loud and can only be turned off if you switch off the light... forget the quiet bath.
Good food at the restaurant, good atmosphere.
Would come again if in the area.
Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorGM, General Manager at Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review, Courla, after your recent visit to The Manor, Elsree.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay apart from the vent in the bathroom, however, all our bathroom extraction is connected to the light switches so that they do turn off. We are looking at upgrading our toiletries and a bath menu with candles is something we may be introducing which will offer the “quiet bath” you were looking for in relaxing surroundings.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we will see you again at The Manor, Elstree in the future.

Kind regards,

Iain Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel was nice and the staff was friendly, but our room felt like it was in the basement/ bottom of a ship and there were no elevators. Once we got to our room, it was difficult going up four flight of stairs and through several doors to get to the lobby, especially with our luggage. We only stayed one night. The hotel is in a secluded area and you will need a car or plan to take taxis.

Lots of road construction in June, and approx. 60-90 mins from London by train. Paid 164 pounds for the night which included breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the side with no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 395Fab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorGM, General Manager at Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review, 395Fab, after your stay with us at The Manor, Elstree.

I am sorry that you felt the location of your room was “in the basement”, however, the Hotel is built on a hill and the newer wing of bedrooms is located on a slope. We, unfortunately, do not have elevators in the property but we would have been more than happy to assist you with your luggage although, admittedly, this should have been offered on arrival.

The Hotel is fairly secluded but is still within easy reach of the M1, M25, M11 and Central London. Trains from Elstree/Borehamwood take 24 minutes to St Pancras and the Northern and Jubilee lines are close by to catch Underground connections.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we might see you again in the future on a return trip from the US.

Kind regards,

Iain Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I had been staying at the manner a few times a week for about 3 months this year. It's predominantly used by business travellers during the week, and at weekends it's mainly used as a wedding/function venue.
The grounds and main building look stunning and are very well maintained. The view out to London from the main terrace just outside the bar is lovely.
The rooms are fitted to a high standard as you'd expect with Laura Ashley furnishings, the beds are very comfortable and there are nice touches you would expect from a hotel in this price bracket such as toiletries, biscuits, hot chocolates and even flapjacks. The views from the rooms facing the green are also very nice.
The food is good, I ate in the bar area mainly. The manor house burger my personal favourite! They would benefit from offering a little more choice of mains and deserts, they did recently add some options of sandwiches to the menu, so they are moving in the right direction.
Breakfast is great, choice of hot and cold, everything you could ever want, all done to a high standard. Only a small gripe but it isn't served until 7am- may be a little late for some business travellers looking for an early start. They do some cold selections before 7am though.
Wifi is free but a little erratic in rooms facing the green- I found the main house and rooms facing the back had a much better signal- again may be a consideration for business travellers.
The staff are all very friendly and eager to please. Special mention to Joanna on reception, very professional, always gave great service and couldn't do enough to help- always with a smile!
Overall, this is a very comfortable hotel, set in lovely grounds, with friendly staff and good quality of food. Ideally located for Edgware and the M1. They do competitive rates online if booked on advance- give it a try!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul1780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorGM, General Manager at Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review, Paul1780.

I am pleased to read that you have found the Hotel to be of a high standard and thank you for your comments on the food offered in the Terrace Bar. We are trying, as you have noted, to improve the offering and this is a “work in progress” which will continue to evolve as time goes by. I have also noted your comments about the hot breakfast option and will discuss this with my Head Chef to see if we can start offering this slightly earlier during the week.

Thank you for your comments about Joanna on Reception – I will pass these on to her the next I see her, if she hasn’t already read your review!

Thank you again for your positive feedback and I hope that you will be returning soon to The Manor, Elstree to enjoy the London view and the comfy beds!

Kind regards,

Iain Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a stay at this hotel booked for me as a surprise birthday trip and it was wonderful. Arrived to friendly and helpful reception staff, and a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting! Room was spacious and clean, along with the bathroom, could not of expected more! Some reviews have commented on issues when there is a wedding at the hotel, however I did not find this to be a problem. However, this could of been due to the fact that our room was not on the garden side of the hotel and therefore was not noisy. Only fault I can find is that some of the breakfast staff were quite abrupt and it seems to me like they may need more training in how to interact and deal with customers. Over all a brilliant stay and a place that I would definitely come back to and recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorGM, General Manager at Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you, Chloe S, for you feedback after your stay with us at The Manor, Elstree.

I was pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the bedroom and the grounds met your expectations. I am sorry that the breakfast team seemed “abrupt” and can assure you that this being addressed through retraining.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Manor, Elstree in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Iain Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elstree
6.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
6.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree

Property: Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Address: Barnet Lane, Elstree WD6 3RE, England (Formerly The Edgwarebury Hotel Elstree)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Elstree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree, Hertfordshire. The hotel is set in 10 acres of gardens and natural woodland. With views overlooking the Hertfordshire countryside and central London, the hotel is ideally situated with convenient rail and road links to London - only 20 minutes by rail from London and 9 miles by road, an ideal starting point to discover the surrounding area or a peaceful retreat to get away from it all. There are 49 designer bedrooms, an award winning fine dining restaurant, wedding facilities, a bar, meetings, events and banqueting facilities as well as beautiful garden areas. The hotel was bought by Laura Ashley PLC in 2012, making this the first of the company's boutique hotels. The hotel has a variety of rooms and suites available in either the main tudor house or the contemporary wing. Each room has been exclusively and individually designed by the Laura Ashley design service team, providing a truly unique style. Our Junior & premium suites (the Knightsbridge, Grosvenor and Mayfair) also have a separate lounge area. Today, the gardens have been brought back to life, capturing the feel of a true English garden. Leading from the lawn to the pond is the rose arbour, with its dramatic climbing roses. Above all, there is enough space for an enjoyable walk around the garden. Original period features have been restored to their former glory, creating a charming and charismatic venue for business or pleasure. The hotel also houses a multitude of modern conveniences ensuring a pleasurable and carefree stay is guaranteed.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgwarebury Hotel And Restaurant
Elstree Corus Hotel
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing