We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gilbert and Sullivan Society Convention Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gilbert and Sullivan Society Convention Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We knew that Grim’s Dyke hotel had been the last home of Sir William Gilbert, the librettist of the famous Gilbert and Sullivan Savoy comic operas. Hence it was a fitting venue for the 90th anniversary celebrations of the Gilbert and Sullivan Society. Together with some 80 other Society members we were warmly greeted by the friendly hotel reception staff and quickly settled into our comfortable room. Fine dining, attentive service from the efficient hotel staff and wonderful musical entertainment all contributed to a fabulous weekend.
Looking round the house we could almost imagine Sir William writing in his study (now the Library Bar) looking out onto the croquet lawn. Dodging the showers we admired the wonderful gardens with their Roses and glorious Rhododendrons. Entertainment in the spectacular Music room with its Minstrels’ Gallery included many pieces from the Savoy operas and it was very special to listen to them in the home one of their creators.
We were delighted to learn that the tradition of Gilbert and Sullivan continues to thrive at Grim’s Dyke, with costumed productions of the operas, accompanied by a splendid dinner, on alternate Sunday nights throughout the year.
Overall it was a weekend which we shall treasure. The hotel was perfect and everyone could not have been more helpful. We would recommend anyone to visit Grim’s Dyke for the enjoyment of the hotel and gardens. If you are a Gilbert and Sullivan fan Grim’s Dyke is even more special. We plan to return again and again.

Room Tip: Good choice of period rooms in the main house or comfortable rooms in the garden lodge annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    232
    91
    37
    27
See reviews for
169
290
33
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were there to celebrate the 90th birthday of the founding of the Gilbert and Sullivan Society. The weekend could not have run more smoothly. The Hotel itself is lovely and I was lucky enough to have a room en suite (in the House which had belonged to W S Gilbert) which was so elegant and well appointed. The food was good and the staff were most helpful and attentive. The grounds are absolutely stunning, it was hard to imagine that one was on the outskirts of London.

Room Tip: Go for one in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auroraPOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finchampstead
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent one night on a B&B rate as attending wedding nearby. Very comfortable large bedroom and breakfast was nice also. Hotel very large with splendid gardens. Garden rooms are well appointed to car park.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very well appointed to car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

An old building full of character & charm with beautiful. Had a room in the main house that reflected the charming character of the exterior, creaking floorboards an all. Restaurant was fantastic. Friendly efficient service delivered cracking food in a wonderful relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atters68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I love this hotel we visit this area often as my daughter lives nearby. The gardens are beautiful and well cared for by a team of gardeners who obviously take a great pride in their work. The Rhododendrons were in full bloom, the lawns cut neatly in tight lines. One morning from our room a muntjac deer appeared. Great to see that. We found the staff were very helpful. Breakfast is served hot and to your table no buffet system which can only be a good thing, Dinner was also really good. We had the relaxing time that we needed and we thank the staff very much.

Room Tip: bed ( single) creaky in room 112.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stay at the hotel regularly, and have stayed in most of the rooms. The main house is full of character (with creaking floorboards), and the lodge rooms are very comfortable. The hotel is set in a beautiful location, within its own gardens. The food is excellent, and the staff are very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I organised a residential event at this hotel and it was fabulous! The staff were fantastic - all very friendly and attentive. The food was fabulous and our guests were lucky enough to experience the Sabrage - well worth having a go! If you get chance to visit this hotel please do walk round the grounds they are simply stunning and quite hard to beleive it's so near London!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
3.5 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing