We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful day trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MV Princess Pocahontas

MV Princess Pocahontas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Brilliant day out. Good value for money, boat trip and food, staff very friendly, commentary interesting and informative.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I highly recommend a trip on the Princess Pocohontas, I took a good friend of mine of 90 years of age - she has to use a wheelchair for distances but can manage short distances - the crew were great, helping me on and off with her and storing the wheelchair on the boat. (The boat itself is not wheelchair friendly) There is a small bar which sells snack type food and alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, but you are welcome to bring your own food, which many did. The Captain's commentary was excellent; informative and amusing, he really made the trip!
Tide dictates how far up into London you get before turning round - we got just beyond the London Eye. The weather was superb and we sat outside for most of the trip - but beware there is no canopy so bring a hat if it is sunny or suitable outdoor wear if it is cold, also the chairs outside are ordinary plastic ones so bring a cushion if you plan to sit out there for most of the trip - that said the seating inside is comfortable with tables there too.
I really enjoyed the trip - on the day we went it was mainly full of jolly retired people - a very appreciative audience - not sure it would suit a family with very young children as it is quite a long day sitting down. They also are happy to have groups on board as long as you book and I noticed that they had pre-ordered cream teas, which looked excellent! Highly recommend this river trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank TripDayer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just returned from a lovely excursion from Gravesend to Chelsea.
There were 5 of us in the group.We paid for the trip to Greenwich and then paid extra for the extended trip to Chelsea. On the outward journey we had a full and very detailed commentary courtesy of the captain and owner John Potter. His knowledge and sense of humour was very interesting. I certainly learnt a few things! All the crew bar 1 were friendly and helpful. Drinks and snacks on board were very fair and reasonably priced which is nice to see as too many of these kind of trips tend to try and fleece you for all they can get. Being fairly priced means that you tend to not mind spending more frequently on board and the purchaser doesn't get resentful about paying through the nose.
Apart from tea and coffee they also sell alcohol if that what you fancy.
We pre paid for the ploughman's lunch. I must admit that I wasn't expecting too much in the way of quality but it was superb. Two decent sized wedges of a good quality mature cheese with fresh French bread, pickles and salad. Well worth paying for. The only thing that slightly tarnished an otherwise excellent day out was a female crew member who's awful attitude and barking short tempered manner when serving the ploughman's lunch. She spoke to us and everyone else collecting their lunch like something she had got on the sole of her shoe. What a pity. It really marred the day.
This upset aside it was a really really good day out. John the captain really knows his stuff and is a pleasure to listen to. The rest of the staff are excellent as well apart from the one weak link mentioned above.
All in all a highly recommended day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumbles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow, the scenery and learnt alot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The weather was fine all day but a bit chilly.We left Gravesend at 10.30 am. to sail down the Thames to Chelsea. The commentary was interesting and witty by the Captain and in some cases a few digs at John Prescot along the way!
We had some filter coffees and flapjacks for our 11s which was very good value( £1.50 ea)
We travelled on the boat on the Queen's official birthday and were lucky to see the fly past of old planes and the red arrows giving off the red, white and blue smoke.Very exciting! We saw the smoke of the canons with their 21 gun salute at the Tower of London!
Great historic buildings adorning the Thames to marvel at.
We had the mixed ploughmans which was good quality ham and a block of cheese with various pickles and salad with bread(£5) Back to Gravesend at 5.10, A memorable day by all!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MV Princess Pocahontas also viewed

 

Been to MV Princess Pocahontas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing