We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capel magic”

Capel Manor Gardens
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Capel magic”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is really a hidden gem. The whole place in August was full to the brim of beautiful flowers, trees, walks, individual gardens and the abby garden and ruins. It hard to pick out what we liked best, you start by the individual gardens and this gives you so many ideas for home, as they are set out just like a real garden and home. Then you wander through themed gardens, tree lined walks, a small lake and much to interest you and feast your eyes on. Probably the most interesting part for us is the WHICH garden, its extensive and trials all sorts of plants, fruits, vegetables,fertaliser and has all sorts of tips and suggestions. I was busy with my note book, taking down names of plants I would like to try and grow. There is a cafe, small garden centre and shop, what is especially good, that if you have the Gardeners World 2 for one ticket, you can use it at Capel Manor. Well worth a visit, again and again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    54
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, UK
Level Contributor
283 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“How has slipped under my radar”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have visited gardens all over the country and somehow this one has passed me by. My daughter has moved nearer to it now and picked up a leaflet. So, on a visited to her took the opportunity to visit the garden.
What a surprise, Loved all the display gardens showcasing designers or suppliers. A couple were a little tired but there were so many others to look at this didn't matter too much
The walled garden is lovely and it was very interesting to look at the Which trial planting - a huge area showcasing everything from hanging baskets to verbascums.
The café was cheap and cheerful too.
New animal area under development
Cant wait to return

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Capel Manor”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Although I haven't visited Capel Manor for a few years I believe they are still keeping up the good work in the gardens that they have been developing over some years. It is always a pleasure to have such gardens near to where I live where a relaxing afternoon can be whiled away with always something new to see at all times of the year. The different themed gardens particularly stick out in my mind. It is particularly good to have a visitor attraction and a horticultural college in this area where students can be taught and gain qualifications for their future careers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janis40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Canfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We went along not knowing what to expect and were delighted by the range of gardens and plants.
The walled garden was beautiful and well tended with a vast array of delphiniums,roses and salvias. The grounds are vast and you could easily spend the day wandering! The cafe had a reasonable range of hot and cold food and prices were fairly cheap.....95p for a cup of tea!
We paid £5.50 entry for both of us on the Gardener's World 2 for 1 offer....a bargain day out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joanandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent for the Enthusiast but Annoying M25 Noise.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Occasionally visit Capel Manor with my wife as we live in Enfield, which is convenient.
An excellent place with history back to the 12thC. The existing Manor House, however, is Georgian. There is a Stable Block. Most visitors I suspect are drawn to the Manor's Horticultural aspect; as a whole range of interests from the domestic gardener through to specialist areas of horticulture and botany are catered for. Capel Manor is not only a collection of gardens and plots: it is also a recognized World Class College for the Science, offering courses and instruction to a wide range of abilities; catering in particular for students with special needs.
There are small garden plots with a particular focus, such as the Australian Garden, the Family Friendly Garden, the Queen Mother's Garden, an Italian Garden... to name but a few. Somewhere in the grounds is a famous and very old tree; can't remember any more details with regard to it. Some National Collections are available (possibly) to see or study.
Many events are held here; some not related to the world of gardening; such as Vintage Motor
Vehicle shows and Fun Days for children; particularly around Christmas Time.
I believe Capel Manor has a Licence for holding Civil marriage Ceremonies, being a first rate place for the Photo Shoot!
The shop always seems to have a comprehensive range of items for sale in addition to planting. There is also a good café/restaurant.
For me, unfortunately, the aura of the place now, and has been for some time, ruined by the incessant noise from the M25 and A10. It is however, a background noise and is something that many visitors may well be able to ignore ...but I am particularly sensitive to it.
Easy to reach with a car (Junction 25 on the M25) but travelling by Public Transport is, I suspect, more difficult. I know that bus routes 217 and 317 pass close by, but I would recommend that intending visitors do a bit of research before travelling. Closest National Rail station is Turkey Street which is on the Liverpool Street to Cheshunt line. Other National Rail stations that are not too distant but may be convenient for a bus link are Waltham Cross, Cheshunt, Southbury Road, Enfield Town and Enfield Chase. The closest Underground/Tube Station is Oakwood. It is some distance away but you can connect easily with a 121 or 307 bus, and change later to a 217 or 317.
Admission prices are very reasonable...something like £5 or £6 and less for concessions and children etc. Capel is open Monday to Friday all year and weekends also for the summer season March to October.
Regards
Marshesboy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capel Manor Gardens also viewed

Enfield, Greater London
 
Enfield, Greater London
Enfield, Greater London
 

Been to Capel Manor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing