We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another victim of our times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gravesend
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Another victim of our times”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed over at this hotel a few years ago and enjoyed lovely meals in a lovely hotel. Sadly this hotel is now very tired. The road leading in has overgrown weeds on it. The outside is littered with cigarette butts and it doesn't look welcoming. The staff are more than helpful but there aren't enough of them. The bar doesn't open on Sundays until 6pm and closes at 11pm. There is no restaurant on Sundays - just bar meals. The bar has limited stock and the barmaid doubles up as the food waitress so sometimes you have a long wait at the bar if she is serving food. The rooms are very comfortable and the best are at the back facing the lake. The breakfast was quite good and there were plenty of staff serving. It would appear that they don't have many employees workingon Sundays even thougth the hotel appeared to be full

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for one facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyq1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    130
    110
    66
    81
See reviews for
97
164
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Seems this hotel getting a bit of bad press from some. £59.50 for lake view ground floor with patio access. Full b/fast options in the price. Very Big room. Bathroom roomy & clean. Very competitive bar and restaurant prices. Staff amazingly friendly and helpful. I don't know how they do it for travelodge fee.Thoroughly recommend it . The £10 cheaper non lake view would overlook A2 though, but still a steal inc. B/fast!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atholl a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Overall a very disappointing experience and not what we expected at all. Arrived expecting idilic inn on lake to discover it was based 50 yards from a motorway. The heat was unbearable in the room but couldn't open windows due to the noise and the fact that they opened straight into the car park. Hence not very safe and no privacy. Payed extra to swap to a room on south side and was then kept awake all night from noise of party. The decor desperately needs updating and cleaning standards were poor. Breakfast was ok, nothing special but good selection. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

good points: very lovely comfortable bed and spacious room. breakfast was average. staff at breakfast could have smiled to make the morning a bit cheerier bu the food on offer was fine!
all in all good for a pit stop but for anything more I would pay a bit more and upgrade your time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suncatchershell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed with family on a trip to see Thomas Beckett's shrine at Canterbury Cathedral. Like most reviews I agree the decor is a little outdated, however I found this to be a well run establishment. The breakfasts were great, not at all greasy but just tasty and well cooked. We had dinner in the restaurant both nights - again good food if a little lacking in atmosphere. I thought it was great value for money for a hotel this close to London - there are no pretensions to grandeur and people expecting country hotel style fawning should steer clear. I'd also say that the plethora of workmen's vans is a good food recommendation - as hard workers they don't go where the food is bad. Smart and competent chambermaids - the lady in charge was very efficient and sorted out a few extras no problem. I enjoyed my stay vey much.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are les rprone to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have just been reading a number of the adverse comments about this hotel and I am surprised. I guess that some peoples expectations exceed the money paid. That said , I have been staying at this hotel on and off since the mid 1970's and whilst the decor is dated, the quality of service, friendliness of staff and helpfulness has remained constantly beyond reproach
The rooms are clean and food good, with a limited menu.
I had a problem when the door to the bathroom locked from the inside, I was allocated a new room and proved with toiletries and my own were recovered the following day.
My room was close to the M2 , but caused no problem nor was there any real road noise.
The hotel was full and busy..
How can I summarize the inn on the lake, good value for money, great and personal service , handy for many place in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, pay a little extra to get a room overlooking the lake if the view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheersagainone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have never felt so unclean after spending 5 minutes in a hotel room. Arrived late (11.30pm) after having got caught up in extensive roadworks and diversions and wanted to have a beer and get to sleep. The bar shuts at 11 even to residents. The reception bloke was as helpful as he could be and they kept a few bottles of beer in a fridge behind the reception which he sold us. Finally got to my room in a rickety old lift I couldn't believe it, - the room reeked of stale urine, had damp on the ceiling and what looked like a blood stain on the curtains. Disgusting. They didn't have any other rooms available so I immediately checked out. They guy was 'unable' to offer a refund so I shall be contacting them first thing. Had to get another hotel at nearly midnight - wasn't easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
235 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
5.7 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Property: The Inn on the Lake
Address: Watling Street, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gravesend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 acres of woodland, the Inn on the Lake Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London, the Channel Ports and the Medway Towns, as well as the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, the stunning views across the two lakes are surprisingly tranquil and relaxing. The Inn on the Lake has 80 comfortable guest rooms (many of them with direct access to the 2 beautiful lakes and surrounding woodland) offering en-suite bathrooms, colour satellite television, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The hotel also boasts a fully licensed bar and restaurant, conference facilities and a unique banqueting room with a 180 panoramic view of the lakes and fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
The Inn On The Lake Gravesend, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing