We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falls down on basics”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Chace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Chace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Birmingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Falls down on basics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Why would you put a four poster bed in a room that would struggle to accommodate a single, and why are the rooms so tiny anyway? Why are there no ironing boards/irons in the rooms & why, when I asked for an iron and board, did I have to sign a form to absolve the hotel of any responsibility should I harm myself with it? What's the point of having a jacuzzi function in a bath so small you can't sit comfortably in it (I'm 6', which isn't exactly tall)?

Grandiose ideas are best in grandiose places: this hotel is a bog-standard place as far as accommodation goes and it would be best to avoid trying to pretend otherwise. The rooms are very small so please furnish (and describe) them accordingly.

It is clean, the staff is friendly, there is parking, there is free Internet, there's a gym and a pool (outside). I can't comment on the food as I haven't eaten here, although I hope they provide something other than the boringly ubiquitous "full English" for breakfast. Would I stay here for business? Maybe. Would I stay for leisure? No.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms. Don't pay extra for a 4 poster; it's just a wast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gribblewok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Royal Chace Hotel in late December.


Perhaps one of our premier four poster rooms would have suited you more as it has a whirlpool Bath in the room , a separate walk in shower room and a conservatory to relax in.


With regards to your questions what I can say is we wouldn't put certain systems or procedures in place if there wasn't a need to and in addition to health options we do provide a full English breakfast.


Thank you once again.


Kind regards

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    186
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
130
145
31
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We can remember a time before this hotel was built. My sister-in-law had her wedding reception there in 1985. We had moved away from Enfield by then, so we stayed there then with our two young children who were bridesmaid and page boy. It was quite a posh hotel in those days.
I think the years have not been kind to the Royal Chace. We had to queue for over 15 minutes to check in. The room was fine but the pillows were hard. In the morning, the cooked breakfast had been hanging around for a while under the lights and some of it was only luke warm .The waitress started to pour the tea as soon as she brought it to the table. Everyone knows that hotel tea is never strong enough and needs to brew for a while!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherStowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding. It was a superb wedding venue and the wedding breakfast was excellent. Our room was quite compact, but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast and service throughout our stay was excellent.

All in all a lovely hotel representing good value for money. Shame the pool is open air which limits its use.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Royal Chace Hotel on Trip Adviser.

I was please to read you enjoyed staying at the Hotel while attending a friends wedding and that you found the service and in particular the breakfast excellent.

Thank you once for your review

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say. We had our works christmas party at the royal chace.
The hotel is very welcoming. Food was perfect, staff were amazing, & to top it all off, the night ended with a great disco with top music.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank barryhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for such a positive review of our Christmas party Nights, I have passed on your kind comments to Carlo and Andrew the Banqueting team who manage the Party nights and also Duncan, Executive Chef and his talented brigade.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review the Royal Chace Hotel on Trip adviser.

PS. For those still looking spaces are still available for midweek Party Nights this year, phone Sue.

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here following a wedding reception in the Kings Suite. Room was a little small and warm (radiator was on full blast), but that Didn't really matter. Bed was very comfortable & room very clean.

Wedding reception was very good. The food was quite possibly the best food I have ever had at a wedding. Huge compliments to the catering staff - it was fantastic.

Breakfast in the morning was also a delight. Lots of choice and plenty of it. Great stay all round so thank you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MRL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Good morning

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at the Royal Chace Hotel while you were attending a wedding reception in the Queens Suite.

Your comment about being the best food you have had at a wedding is high praise indeed, thank you.

Kind regards

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Competitively priced room via third party website and friendly helpful reception staff. Room a bit cramped. Restaurant area being refurbished which may partly explain extremely slow service on first night but not their inflexibility in not initially substituting another red wine to be available by the glass when one of the usual three was unavailable. We 'fine dined' with friends the second evening when things went much better, though no one seemed to notice that we'd been there the night before.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingham156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip adviser.

The first floor Chace Brasserie has been refurbished and does offer a casual, more relaxed dining experience.

When the Chace Brasserie was first re-opened we found customers were ordering just a main course, as everything is cooked fresh to order we did find there was a gap of up to 25 minutes if for example if a well done Fillet Steak was ordered.

We have added a few smaller light items to the menu for guests not wanting starters so they have something to eat while waiting for the main dishes but without ruining appetites.

I am sorry that you were not recognized from the night before, two different teams interdependently run both Restaurants therefore I can see how you were not noticed and am sorry if this offended you.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards


Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had an early appointment at the hospital in Enfield, and were worried about arriving in time, so we decided to find a hotel and spend the night before. After a horrendous 3 hour journey, having tio negotiate the M25 on a Friday afternoon, we arrived at The Royal Chace to be warmly welcomed by the charming and helpful Staff. We had tea in the bar before settling into our cosy room and having a rest before a very nice dinner. Our room was warm, clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant staff were also friendly and helpful. The service was excellent. In the morning we had a 5 minute journey to the hospital. We felt as if we had had a break away rather than a dreary hospital appointment, thanks to The Royal Chace.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff, they know the rooms, and are only too happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueB472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review on Trip Adviser.

Your kind words will be passed onto the team and thank you for taking the time to write them.

Kind regards,


Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
1.9 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
2.8 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holtwhites Hotel
Holtwhites Hotel
#4 of 5 in Enfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oak Lodge Hotel
Oak Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Enfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Chace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Chace Hotel

Property: Royal Chace Hotel
Address: 162 The Ridgeway, Enfield EN2 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Chace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE High Speed Internet, FREE On Site Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Chace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Chace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing