We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Royal Chace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Chace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wedding took place on 31st May in this lovely hotel. The service received from Joshua the wedding planner and the rest of the team at the hotel was excellent and I would recommend them to anyone thinking of getting married in Enfield. My husband and I had an amazing day and our friends and family who stayed overnight at the hotel were all very happy too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    193
    88
    39
    19
See reviews for
140
159
33
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here recently over a weekend, and have to say how disappointed we both were. Our room was dated and old, the bed not that comfy. The hotel obviously had a function on (a wedding I think) which meant lots of noise and drunken people until the early hours of the morning, which meant a good nights sleep was not had. Breakfast was ok, up until my wife asked for a latte coffee, and were told that we would have to pay £2.25, which we did. Have never ever been charged for a latte anywhere we've stayed in the world, and I think we are quite well travelled.
Overall our stay was not that good, we will NOT be returning, and would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking function room or courtyard can be noisy at weekends if there is a function on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Room was very clean and roomy.

Asked for a room with a view and got it. Was looked after all the way through our 2 night stay. Only problem was the kitchen. They got confused with sides and mains and thought the side was a main. Then the sticky toffee pudding with popping ice cream wasn't popping. Shame I was looking forward to that.

Apart from that the staff are fantastic and even addressed the above being professional all the way through.

Thanks everyone

Room Tip: Stayed in room 241
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassius2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Chace Hotel on Trip adviser.

I have passed on your comments to Duncan the Executive Head Chef and I am sure he will resolve the front of house mix up and the lack of popping candy.

I was pleased to read however that the matter was dealt with swiftly and in a professional manor.

Thank you once again.

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
915 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is an hidden gem, in the Countryside near to London, it is in easy reach of Enfield Town which has an excellent shopping mall, it is in easy reach of London via the main line train services or the underground from Cockfosters on the Piccadilly Line, the hotel as an excellent restaurant, gym and swimming pool, if you are in London, give it a try

Room Tip: Chose a room on the ground floor as no lift available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Terry C

Thank you for taking to time to review the Royal Chace Hotel on Trip adviser.

Kind regards


Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a function in London, our guests chose this hotel so we decided to stay here too. Huge mistake, we had a total of 7 rooms booked. Disasters started from the minute we booked right through to the day of our stay and into the next day. Having worked in both the hotel industry and customer service for over 15 years I have genuinely no idea how The Royal Chace is still operational. Incorrect rooms booked, bad attitude from reservation and reception staff, sweat box bedrooms that no one could breathe in. A total lack of consideration for any of my guests during check in some of which had travelled either 200 miles by car or from another country entirely. The entire hotel is not disabled friendly so if you have any type of disability forget staying here. When it came down to checking out I had a list of complaints as long as my arm from myself and every single one of my guests, what was I met with? 3 highly disinterested and disingenuous members of staff. Anything done? Fortunately I didn't hold my breath or I wouldn't be here to leave this review. If you want your special day ruined then this is definitely the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelLady79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your short stay at the Royal Chace Hotel on Trip adviser, I have taken the time to investigate and have the following comments to make.


I understand you checked into the Royal Chace nearer midnight following an external event in London.


Although you were sent a written confirmation informing you check in time was from 2pm it seems in your absence the rest of your party were not informed of this and arrived expecting an early check in or for us to provide changing rooms none of which were available or pre-arranged.


The three rooms you reserved were exactly as your confirmation letter.


I understand you initially wanted to book from our non-refundable advance purchase tariff but to enjoy this rate payment is taken upfront and you were not prepared to do this, therefore you booked the day’s best available rate still expecting to receive the same level of discount and were unhappy when you were told this was not possible.
We do have disabled facilities to meet various levels of disability with two fully equipped bedrooms.


For the avid readers of Trip adviser reviews we advertise check in time is from 2pm and would always recommend you stay the night before if you have to be somewhere near this time and are planning to freshen up after traveling or indeed get changed at the Hotel prior to an event.

Kind regards

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had an opportunity to stay at the Royal Chace Hotel for a Saturday night and enjoyed the experience. The room was a little on the small side but otherwise well equipped and clean. the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom well stocked.
There was a wedding taking place at the same time and the hotel staff managed to keep the event separate from the staying guests, there was little noise to trouble us during dinner and as the evening drew on.
The hotel itself is well decorated, clean and in great condition for an English" country hotel. I was a regular in this hotel many years back when it was very tired and shabby and I was pleasantly surprised to see how it has been transformed into its current condition.
The staff are all extremely helpful and efficient.
We used the restaurant in the evening and enjoyed the quality of the food and service. The wine list is very good with a range of prices to suit most pockets.
We used the room service facility for breakfast which was on time and again, the food was excellent.

Room Tip: As always, prices determines the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryR847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed as a wedding we were attending was at this hotel. We arrived very early and was given a room immediately. The hotel was very clean the staff lovely and helpful, breakfast was delicious. We paid £105 for two people which included the breakfast on a Saturday night. Very good value - Relaxed, attentive, clean and good value

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IssyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffBreese, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Chace Hotel.

Kind regards


Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
1.9 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge London Enfield Hotel
2.8 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holtwhites Hotel
Holtwhites Hotel
#4 of 5 in Enfield
111 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
670 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Chace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Chace Hotel

Property: Royal Chace Hotel
Address: 162 The Ridgeway, Enfield EN2 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Chace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE High Speed Internet, FREE On Site Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Chace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Chace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing