We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank SueSG1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We held a champagne afternoon tea for about 30 people as a joint birthday celebration in the characterful Drawing Room at the Grims Dyke and it was just excellent. The service was absolutely outstanding, the staff warm and friendly and helpful, the food plentiful and tasty and the gardens were looking beautiful in the sunshine - the perfect place for the children to run around safely afterwards. Everyone had a fabulous time and as host I felt I was in excellent hands. I would definitely recommend this hotel for similar events, weddings etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent location - feels like you are deep in the countryside yet you are not far from central London. Surrounded by good walks in woods and fields, the hotel has a pretty but small formal garden and the building's exterior is gorgeous. There are rhododendron bushes everywhere so it must be a spectacular sight when they are in bloom. Reception process on arrival and checkout was slow, mainly due to technology issues with printers and a PC mouse plus only have 1 staff member on duty when we arrived. Several of the staff are very formal and a little unfriendly - particularly in reception and the restaurant; I feel a little more training on rapport building skills for the largely foreign staff would be of benefit to minimise any possible cultural misunderstandings.

We were staying for a wedding and we had a fabulous time. The food was great; we ate in the restaurant before the wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our well presented and cooked food and thought it quite reasonably priced - and we are not Londoners but live in a very rural area with hardly any AA Rosette restaurants. The wine we had with our meal was exceptionally good too. The canapes were nice, the wedding breakfast was excellent, well presented, cooked and served by far more pleasant staff, and the evening buffet was of a similar high quality. Breakfast on both days was plentiful and good. The building has masses of character and history and the music room is simply stunning as a setting for a wedding or event.

We stayed in the garden lodge. This is quiet and a little dated and slightly shabby, particularly in the communal areas e.g. carpets and decor, but our room was clean and spacious. There is a fair bit of clutter like a rusty old boat outside the Lodge entrance area (odd!) and that part could do with tidying up. The prettiness of the formal gardens around the main hotel makes up for this. There are some great views of London if you take the time to walk to the edges of the wooded areas or cross the busy main road (note: you cannot hear the traffic from the hotel at all) to the viewing point just opposite the hotel's main entrance drive.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and we would love to go back to explore the area further and maybe stay in the main hotel for the character this has. I saw the bridal suite and thought it was great with its amazing 4 poster bed and double aspect windows.

Room Tip: Garden lodge for quietness, ground floor if you have mobility issues, the main hotel for character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Localyokel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A lovely romantic setting with good basic facilities. Nice and clean and immaclulate grounds. Bed was too hard for me but maybe fine for others. Food good but you can get just as good food from the many nearby restaraunts and pubs nearby. Reception was a little cold and not volunteering information (without prompting). other staff in the bar & restaraunt were very smart and helpfull. Overall good experience but if you are staying on your own or a quick business stop-over, there are probably cheaper options nearby for the same quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 354anthonyl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

HMS Pinafore in Gilbert's former home. A very "civilised" evening. The evening dinner with the Opera was set in the music room. The opera singers were great and the food was very good. It was a really charming evening. I felt like we'd all stepped back into a bygone time. I' d love to do it all over again. Recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Petrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,887 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,860 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel

Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range: £47 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing