We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crescent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Reviewed 2 January 2013

stayed here for new years eve very welcoming stayed here before, this is the 3rd time this year lovely room. just round the corner from harrow on the hill town centre, the people are lovely very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthwestJue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Visiting relatives in Harrow, who advised that local hotels were more miss than hit. Found The Crescent on the web at a good price with fair(ish) reviews. It is a series of semi-detached properties linked together with VERY limited parking in front.Gaining access is a problem as you are not given a key put a note outside states'Ring the bell'. Unfortunately the adjoining bell push has been removed.(There is another bell-push inside the porch but new customers do not know this!)
Inside, the 'reception' is a dark dismal area to one side of a totally unused lounge (with adjacent bar which has probably not been open for years).A warren of passage-ways and stairs lead to the various bedrooms on a number of floors. Ours was a good size double with en-suite overlooking the rear garden. It was pleasant with a good bed & fittings and an excellent bathroom. BUT there is an all-pervading aura of decline.
Breakfast is not provided - my mistake, I was sure it was - and only the arrival of the housemaid saved us from sitting in the breakfast room for the rest of the day! Unfortunately she could not speak a word of English and had to telephone the owners - there was no-one around in reception at 9.15am!
This summed up the place. We were concerned to go out for breakfast as with no-ne in reception and the system of no keys, we were unsure if we could get back in!
The 'hotel' is near to the town centre.
If you do need to stay there - go prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRBLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The room had a modern en suite shower,fridge,fan,radiator,fan heater,kettle and safe.
although we did not use the restaurant for breakfast or dinner-as we had an early start-The managers Kamal and Anna had lots of suggestions for takeaway food and also warmed it up in their microwave and permitted us to eat in their breakfast room.
The hotel was very close to a large Tesco-with Costa Coffee and about 5 minutes walk into a shopping centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I booked this hotel for a business trip about 4 weeks ahead of time. I chose it because it was close to where I needed to be and because it said it had parking available on a first come first served basis. A week before I was due to travel, the hotel phoned to inform me that if I was driving I would need to find somewhere else to park, as all their available parking was booked. Apparently it is not first come first served as stated on the booking.com website at all, as some people are able to book a parking space in advance. I cancelled and was left to find somewhere else to stay at very short notice. They should be honest and say up front that parking can be booked but not by "causal" guests.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank HMac186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I was staying here as I needed to work locally the next day before the Tube opened, and for £40 for a single ensuite room I was very satisfied.

The man on reception showed me to my room - a nice touch that makes you feel more welcome than just being told where to go. The room was clean and well-furnished, and included a small fridge, which is something you don't get everywhere. The ensuite bathroom was spotless and very modern, with a good electric shower. I had a road-facing room but it was very quiet, despite being a Saturday night. I missed breakfast as I had to leave at 6am.

It's not a luxury hotel and it's not the most modern (that should be obvious from the low prices!!) but what you do get is a comfortable, clean room in a quiet part of town, helpful staff, and all the usual amenities, for a very good price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank total_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were after a hotel on the outskirts of London that would give us easy access to central London for the last weekend of the Olympics. We chose the Crescent based on location (just over 5 minutes walk from Harrow-on-the-Hill station) and for once we didn't do a Tripadvisor check beforehand.

The hotel (really more of a guest house with a bar) is on a crescent in a residential area. There are several parking spaces available. We arrived mid morning on Saturday and received a warm welcome from a gentleman who we took to be the proprietor. He provided us with a local map and was extremely helpful with directions, etc. We were expected to pay on arrival but that is not an issue as many lodges and hotels have the same policy.

Our room (No. 203) was spacious, spotlessly clean and with a very comfortable king size bed. Tea and coffee making facilities are available with plenty of tea and coffee. Another nice little touch was a small frige with a couple of complimentary bottles of water. There is also a flat screen TV.

Breakfast (full English) is available for an extra £7.50 each and is again good value for money.

When checking out the following morning we asked if it would be okay to leave our car parked outside for the day until we got back from London to which the Manager readily agreed.

Overall, we would say that this hotel represents good value for money. As a previous contributor has already said there are no frills but it is clean and comfortable for a short break - ideal for a quick trip into London. (From leaving the hotel to arriving at Westminster tube station was about 35 minutes!)

We would happily recommend the Crescent for good value budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EddieSinatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A friendly welcome from the owner and the cheerful Anna. Definitely no frills but comfortable and clean for an overnight stay. Yes, had to pay on arrival but no problem cos it meant we didn't need to worry about what time we wanted to leave - simply up and go. Would defo use again and would recommend for cheap digs

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susi-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
1.1 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
0.2 mi away
Travelodge London Harrow Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hindes Hotel
Hindes Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harrow
114 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton London Wembley
Hilton London Wembley
#3 of 12 in Wembley
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel

Address: 58-62 Welldon Crescent, Harrow HA1 1QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range: £45 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crescent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find all of the following and more at our hotel: - Internet WIFI connection in most of the rooms free - High quality personal service - Centrally situated for Wembley, Heathrow and West End - Fax and Photocopying facilities available - Lounge and Bar - Comfortable and well furnished lounge - Pleasant restaurant overlooking gardens - Corporate users welcome - Individually decorated rooms - 21 bedrooms - many with en-suite facilities - Television and satellite in all rooms - Full English breakfast - Fridges in all rooms - Tea / Coffee making facilities We hope our hotel meets all your needs and we look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing