We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Gem”

Shorne Woods Country Park
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Gravesend
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pembury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's a Gem”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Car park excellent value £2.00 all day. Very good play area, different from the norm. Walked Green route, good signage and varied route. Tea a little pricey but otherwise good value for drinks. Looking forward to returning with bikes and checking out other routes. Visited with son, 7yrs old & meet with friend who had girls 9,8 & 3yrs old who all enjoyed day & slept well that night :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eileen11564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    123
    15
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Massive dog toilet.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have been coming for 18 years and seen it morph into a playground for inconsiderate dog owners use for the self purposes.

Even the cafe indulges them and permits them to bring the hoards of dogs in whilst you are eating.

Both my children and I remember the good old days of a portacabin which sold crisps and slushy drinks. Now it all too cappuccino and panini that are being quaffed by self indulgent dog walkers in their gauche Hunter wellies.

So no wouldn't recommend a trip unless you like an assault course avoiding the rampaging mutts and hopscotching between their nastily left messages. Oh … And of course if they don't get you the sad middle aged men in Lycra on their mountain bikes will force you into the verge.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
14 Thank Muttleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“It's wicked it's hard work it's brilliant”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a clean and fun place to take your family,or just about everyone and anyone
It's Huge got loads going on
The map was a bit hard to read or was that just me!
There is small walks
Long walks
Tough walks
Fitness walks
Oh by the walk you don't have to walk you can bike or bring your horse
Order a fresh oak cooked pizza from the brick oven at the cafe
And even mum or nana can come cos the hire out a mobility scooter
There is a gigantic woodland play area and one more thing bring your dog and a picnic
Think I've said it all lol

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good, relaxing walk”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Brilliant. a pleasure to walk through Shorne Woods. Well managed and well maintained with clear paths for walkers, cyclists and riders alike. Areas of natural beauty which must have taken a great deal of work to make them look so natural. The children's' exercise area is well thought out and good too. Well worth a walk through Shorne Park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with my family, my 7 year old had a great time on the play equipment as did my 2 year old in the toddler play area. We had a walk up to the lakes and spotted a fair few carp my son is itching to get back with his rods.

We walked around following the purple route much fun to be had on the trim trail and the muddy puddles. Stopped at cafe/visitor centre for an ice cream all in all a lovely afternoon in the great outdoors for £2 all day parking and many shrieks of laughter and smiles from my children :-) get out and give it ago the only negative I would mention is the toilets were a bit murky and stained but nothing to really moan about.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loubylouby1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shorne Woods Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Shorne Woods Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing