We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”

Myddelton House Gardens
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An enchanting place to visit at any time of year. Delve into the beautiful eight acres of Myddelton House Gardens and discover the compelling story of Edward Augustus Bowles, one of Britain’s most famous self-taught gardeners, artists and expert botanists.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Enjoyed a couple of hours wandering around the gardens on a sunny afternoon. Had tea in the cafe, and browsed in the lovely, informative little museum. Will return as the seasons change. The fact that it's free is also a bonus!

1  Thank Delius17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small museum"
in 12 reviews
"cakes"
in 16 reviews
"free entry"
in 12 reviews
"car park"
in 15 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 10 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 10 reviews
"lovely garden"
in 5 reviews
"buy plants"
in 5 reviews
"pleasant place"
in 3 reviews
"market cross"
in 3 reviews
"kitchen garden"
in 3 reviews
"courtyard cafe"
in 3 reviews
"feed the fish"
in 3 reviews
"interesting history"
in 6 reviews
"large pond"
in 4 reviews
"unusual plants"
in 4 reviews
"tea shop"
in 6 reviews
Filter

142 - 146 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

V relaxing gardens, with good info boards - like stepping back in time, although a bit smaller than we expected.

1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review, we're pleased that you found the garden relaxing and informative. You may like to consider attending our upcoming evening events which include Music at Myddelton and an outdoor theatre. Visit our website for more information or feel free to give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I took my mum there as she is not that mobile and found it very easy to get around and see all the different plants and shrubs. There's a nice pond which some large koi and other fish which you can feed.

1  Thank yvonnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we're pleased your mother found the garden accessible. We have three wheelchairs that are available for use and are located in the courtyard should you wish to use one for your next visit. Please do visit again soon to see how the garden is developing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I spent a few hours at myddleton house today as the weather was glorious. It was so relaxing and tranquil. I had a wander around in the beautiful gardens and found a secluded spot which i fell in love with by the lake overlooking the house. I had a lovely pastry and capuccino. Loved it. Would highly recommend.

4  Thank Pennya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you’ll visit again soon. As you liked the pond area maybe you would consider attending our outdoor theatre which has a the pond as it back drop this year production is The School for Husbands by DOT Productions on Saturday, 02 August 2014 - please take a look at the What's On pages on our website for more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Was pleasantly surprised by this beautiful garden and it is free! Interesting plants and pleasant surroundings!!

1  Thank BoyerKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myddelton House Gardens also viewed

Enfield, Greater London
Enfield, Greater London
 

Been to Myddelton House Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing