We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem.”
Review of Thames House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gravesend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thames House
Ranked #2 of 7 Gravesend B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Booked this B&B with a colleague for a 4 day business trip. Turned up at 9pm to be greeted by the owner, Claire, who was very welcoming. Rooms are very comfortable with great views of the River Thames. Loads of nice touches in the room as detailed in previous reviews. Excellent bathroom with lots of toiletries and really nice thick towels. The breakfasts were excellent and included home made preserves and freshly laid eggs. A really enjoyable stay and heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moon_on_a_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed in the very comfortable room at the top of the house which has wonderful views and a well appointed bathroom ensuite. The owner greeted me with tea and fruitcake (even giving me another portion to take away for lunch the next day) and she couldn't do enough for me during the whole of my short stay. Breakfast was really good, too. I left my phone charger in the bedroom on my departure and she literally ran through the streets of Gravesend to return it to me. I cannot recommend Thames House highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonOb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Claire, the owner, welcomes her guests with an undeniably professional and welcoming approach. The room stylish with unbeatable Thames views. The small things counted too with fresh milk supplied and even bionoculars too to assist in viewing the river life in front of me. Oh yes - the shower was particularly soothing after a long day on cycle route one.

Breakfast is exceedingly generous and Claire's hens play a role in that too!

Well done.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilledVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Visiting Gravesend for a couple of mini events in their annual 'festival' - not a festival that you'd flock to but it has its moments and it was quite interesting to explore the town's interesting Victorian and earlier heritage. Referred to this place to stay and so pleased, as the Quality is superb. Interesting period riverside house and stayed in the Captain's Room on the top floor (of four). Excellent views of the river and thoughtfully provided binoculars in the room allow you to make the most of your eyrie. Friendly owner explained things regarding the room and breakfast very well and had excellent local knowledge. The room stood out because of its attention to detail, all very useful - quality ipod dock, good controllable lighting for reading in bed, and bed and linen of superb quality. A really good night's sleep with only the water lapping the shoreline and the call of the odd gull to be heard. Peaceful spot for a busy town. Very good walk-in shower in my ensuite with good space. Breakfast again smacked of quality. The bread for toast tasted like homemade and the eggs definitely are, they have a dozen of their own hens. All in all, this was one of the best for quite a few months; not just on comfort but genuine hospitality as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picknchoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I have now stayed here 3 times when working in the area. Rooms are of high quality with views of the Thames. Breakfast is special, with home-made bread, marmalade in the huge kitchen. Andy and Claire are very helpful, even to guests who need an early start and instant Wi-Fi access. Try the nearby Crown and Thistle - CAMRA national pub of the year recently with a unique food service.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This must be the best B&B I've been to. I got a lovely room on the top floor. The bathrom is spectacular. Neat, clean, levely details ...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonoflaertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I have never stayed in a better B&B. We took the two ground floor rooms in the Mission House, while visiting friends in the area, and if it had not been for our baby and toddler we would have enjoyed a long lie-in! However, if we had done we would have missed the fantastic breakfast, served ion the farmhouse style kitchen / dining room. Our toddler enjoyed feeding the chickens with Andy in the mornings. Claire and Andy made us very welcome and could not do enough for us. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian_Midnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
0.4 mi away
The Overcliffe Hotel
The Overcliffe Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gravesend
55 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
528 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Granby Hotel
Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarendon Royal Hotel
The Clarendon Royal Hotel
#1 of 7 in Gravesend
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jessamine House
Jessamine House
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thames House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames House

Address: 29 Royal Pier Road, Gravesend DA12 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gravesend
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thames House is a grade 2 listed property set on the waterfront in Gravesend Town Centre, offering 4 star quality accommodation. Full English or Continental breakfast is served in the ground floor kitchen. All accommodation is situated upstairs on the second and third floors. We have welcomed many interesting people to stay with us in our home and look forward to welcoming you too. We are currently undergoing some building work, the front of house entrance is not currently as attractive as it might be, internally the building works do not detract from the quality of stay, we hope to have completed the works by November. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thames House Gravesend, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing