We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here o business, and can't say enough on how enjoyable it was.
Great comfortable clean and spacious room.
Staff on reception very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was brilliant, with a good selection ... One of the best I've had !!
Prices were excellent for the area, and hope to return in the near future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mikeybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

OK, we only live down the road, but thought we would give this a go as we had never been and I got a deal at £35 for the night.

We had room 205 in the Garden Lodge, now I am not sure if this is their £35 special but whilst I did not feel conned it was nothing exceptional. Nice bed...good start, and everything else was OK, The BATH in the the bathroom was nice. But some things not quite there, handles missing off drawers for a start. Where THIS room was let down is that it is next to the heating boiler so a Saturn 5 rocket kept me awake all night...well a fair bit of it.

Go for the bar in the main house, not cheap but a lovely place, oh, and be warned, the bar, the restaurant and MOST of the accommodation are in different parts and you have to go outside to get from one to the other.

Room Tip: Well not 205 unless you like a boiler in your ears all night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuislipTropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed just the one night whilst attending a local tennis club dinner /dance in the hotel which had offered a special rate for those planning to stay. To summarise, we really enjoyed both our evening and stay.

Our bedroom was the Mikado Suite which was very quiet and atmospheric with a super comfortable bed, nice furniture and a modern bathroom. Breakfast was good with a nice selection from a cold buffet of cereals, juices, croissants etc and freshly cooked egg and bacon etc. Coffee could have been better (I do like fresh coffee !) and toast was served unusually with just one slice at a time. This will ensure it’s fresh but a rack of toast is better as it can be frustrating trying to get the waiting staff’s attention to order more.

The quality of the food at the dinner / dance was exceptionally good with the main course of tender chicken with some really nice vegetables which was all served piping hot. It’s one of the better meals I have had at a function of 50+ people. Also, the service was well organised with attention paid to everyone on each table getting their food at the same time and they kept refreshing the water jug on all tables throughout the evening – which is very thoughtful.

The Grim's Dyke hotel is somewhat different to most other hotels within the M25 as both its location and the main hotel building itself give you feeling of being somewhere far away from London and that you are in the depths of the English countryside. We liked it !

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the main building rather than the Garden Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We came to this hotel for a birthday tea party. It is such a pretty hotel with glorious grounds and beautiful rooms with exquisite ceilings and design. The party took place in one of their party rooms which was an excellent size for 50 people. They served scones, sandwiches, cakes, trifle, and lemon mousse. It was all tasty and nicely presented even if the unsteady 3 layer trays did fall over. . The staff were very helpful and attentive and provided alternative flavoured teas to the standard builders brew. I have no idea what the cost was but I strongly recommend it if within your budget. One thing, I was very pleased to see how clean the male and female toilets were as I have been surprised by the disgusting state of dome toilets in other hotels.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Travelguidebarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here for one night and a day and a half for a work 'retreat'. I understand that we got a good deal of £135 for bed, breakfast lunch and dinner.

There is the main Victorian house (formerly the home of WS Gilbert of Gilbert & Sullivan fame), which has a number of room and the bar and restaurant as well as the music room for events. We stayed in a nearby annex which looks a bit like terraced cottages in the Barratt's homes style, but they are beginning to age well with moss on the roof tiles to make it look a little older and more in keeping.

The room was quite, well, roomy, with a jacuzzi bath and shower (colleagues on the floor above had regular baths). Some of the decor was new and trendy, but then the armchairs and sofa looked like they could do with reupholstering. The room had a flatscreen TV, tea and coffee, a small fridge and safe - all useful features - as well as free wifi.

The bed was very hard (and I don't mind a firm mattress) and not that comfortable.

The breakfast buffet was adequate - cereals, yoghurt and juices - but nothing special, but together with the menu items was enough to set you up for the day. The other meals were OK too, like decent pub fare but nothing more. And don't get me started on what they passed off as rice pudding. What a travesty!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Visiting family member who was a patient at the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital in Stanmore and this hotel was local, c 2 miles away. Stayed in hotel on 2 separate occasions in December 2013 and on both occasions was impressed by the staff, hotel, and rooms. Had the English cooked breakfast and a bar meal and food was well presented and tasty. Best to book bed and breakfast as offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Edgware Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,800 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel

Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range: £46 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing