We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whitewebbs Museum of Transport
Save
Review Highlights
One of best transport museum in the south of England

Vast range of historic and by gone vehicles, engines, models and toys, beautifully restored and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Skj_uk
A wonderful hotpotch

Came across this fun oddity by accident. Weird opening hours and well worth the visit. The... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
621simond
,
Amersham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 55 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Enfield
from US$42.86
More Info
from US$37.94
More Info
from US$21.64
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
41
13
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
13
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews model railway run by volunteers train carriage top floor commercial vehicles toy cars air raid two floors crews hill all ages capel manor memorabilia engine maritime sirens ww2 cafe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I have been visiting this museum on a yearly basis for the past 20 years or so, virtually since it's inception, and can only say that what has been achieved by the volunteers during that time is unbelievable. The first time I visited the whole area was in a turmoil as the building work had only just begun and I was shown a massive hole in the ground that was the original pump that lifted the water up to the desired level so that it could be directed into the New River I think it was. I was so impressed with the enthusiasm of the club members that I asked if they would like to exhibit my motorcycles when they were finished. They were most agreeable and a few years later they were put on display where The Calthorpe is still an exhibit. The scope of cars, bikes, bicycles, trucks, model trains, aircraft pedal cars, dolls etc. is out of this world and anybody that is interested in this type of hobby that visits this museum, and comes away disappointed, I feel very sorry for.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Interesting with lots of Memorabilia. Sometimes have classic car and other special events. Not open every day. See website for openings.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Christine_Matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This museum is crammed with British nostalgia. The old motorbikes were particularly splendid. The building is of interest as an old pump house for the New River canal and you can still see some of the old works. The deep well is a 'must see' ask someone in the museum shop to show you. We had a great cup of tea in the cosy cafe and the food looked very decent too. The museum has a big outdoor space and numerous large motor exhibits in an old railway yard attached to the pump house, my teenagers spent ages in the model railway shed with the enthusiasts. We had a great family Sunday outing - thank you to the team of volunteers who run this.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Sadly it is not open very often as it is run by volunteers. It is much bigger then front view with an extensive array of old vehicles as well as old shops & railway station. Including a miniature train village set in an old railway car at the back. Loved the old gas station still standing with an old vehicle out front. They do have a tearoom which was closing as we only arrived later on the day.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank tonisK4658OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

This museum is great. It's far bigger than I expected and the volunteers are really friendly. The guys in the model railway carriage in particular humoured my son getting very excited about the trains for hours. Some things do need labels etc, it is a bit of a work in progress in some parts particularly the upper floors. The fire engines are awesome. Definitely an unexpected find on our holiday :-)

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Catheeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews