We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food For Any Event”

The Hope & Anchor Inn
Ranked #7 of 75 Restaurants in Goole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food For Any Event”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This pub was recommended to my wife and I a few years ago, Since then we have enjoyed many a meal be it just for a social evening / a special event or for a family birthday The pub itself is located to the edge of a village but can easily be found if you follow the sign posts carefully,
The pub is set on the banks of the river ouse were if lucky you will see the odd boat sailing past = a lovely place to sit on a summer evening.
Within the pub a nice friendly atmosphere can be found The seating can be ok but wise to book a table on a week-end In all the times that we have eaten at this pub we can't remember having had anything but good food / drinks being served, Note- The car park can fill on a week-end so would advise to book for a early evening sitting

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    23
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Walked out”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This pub was recommended to us by the owner of the holiday cottages we are renting this week. We phoned beforehand to see if we would need to book and were told there was no need and just to turn up. We arrived at lunchtime, we entered the pub from the car park, no one greeted us when we arrived though there were two staff members within the room. One waitress then told us she would be back to us n a second, 15 minutes later she still hadn't arrived. We had by this time sat down at a table which was free as there were 5 of us and a baby. After 15 minutes of no one coming near us I approached a staff member at the bar and asked if we could have menus, she then replied with attitude that you have to approach the bar if you want to eat and that they didn't know what we wanted. This waitress had a real attitude, she then said she would return with menus which also never happened. So after another 5 minutes, we all left. The staff saw us doing this and did not say anything to us. 20 minutes was spent in this pub and at no point were we ever approached by any staff member and when we approached them the ginger haired waitress was down right rude! However we then went on to eat at nearby Drewtons which was amazing and we would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ClareBEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but hard to find for a stranger”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have enjoyed some good meals in this river side pub. Difficult to find if you do not know the area. Not a large pub, but the food is good class.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianb2goole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fantastic service, friendly atmosphere, great food (plenty of it) and great prices too! Easy access on a bike from neighbouring villages. Places to eat outside if you prefer and superb views over the river. If planning on eating in the evening Id advise you book in advance because of its popularity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great quality food, in a River bank setting.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a well concealed Pub with a great local food reputation on the banks of the River Ouse in the hamlet of Blacktoft, near Goole Yorks.
http://hopeandanchorblacktoft.co.uk/
We called for a sunday lunch, but meals are available every day. It was very busy, every table was full, and lots of food coming out of the kitchen at regular intervals. We really enjoyed our Roast beef cavery, with a good selection of vegetables (£7.95) - and I followed it with a "Brandy Snap basket (fruit and icecream) - 2 meals and a round of drinks came to £24!
Great quality, super service, homely surroundings, and a low bill - we enjoyed it and will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r0gerj0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hope & Anchor Inn also viewed

Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Laxton, Nottinghamshire
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hope & Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing