We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Driving through the gates, and heading down a long driveway with trees either side, you find it hard to remember that the busy town of harrow is just outside. It is really quiet here and a place to get away from it all. Checking in was easy. We stayed in an annex off the main house. Although we had a lovely room, if I stayed again, I would pay for a room in the hotel as this is a lovely old building. Dinner was lovely with great service. Afterwards we went for a walk in the hotel grounds with a pond, orchard and flowers everywhere. There is a good choice on offer at breakfast and everything cooked really well with great presentation. This is worth a stay if you are in the area. The only thing that was bad about it was that ours was a flying stop so not enough time to really enjoy it.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel and not the annex to get the best out of your stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a wonderful afternoon at this hotel. We had a guided tour of gardens and house, a home made cream tea (better than the Ritz my mother said) and enjoyed a performance by five fabulous singers. Our ages ranged from 17 to 86 and we all loved it. Book this great value event with confidence.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were booked in for a family wedding and had booked for 2 nights so that we could visit London and do a show on the Friday night. When we checked in they had cocked up the booking, and only had us down for the second night, and had to shuffle rooms around. The check in staff sent us off to the room with the wrong sort of key. I requested a Saturday morning newspaper, and although this was on the computer system it hadn't been ordered so I didn't get one.
They did manage the whole wedding, including a sit down meal, very well. The building and garden are lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 July 2014

2 weeks stay, lovely staff , nice room, fanatastic grounds. Near to london for business and tourist thing.
In this era of big corporate brand hotels with no atmosphere and rip off with a false smile customer care, this hotel is a pleasant antidote.
Great value and a real taste of old england with its historic house and lovely geardens.

Room Tip: The whole place is great, rooms are in the main house with period features and the garden block with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have stayed at Grim's Dyke for nearly 2 weeks!
All in all i have to say that it was a great experience and that we would come back here anytime!
The location is probably the best thing, rounded up by the beautiful building and the great customer service offered by most of the staff.
The surrounding forest and the flower gardens were amazing, very neat and it gave a really peaceful and romantic touch to our stay.
At check in & check out, the receptionists were very friendly and the procedures were done quickly ( the Slovakian lady as well as Ms.Monika).
During our stay, the housekeeping team was very attentive, always making sure that we have everything we need. special thanks to Ms. Nina and her team for looking after us!
Breakfast was good ( try the traditional english breakfast!), also here we had good and fast service.

Unfortunately our dinner was not that great at Gilbert's restaurant:
- about 15-20 min waiting time for the drinks only...
- by the time we were actually eating it was ca. 30 -40 min passed since we arrived
- the restaurant was not fully packed with people so it could have been quicker the service
- the menu selection was average, considering the great hotel one would expect a bit more imagination for the food and definitely more and better dessert selection
- despite the above, the delicious main courses that we ordered made our evening :-) best duck confit & delicious fish and chips!

The hotel has an ongoing program during the year with Gilbert & Sullivan opera performances, however you do need to book in advance ( unfortunately it was fully booked by the time we arrived)

We would like to thank all the friendly and helpful staff of Grim's Dyke for making our stay special! All the best

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hajnal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fantastic location but some of the "garden lodge" rooms overlook the carpark and rubbish bins. Ask for a room overlooking the garden. The dinner is pricey and insubstantial but breakfasts are first class even if they do try to rush you. A better dinner was found at the Duck in the Pond.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Edgware Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel

Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing