We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for a night out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gravesend
Sutton Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Venue for a night out”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Spent one night at this Hotel - we were on a Staff Party Night Out ....................... Food was excellent - served by friendly, courteous staff and the food was hot. It was a themed evening with Disco and 'Michael Jackson' Entertainment was excellent.
The evening which was attended by Directors and staff - was a huge success and we will definately be using this venue in the future

Room Tip: All of the rooms are clean and welcoming - we were on the road side which I suspect can be noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanhillview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    142
    126
    68
    86
See reviews for
110
179
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Like most people, I tend to read the reviews & form a judgement by filtering out the extreme ones - what type of people bother to write reviews? The agenda is usually to exaggerate a bad experience or highlight an excellent one. In my case, I feel compelled to write to counter-balance the few negative ones from people ho have unrealistic expectations from a three-star hotel 'you had to get your own cups etc!'

This is a family-run long-established hotel on two storeys, parked between Gravesend & Medway, with the A2 on one side & a lake with woodland on the other.

The lake-view rooms are an extra £10 but obviously well worth it. I've driven past this place for years without ever going inside & always thought the noise from the A2 would be a hindrance, but looking out at the lake, you could honestly be in the cotswalds.

We went there for my brother's wedding & the whole thing was professionally executed by the well-trained staff from start to finish. The ceremony was in the fountain suite & the reception was next door in the big function suite with the lake as a backdrop.

We have been to posher wedding venues & usually find the food to be poor to average (catering en-masse is a tricky business). By contrast, the Inn on the Lake provided the best food we've ever had at a wedding. Decent size portions, all brought out at the same time & actually hot - a rarity at these events. The staff are obviously well experienced in catering for large groups & it shows.

The rooms aren't massive but all the amenities are there (inc. the standard corby trouser press with tea & coffee making facilities). Bath & shower all good, bed comfortable, nice lake view.

I was trying to find the parts of the hotel that were run down & dated, but to me, it was nothing like an episode of Crossroads in the 80s - the rooms, bars, lobby & the function suites were perfectly up-to-date.

Breakfast in the restaurant was as you'd expect - juices, tea, coffee, cereal & toast all at the top bar. Waitress service for the hot breakfast. You can't really go wrong with the full english but this was one of the better ones.

I know they have frequent cabaret nights & their monthly friday night events are legendary, so be aware if you're booking at the weekend.

Nearby is Shorne country park which is picturesque & tranquil place.

Overall I was pleasantly surprised to find that this one of the best 3 star hotels I have stayed in & worthy of a review.

Room Tip: Pay an extra tenner for the lake-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Although the room I had was clean and comfortable enough I found this hotel to be very disappointing. It seems to have gone downhill over the years. The breakfast was part self service and part waitress service. You had to get your own drinks cup by cup and the toasters supplied didn't seem to work properly. It is the first time I have ever had to take a piece of toast out and turn it round to make sure it was toasted on both sides! On one day when the restaurant hardly had any people in it for breakfast I had to wait 15mins for my cooked breakfast to arrive. At the same time I could hear kitchen staff laughing and joking in the kitchens - something that definitely doesn't get their job done. Fire doors were also open allowing access to anybody without them having to go past reception.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

An excellent facility which hold loads of local and musical events. Everything you could possibly need is within this environment. Its clean, comfortable and well equipped. Food is well presented and unpretentious, reasonably priced too. Getting to the location is a little confusing but well worth the delay, parking is no problem. My only concern is that the staff do not smile much and they do not talk to you or engage with you unless you speak to them first. Overall a really nice stay. Special pricing makes this VFM! would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Have stayed here on many occasions to attend the Funky Friday party on the Friday night. Some parts of the hotel are quite dated but as far as I am concerned the rooms are very nice and very comfortable. For just over £25 per person for the night (including breakfast) I cant fault it. The staff have always been more than friendly and have always made us feel welcome. I have stayed in both a lake view and non-lake view room and have never had a problem with noise from the motorway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkirkby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed over at this hotel a few years ago and enjoyed lovely meals in a lovely hotel. Sadly this hotel is now very tired. The road leading in has overgrown weeds on it. The outside is littered with cigarette butts and it doesn't look welcoming. The staff are more than helpful but there aren't enough of them. The bar doesn't open on Sundays until 6pm and closes at 11pm. There is no restaurant on Sundays - just bar meals. The bar has limited stock and the barmaid doubles up as the food waitress so sometimes you have a long wait at the bar if she is serving food. The rooms are very comfortable and the best are at the back facing the lake. The breakfast was quite good and there were plenty of staff serving. It would appear that they don't have many employees workingon Sundays even thougth the hotel appeared to be full

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for one facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyq1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Seems this hotel getting a bit of bad press from some. £59.50 for lake view ground floor with patio access. Full b/fast options in the price. Very Big room. Bathroom roomy & clean. Very competitive bar and restaurant prices. Staff amazingly friendly and helpful. I don't know how they do it for travelodge fee.Thoroughly recommend it . The £10 cheaper non lake view would overlook A2 though, but still a steal inc. B/fast!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atholl a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
1.4 mi away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
249 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
640 reviews
4.1 mi away
Granby Hotel
Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
7.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Property: The Inn on the Lake
Address: Watling Street, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gravesend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 acres of woodland, the Inn on the Lake Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London, the Channel Ports and the Medway Towns, as well as the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, the stunning views across the two lakes are surprisingly tranquil and relaxing. The Inn on the Lake has 80 comfortable guest rooms (many of them with direct access to the 2 beautiful lakes and surrounding woodland) offering en-suite bathrooms, colour satellite television, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The hotel also boasts a fully licensed bar and restaurant, conference facilities and a unique banqueting room with a 180 panoramic view of the lakes and fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
The Inn On The Lake Gravesend, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing