We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value wine list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilbert's Restaurant

Gilbert's Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 342 Restaurants in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding value wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I have had two wonderful evenings at this restaurant. The service was friendly and efficient and the food quality was very good indeed. What really made the place for me was the exceptional wine list. Not only do they stock some classic wines, but their prices represent the best value I think I have ever seen. This appears to be down to two key members of staff who make it their business to give guests the chance to drink fine wines at affordable prices. Bravo 5*

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    12
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Great lunch, great value"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Set in a fabulous woodland setting this restaurant offers a great lunch offer until 7th Feb of £10 for a main course with a free £5 dessert.
We skipped the starters (priced from £5) and had main courses of Braised shin of beef, and whole grilled plaice followed by old fashioned rice pudding and choux bun swan.
All of these dishes were excellent and were great value which was even better when the free dessert was taken into account.
Two mains, two desserts and soft drinks for under £26.
Good service not included in the bill so don't forget to leave a tip.
Hope to return soon & look around the grounds after lunch next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maa555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Cream Tea Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We just enjoyed a brilliant birthday cream tea at the Grimsdyke. The Victorian atmosphere in the twilight makes a wonderful ambience for a traditional English meal. The smoked salmon was first rate, and the egg mayonnaise well seasoned, Cucumber sandwiches completed the lowest tier of the cake stand. The pastry on the eclairs was meltingly fine, though the top did not taste of chocolate. Best of all were the scones: they looked hard and unpromising but had a wonderful texture and were not sweetened, thus setting off the strawberry jam and thick cream brilliantly. There was also fruity trifle and tiny ginger cakes, which were highly spiced and gave an extra zing to finish the meal. There is a wide choice of teas and other hot drinks. These were of normal hotel quality and not up to the highly exceptional standard of the food. Overall the tea is a must, at a fraction of the price of the Ritz and other West End venues.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meylbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Elegant, historic surroundings. Delightful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

A sweep drive up curving up through tall trees skirted by rhododendrons leads you to the car park beside the restaurant entrance. The January 2014 weekday offer is free dessert about £5 with a main course about £10. The leaflet telling you this is in the rack outside. It wasn't marked clearly on the a la carte menu but I asked whether there was any set meal or deal and was told about the offer, which was on the leaflet I had picked up on the way in but not yet read.
My companion was driving and having a dry month post-Xmas but I indulged in a 125 ml glass of Prosecco about £6. I could have had a glass of champagne at about £6.50, or a glass of rosada.
Our servers were obliging and offered to bring us a jug of water without being asked.
Then along comes the bread basket, white rolls or, my preference, hot brown rolls with walnuts and raisins or sultanas inside, and salt butter to add.
We opted for the starter of chicken with lentils. Very tasty and beautifully presented.
My main course was duck, a fan shape of sliced duck, potato dauphinoise presented in a block like a small brick, spinach and carrots for colour. My companion had tasty sea bream and the new potatoes which were more interesting though less healthy than they sounded, either sauté or grilled, somehow given a 'finish'. His vegetables also included green beans decoratively threaded through a hole in what looked like a thick slice of cucumber but might have been another vegetable. I thought, 'what a good idea. I could do that at home for a special occasion.'
When we moved on to the main course we were offered more bread.
I wanted to leave room for dessert and asked for part of my main course to be wrapped up to go, as the Americans say. In England you would say to take away. My leftovers came back wrapped flat in foil.
From the four desserts we chose two, lemon syllabub, and rice pudding. Pleasant enough, though not particularly remarkable in presentation nor flavour. A touch of colour and contrast would have been welcome. However, the dessert disappeared soon enough down our throats and we ended with coffee, in my case double espresso with hot milk and brown sugar. A brown sugar lump is very classy and special. Shakespeare said 'All's well that ends well' and our meal did. We each had a lovely dark chocolate truffle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
118 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Two courses - main and desert, tipple of whiskey for £10 in a wonderful historic building with superb gardens and views, easy parking, and wonderful service from the ultra obliging Jochen. This must count as the bargain of the century. Not only was Jochen obiliging, but observant too and really a credit to Gilberts. Fantastic service, he is a first class waiter, sommelier, coat taker/ giver.. The food - mains were very good, beautifully presented and executed, but the crepe suzette for desert need some help. Excellent rating given for Jochen really making the meal memorable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flaki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilbert's Restaurant also viewed

 
Harrow, Greater London
 
Harrow, Greater London
Harrow, Greater London
 

Been to Gilbert's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing