We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good, relaxing walk”

Shorne Woods Country Park
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Gravesend
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good, relaxing walk”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Brilliant. a pleasure to walk through Shorne Woods. Well managed and well maintained with clear paths for walkers, cyclists and riders alike. Areas of natural beauty which must have taken a great deal of work to make them look so natural. The children's' exercise area is well thought out and good too. Well worth a walk through Shorne Park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    115
    15
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with my family, my 7 year old had a great time on the play equipment as did my 2 year old in the toddler play area. We had a walk up to the lakes and spotted a fair few carp my son is itching to get back with his rods.

We walked around following the purple route much fun to be had on the trim trail and the muddy puddles. Stopped at cafe/visitor centre for an ice cream all in all a lovely afternoon in the great outdoors for £2 all day parking and many shrieks of laughter and smiles from my children :-) get out and give it ago the only negative I would mention is the toilets were a bit murky and stained but nothing to really moan about.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loubylouby1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely place shame about service from the tea hut”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Been Shorne Country Park many times and its a great place with good walks and great play area for the kids.
Unfortunately on this occasion when we went for a picnic we brought some drinks from the hut.
The kids went to get the drinks and my daughter was given the tea which was overfilled and it spilled over and burnt her hand so she dropped the drink. She clearly had hurt herself but all the staff did was charged her for another tea and told her to be careful this time. So we will not be using the services of the hut in future but will visit again.
Perhaps also £2.50 to park is a little steep when other parks in the are don't charge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gnat splatting fun”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just of the A2, Shorne Woods is close enough for us to enjoy often.
Great little cafe. Clean facilities.
Plenty of different walks around the woods finishing at the playground.
Children love the freedom of being able to run wild through the trees.

Helpful?
Thank Mia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Relax in the countryside”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We visited Shorne Woods for a Segway experience but had time to explore the park. It is very well kept with signposted walks, fishing lakes and a coffee shop/cafe. Plenty of room for a picnic. There is also an archeological dig of an old manor house going on which you can visit. Dogs allowed. Toilets near the car park. Car park cost £2.50

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Breaktaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shorne Woods Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Shorne Woods Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing