We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding party ”
Review of Half Moon

Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Goole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional country gastropub in the heart of a beautiful village. Located on the banks of the river ouse, with a dinning room that seats 50. A large marquee is available for weddings & functions. Large caravan & camping site at the rear, with electrical hook up points, elsan point & on site toilets. Live music in the bar second saturday of every month & pub quiz every sunday evening. Food is served tues to saturday from 5pm & the amazing carvery is serveed form 12 till 3pm on sundays.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Came to a wedding here in the marquee 22/09/2018. Food was supposed to be served from 3pm. But had a power cut.
Quater to 4 our table got seved with a starter. Soup was not even warm Then we saw main meals going back. We realized why when we got ours. main meal was cold vegatables hard and cold not cooked some of us complained and sent it back some of us on our table just left it as we be waiting to long alreadt for food..
We know it wasn't the bride and grooms fault and there didn't need this stress on there special day.
But will gladly say won't be eating here again

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank sammylee2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B, Owner at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

We are really sorry about what happened on Saturday, but unfortunately it was out of our hands. Being in a remote village we have no mains gas so everything is electric. There was an issue(possibly a power surge) that tripped all the electrics to the venue. We managed to regain power to the marquee but took over an hour to get a replacement part for the kitchen power supply.
We have had many large functions this year and have had no problems at all until this.

Again all we can do is apologise & say sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018

We came on this place by chance when looking for a night stop over in our motorhome. The camp site was simple but very clean and peaceful. The food at the pub was exceptional and such good value, and the staff were brilliant.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mairi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Excellent carvery, very good choice, huge portions, really well cooked and very reasonable prices. the only downside is the place is so popular it can get a little too full.
this is a venue you will return to on a regular basis,
its a hidden little gem of a pub

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yoggi150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

had a lovely time here first time camping for me n husband i loved it basic camp site nice friendly staff only down fall is not enough toliets if the site was full up other than that it was ok id go again for a few days just to get away only 1 lady spoilt the night drunk wanting to no where the live music was landlord did explain to her but she wasnt having any of it glad she went bk to her caravan cos her husband felt well shown up

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

The food was very well cooked, huge portions and good price. The girls that served us were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Dog friendly as well :)

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank buttonsguineapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Moon also viewed

Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
Howden, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing