We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stanley B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

On arrival at the hotel (after a slight detour to a cul-de-sac courtesy of our satnav) we were duly impressed by its grand appearance.
A truly lovely building if ever there was one, the lodge in the grounds however is far less imposing. Its more like an upmarket Travelodge.
The grounds themselves are generally well kept & tidy.
A point of interest was that Mr. Gilbert was drowned in the lake whilst frolicing, the mind boggles. Anyway, booking in was fairly straightforward as we'd made prior reservations some months before, the reception area is tiny & was soon overwhelmed by our family but the staff did their duty effeciently & with humour. My wife & I were informed we'd been upgraded to the Grand Duke Room. The room was right at the top of the building through a maze of corridors & stairs but we soldiered on regardless. On our journey we went through the music room where the wedding was to take place. A very impressive room & a stunning fireplace which, we were told, was carved in alabaster not marble. Obviously Mr. Gilbert had made a pretty penny from his partnership with Mr. Sullivan.
Our daughters & grandchildren were in the lodge & were less than impressed with being charged £25 per night for an extra fold up bed in one of their rooms which then left very little room to move around.
In the Grand Duke Room we were pleased with the size of it, this would soon be put to the test when everyone descended upon us! A comfortable 3 seater sofa complimented the huge bed (which was actually wider than it was long!). A nicely appointed en suite with a bath/shower handbasin etc. The handbasin taps caught my eye as parts of them were missing but I'm an engineer, we notice these things. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. Usual tea/coffee making facilities & a good sized TV (only free to air channels). I noticed there must have been a small wardrobe in the room once as the doors from it were used on the built in wardrobe (cupboard really), the give away was the hinges.........
In the evening we returned from eating to descend upon the bar, the drinks are reasonably priced & the staff very attentive & polite. The bar was comfortable & a general feeling of everyone being welcome, very nice.
Onto the big day & I was wondering how it was going to go, I needn't have been in the slightest bit concerned. The ceremony, lunch, evening entertainments all took place in the music room. The staff were magnificient, it was run with military precision! I must say the food served for the wedding lunch was utterly gorgeous, no one got the wrong dish, all the kids were happy & nothing was too much trouble for the staff. After lunch we were asked to clear the room in preparation for the evening. Within about an hour a disco, dance floor & seating for all had magically been arranged. It was a triumph of organisation & logistics.
Now, about the breakfasts.............
Our first one was very nice indeed, again very attentive staff offering all sorts of variations on an English breakfast but the second one somehow gave me the impression we were trying to be gotten rid of. Whilst I was talking to the groom on the second morning a waiter interrupted us & told me the tables were only for wedding guests, I replied I was one, he then tried to curtail my conversation & usher me to another table! My wife & I were not offered any of the previous mornings options on breakfast & I didn't particularly like the waiters curt manner. I noticed in the breakfast room that the lighting was in a dreadfully dusty state, a clod of dust could easily have fallen into someones food.
I was given to understand that Best Western have only recently taken over this hotel. There are a number of areas within the building that are looking a little tired, a lick of paint here & there could make so much difference.
Overall we were happy with our stay. Would we go back again? Maybe.

Room Tip: Go for a titled room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My daughter got married here last Saturday. I can only say it was an amazing day made even more special by the wonderful obviously experienced staff. Nothing was too much trouble , food , service , ambience. Thanks in particular to Claire , Jula ( sorry sp?) and Danielle . X

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlaWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

On behalf of my son and daughter-in-law I want to record a huge thank you. What a wonderful wedding we had last weekend. Facilities were fantastic. Food at reception was everything we hoped for. The whole day went as expected. Special thanks to Clare for organising everything and to Gyula for ensuring all went according to plan on the day, unobtrusive but always in control. Thank you for making a special day extra special.
Sam F

Room Tip: Get a room in the original house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelDiner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is great. Very pretty. Perfect for families and couples.

Pros:
- Clean, decent-sized rooms
- Staff is very friendly and accommodating
- Great restaurant and bar
- The grounds are very pretty and green

Cons
- If you are using public transportation, keep in mind the bus stop is a bit of a walk. The walk is also kind of terrifying at night since it involves walking next to/in the middle of pitch black woods for quite a while. I recommend taking a cab at night.
- Wifi is not great inside the rooms, but it is usable

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U2776ENTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank SueSG1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We held a champagne afternoon tea for about 30 people as a joint birthday celebration in the characterful Drawing Room at the Grims Dyke and it was just excellent. The service was absolutely outstanding, the staff warm and friendly and helpful, the food plentiful and tasty and the gardens were looking beautiful in the sunshine - the perfect place for the children to run around safely afterwards. Everyone had a fabulous time and as host I felt I was in excellent hands. I would definitely recommend this hotel for similar events, weddings etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Edgware Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,800 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel

Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range: £46 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing