We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambience welcoming staff nothing was to much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Overcliffe Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gravesend
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great ambience welcoming staff nothing was to much trouble”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I don't know which hotel the negative feedback bods come from suspect they work nearby. The hotels great the staff can't do enough as was my experience with the owner. Clean and honest, foods great. Instead of moaning why can't the negative people deal with people face to face and speak about their dislikes most are easily remedied and can make for a great stay. Locations great for all nearby attractions and transport links.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    6
    10
    15
See reviews for
8
12
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We had difficulty in finding the hotel in the gloom as only the restaurant sign was lit up.not a good signal I feel. The welcome was warm and we were given a room on the ground floor due to my mobility problems but there was no-one to help get our luggage up the 10 or so broken steps into the building! The room was sufficient but we were opposite the door to the office which made a dreadful noise when entered at different times throughout the night. Some WD40 might have helped or a new lock! The food was overpriced and I advise all readers not to ask for a rare steak. I think the very nice Eastern European waitress didn't understand and I got a raw steak! As it had "Sauce" all over it and she disappeared fro some time I did not send it back. It was cold within 5 minutes and as it was also full of sinew and fat I left it. My disastrous main course was followed by the smallest piece of plain, manufactured cheesecake I had ever seen on the largest plate. Why?

Room Tip: don't choose the room opposite the office (think it was room 3) unless you are a very sound slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 372weatherwax15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Many people have knocked the place but It's clean, it's sort of comfortable, the amenities all work as they should. The outside looks interesting The cooked breakfast was hot & tasty with the egg freshly cooked.

Yes, the inside is old and needs re-fitting as its old and tired. Not the sort of place you'd go for leisure, but for somewhere to put your head down for the night and have breakfast - Its OK - I've certainly been put up in much worse. There's very little in the way of staff, so finding someone can take a while.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This will a short review, this place is awful, the moment you step into the reception you can see how unclean and stuck in the 80s this hotel is. The only greeting that awaits is the damp dusty musty smell. You have been warned.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Given the choice of hotels in Gravesend, the Overcliffe Hotel is not the worst place to stay. Like your great-aunt's house, the decor may not be to your taste and like your great aunt, the service may be slow and odd at times but generally the beds are comfortable and the location is central.
The dinner offered is great, if a little pricey, and the lack of vistors in the hotel may mean you are the only one eating there, hence the service is a little slow. However, the breakfast option is nothing to be excited about, basic cereal, a piece of toast and if you are willing to wait a while for it, a fry. The main reasons I would not return are:

1. The bathroom, although clean, was barely functional - leaky toilet and broken shower.
2. Expense. This hotel is not cheap.
3. The "wifi" was only available in reception, and they didn't have a functioning computer.

If youre in a pinch, one night here will not be totally unpleasant but you will be eager to hit the road shortly after...

Room Tip: Try not to be too put off by the random ornaments around the room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CailineRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Please do not subject yourself to this appaling excuse of a dump that is masquerading as a hotel !!! Overpriced, tatty, unclean, outdated, unpleasant....if thats not enough to put you off then how about a 25minute wait in a reception that is supposed to be manned 24hrs...then be greeted by the 'manager' who makes Basil Faulty look like Andrew Stembridge! The rooms are atrocious - smelly and outdated, forget about cleaning the bathroom..it needs to be ripped out and renovated!!! - the only thing acceptable was the comfotable bed.
I noticed some electrical cabling that been joined with an open connector and then been patched up with electrical tape by a window, the only problem is that the tape had come loose and exposed the wiring...is this safe? I think not !!!!

The 'finish' of the decor suggests that they do not use contract painters and decorators in this establishment...they probably do it themselves or use cowboys - the standard is not of a tradesman.

After speaking to one of the staff (who seemed disgruntled) they said its a pain to work there as the owner lives next to the hotel and pays little attention to his business - hence the reception problem, it is supposed to be 24hrs but in reality it isnt.

For pity's sake spare yourself the stress and annoyance of this trashy dump and pay less money to stay in a better hotel ...like the 'best western manor hotel' or the premier inn near the town centre'.

Room Tip: choose a room at the manor hotel or premier inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

From the outside this lovely georgian looking buiding looks impressive. But the facade ends when go through the large black and glass front door.
The reception is small and uninviting with stuffed foxes to greet you, looking more like a Taxidermists than a hotel reception.
the stair wells a hall ways are narrow and difficult to manoeuvre with cases.
the bar is small and pokey, don't come here if you want decent real ale, the best you will get is a variety of bottled beer, the type which are 4 for £5 in the local Morrisons.
The carpets are aged and stained through-out.
The TV's something from the 90's and you are lucky to get the old 5 channels.
The free internet access is free, but the access is dependant on which part of the hotel you happened to be in.
The curtains in the room I stayed in were tired with hooks missing, so drawing them was a feat in itself.
it's not that the hotel was dirty or the staff unfriendly, in fact you hardly see staff.
There is a distinct lack of investment in all the rooms I stayed in, which is a shame from this magnificent looking hotel.

I wanted it to be everything it should have been from the outside.
but it wasn't.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMarcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
Granby Hotel
Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
140 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
461 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overcliffe Hotel

Property: The Overcliffe Hotel
Address: 15-16 Overcliffe, Gravesend DA11 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gravesend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Overcliffe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Overcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Overcliffe Hotel Gravesend, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing