We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lee Valley Campsite, Sewardstone
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel(Enfield)(Great Value!)
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn London Southgate Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge London Edmonton(London)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Cheshunt(Cheshunt)(Great Value!)
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
West Lodge Park Hotel(Barnet)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
55
25
11
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
25
11
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely siteshop on sitesofa bedwalthamstow centralbus serviceeasy accesstouring caravancamping podsclean facilitiesstayed here for a weekchildren's play areaminutes depending on traffichalf term breakbus stop rightgreat place to stayvisit londonvisiting family
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The campsite itself has great facilities, clean toilets, showers, kitchen facilities for tent campers, and cocoons were exactly as described. There were a lot of us camping and we were kindly put together and there was plenty of space for all our tents/cars. The actual camping experience was pleasant and not too far from any other lee Valley Centre's (we were white water rafting that day.)

Unfortunately the campsite owners/organisers cannot have the same pleasant review. Upon arrival we were sat in our car for 15 minutes before they even noticed we were there (we had to go in and ask to come in.) The lady at reception gave us a rude reception from the moment we walked in. Our booking was incorrect and there was no responsibility taken for this. It was eventually sorted, by this I mean we had to go and purchase more tents because they hadnt booked enough cocoons for us, ultimately costing us more money. Then the husband of said lady 'didnt have enough time' to show us where to go. After much persuading from his wife he 'found the time' to take us to our plots. Later on in the evening, we were told to turn our music off, which we were very happy to do - had it been said in a polite manner. All other campers around us were up and about and having their own parties at this point. An hour later in an aggressive manner we were told to stop talking (11pm) or we would be kicked off the campsite - Again all other campers were awake. We felt uneasy and actually quite victimized. Other campers complained to us that they were told off for kicking a football around.....?!?! Its a field!?

Finally, on checking out of the campsite, we handed back our car access cards and got our £10 deposits back for our cocoon keys. My friend rang me 2 hours after leaving to explain that her £10 note was rejected at the motorway services for being fake!!!!!!!!!!! Coincidence i would like to think... ahem.

But overall, after this essay (sorry!) I would STILL recommend this campsite and all other Lee Valley services, the rafting instructors were awesome and so accommodating! Just try to avoid the Sewardstone campsite couple as much as possible... We tried to follow the rules as much as we could, and we certainly didn't have any complaints from fellow campers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley Campsite, Sewardstone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review, it's disappointing that you have not had the type of experience that you were hoping for whilst staying at the campsite, we have recently adopted a new online booking system and unfortunately when customers book online and select their own plots as you did it is sometimes difficult to change these once you arrive to place everyone together, we will be reviewing our system and on line message to encourage large groups to contact the site directly to arrange their booking and requirements. This will hopefully ensure that the correct number of berths have been booked. We do have site rules which we respectfully ask campsite users to follow to ensure the safety of site users, both guests and staff, and to provide all visitors a peaceful and relaxing stay.

It is pleasing to note that you were happy with the sites facilities and the other activities that Lee Valley has to offer in the local area such as Lee Valley White Water Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We're also given a fake tenner when returning the key which we found out at the services on the m25.

Extremely disappointed at how unaccommodating they were and would NEVER recommend this site. They placed our group at different ends of the camp site and were extremely unhelpful on every question.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley Campsite, Sewardstone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review, it's disappointing that you have not had the type of experience that you were hoping for whilst staying at the campsite, we have recently adopted a new online booking system and unfortunately when customers book online and select their own plots as you did it is sometimes difficult to change these once you arrive to place everyone together, we will be reviewing our system and on line message to encourage large groups to contact the site directly to arrange their booking and requirements. This will hopefully ensure that the correct number of berths have been booked. We do have site rules which we respectfully ask campsite users to follow to ensure the safety of site users, both guests and staff, and to provide all visitors a peaceful and relaxing stay.

It is pleasing to note that you were happy with the sites facilities and the other activities that Lee Valley has to offer in the local area such as Lee Valley White Water Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Have just returned after a weekend away with a group of friends and was impressed with the site.We stayed in tents and were happy with the pitch size as we have a large tent.The showers and toilets were very clean although the shower water pressure could be better.The site is well kept and the staff helpful and friendly.We live only a couple of miles away and wanted somewhere to met with friends and relax, this was ideal.There are woodland walks from the back of the site which take you along the reservoir.The site is ideal if you want to travel into London and as a local i can vouch that the bus to the tube does take only 30 mins if you want to be there more quickly get the overground into Liverpool Street from Chingford Station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

stayed in a family cabin, had a set of bunk beds and a sofa bed. fancied a change from camping and would not hesitate to stay again. showers always had hot water. We stayed the week of the 19th August. the toilet block struggled to cope at times, but having 95 french students staying at the same time as us who were washing their dinner plates in the sinks, we would have been fools not to expect some problems. but not the sites fault,. We found the Mcdonalds to be friendly and helpful at all times and the toilets were cleaned regularly. Having camped a lot we found this a very good site.

Room Tip: can recommend cabins,
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Campsite, Sewardstone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you were so understanding at such a busy time. Our staff strive to provide a high customer care and our wardens Mr & Mrs McDonald are pleased they were able to provide this for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lets start with the positives - location is great, site is well laid out and staff are friendly and helpful.
Now the negatives - we stayed on site over a very busy bank holiday weekend but found some of the facilities poor. Primarily the shower/toilet facilities are not able to cope with the number of people on site. I will spare you the gory details but some of it was not pretty. I suspect that some of the clients may have made things worse but the facilities are really not up to standards that I feel are acceptable. Then there are little things like the refuse/recycling points have small dust bins and boxes that are completely inadequate. Even the tap on the chemical disposal point did not work.
Someone needs to take a close look at what is on offer and decide what should be done to turn the site around. This is especially true when there are so many overseas visitors on site who will make conclusions about our standards based on experiences on site. Shame to be so negative but this is how I feel.

Room Tip: Last 3 ratings are not relevant
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themasterleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Campsite, Sewardstone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our campsite. We apologise for some of our facilities not being up to the standard that we strive for. All the issues have been addressed and your comments taken on board, we will review our processes to ensure that these kind of issues do not happen again. We're glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the location, layout & customer service and we hope that you might stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews