We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Wembley event. Fab views of London.”
Review of Old Etonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Etonian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Harrow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Harrow on the HIll is a very affluent area with a village feel to it very close to all the bustle of London. The Old Etonian is a quirky hotel with fabulous far reaching views. When we arrived, there was no one around but the very friendly, helpful manager of the Collina restaurant next door showed us the rooms. First two rooms were unacceptable as one was very cold and no window. The second was at the front of the hotel. Room 12 was at the back with amazing views. Comfortable bed. A little odd with the shower in the room but it is a very old hotel. Had an enjoyable meal at Collina restaurant in the vine covered garden on a very hot afternoon. We took a taxi to Wembley Arena to see Leonard Cohen in concert. £9 each way. The continental breakfast was disappointing. Would have liked the option of a full English breakfast although there was a good selection of breads etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dohoPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Went to there restaurant on the main road called La Collina Italian What a great place there were 7 of us.My Calamari starter was very good hard to get right but they did, main spaghetti with king prawns again very good. we only had one small problem with my brothers spaghetti it was much to spicey and he was unable to eat it, they were very good about it and wanted to give him something else but he did not want it so they took it of the bill. All the other mains were very good. Desserts Apple pie and ice cream and again very good. The bill came to about £23 per head. Service v v good food 10 out of 10.So if you are in Harrow on the hill go and give it a try you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Booked directly through the hotel for a double room at £77.50 (Laterooms quoted £85.00). Very casual reception (had to knock on restaurant door as the manager there was looking after hotel ). The room was very clean, bedding lovely and the bed very comfortable and I think a five footer. Nice view too over the hil.

Shower-room was very clean, liquid soap and shower gel/shampoo to use. Nice strong hot shower.

Bottle of water, cartons of juice and plenty of coffee and tea for drinks. And hot chocolate which was nice. There was also biscuits and a couple of kitkats.

I had asked for a quiet room and was given one at the back of the hotel. It was above the restaurant area and we could hear the restaurant being cleared away as it closed up but it wasn't intrusive at all. All in all, had a very good night's sleep.

Breakfast was the usual continental type, juice, cereal and lots of bread products - waffles, croissants, toast, scones, muffins, pain du chocolate etc. Would have preferred a hot brekkie but it was fine and filling. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

No parking facilities but we had no trouble parking a few minutes up the road.

I was really apprehensive using a small independant hotel as have had some dreadful experiences in the past, so would have preferred a chain but didn't want to pay their ridiculous London prices. Have to say this lovely little hotel has restored my faith in the independants and I fully recommend the Old Etonian!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meettheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I wanted to first suggest that this is a good hotel with old fashioned values. Smart attentive hotel staff and the room itself was clean and tidy. Not expensive not cheap, about where it should be. The breakfast is OK without being anything special; would have preferred a big fry up rather than a continental breakfast. We were off to Wembley for the FA Cup.so some substance would have been appreciated. The restaurant though needs a Gordon Ramsey Make Over. It was simply awful. Overcooked food, poor ingredients and badly presented. Staff were a little faulty towers bit willing.
Would stay at the hotel but the restaurant food was a disgrace.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

stayed in Hotel prior to a visit to Wembley stadium.
Found room clean with very comfy bed. also request a put me up bed for my friend who said he had a very pleasent nights sleep.
Breakfast is served in the restaraunt and is a basic continental one with a good choice of cereals etc.
Manager and staff very helpfull and would recommend this to anyone requiring a stay in a quiet hotel close to London.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HIGGYEPORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

If you want to stay near Harrow School this couldn't be closer. Clean, comfortable bed, good linen and supply of soaps, coffee, etc but very cramped room up two flights of steep stairs. Ample continental breakfast. Parking only in nearby streets,

Room Tip: First floor rather than higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommillerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Friendly staff, pleasant rooms and good food. Choice of two restaurants providing good quality fare. Plenty of choice of menu and reasonable wine list. Breakfast is continental but excellent choice. Location is on the High Street in Harrow on the Hill village just past Harrow School. Nice setting with pleasant views from the rear.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious and quiet. Ground floor with views from the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrow hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hindes Hotel
Hindes Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harrow
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Brent Hotel
The Brent Hotel
#6 of 15 in Harrow
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#5 of 9 in Harrow
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Etonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Etonian Hotel

Address: 38 High Street, Harrow HA1 3LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Harrow
Price Range: £76 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Etonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Old Etonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Etonian Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing