We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“how long do we have to wait????” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mexicana - CLOSED

La Mexicana
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“how long do we have to wait????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

went here on Friday, the 6 of us.... the atmosphere was good and the staff were really friendly, but waiting to be served was a bit of a wait and waiting for the food was also quite long. most of the meals were really nice, although my friends who had the ribs, complained they were a little overdone. the cocktails were great though. the restaurant was clean and although I didn't have to use the little girls room, my friends said it was clean. would love to come back if the waiting wasn't a problem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joannabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOULD NEVER RETURN !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked this restaurant for my birthday, celebrating with friend's and reconfirmed my reservation and no's on the day.

On arrival the manager acknowledged us then with no explantion went behind the bar and began a heated discussion with a staff member ! We watched on bemused with another couple who were also waiting to be seated. Eventually the manager returned to inform us our table wasn't available as the staff had not followed the seating plan for this evening . Furthermore if we wanted a table it would have to be "upstair's" which causes him problem's because he had not envisaged he would have diner's upstair's this evening and therefore he hadn't enough staff on duty, so service level's would be affected. Inconceivable !!! No wonder the couple also waiting left the restaurant on hearing this. We should have done so at that point but were unsure, especially being a Friday night and party size how easy it would be to get a table elsewhere.

We were then taken upstairs by the staff member the manager had an altercation with, his demeanor was one of a person completely cheesed off and hardly put's you in a celebratory mood ! The upstairs was cold and soulless and we asked if our drinks order could be taken and if we could have some background music playing please. None of this happened as the tables we were seated at needed to be cleaned ! Surely we should have been offered drinks downstairs at the bar whilst cleaning was in motion upstairs and then shown to our table ?? We ordered drinks and with no sign of a bevearge arriving (we had been in the restaurant 30 mintues by now) , made the correct decision to leave .

Spoke to the manager informing him we were leaving as we still hadn't received our drinks and was informed they were doing them !! This manager clearly needs to take responsibility and ownership of his restaurant, whilst undergoing training in management and customer service. I find it exceedingly unprofessional when manager's blame their staff when thing's go wrong, being a manager doesn't make you unaccountable !! You're the manager, surely you should cast your eyes over the seating plan to confirm it mirror's with reservations you have booked !?! Then you should have demonstrated some customer service skill's, afterall good customer service is the lifeblood of any business !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cathy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a great night here. The staff are friendly and work hard to ensure you have a good time. The Mojitos were the best I've tasted in a long time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 579CATHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely the right venue for our work do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We decided to book this venue for our work do recently, based on the reviews that were on here. And we were not dissapointed! It is a great place for functions as they have an upstairs too. We were allocated the upstairs as there were 20 of us, and this worked out fine for us. Everything from the music, the cocktails, the food, the service, everything was excellent. We had mixed starter platter to begin, and the ribs were devine. I had chicken fajitas for my main which were simply delicious. Everyone ordered something different - from fajitas to steak to pasta, and everyone was really happy. Service was really good, not intrusive and we were even given a round of free tequilla shots. On the whole, we really had a lovely evening, and we will definitely be booking this venue for our christmas party.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
310 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The staff try their best but the food lets them down
Nothing special
Dont know if it is part of a chain but felt rather cheap

If I am not mistaken the previously restaurant at this location was a "wimpy" and it felt exactly the same... Not for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mexicana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing