We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, decent budget hotel - would book there again! Apr 2010”
Review of Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crescent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, decent budget hotel - would book there again! Apr 2010”
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I had booked this hotel at VERY short notice after being double-booked elsewhere. After facing tube disruption and taking about an hour & a half from Victoria (usually 45mins to an hour max), the heavens opened and I was looking half-drowned by the time I arrived.
I was greeted by the front-of-house manager (Sal) who I had booked the room the previous night with by phone.
I was shown to my single en-suite room. It was certainly compact, but not an inch was wasted, and I found it to be perfectly adequate for my solo traveller needs.
Breakfast was an enjoyable experience in a dining room with patio doors leading out to the spacious & idyllic back gardens. The kitchen staff were pleasant and helpful, especially one who I later found out was named Alina.
The maid was also efficient, timely & quick - sadly, I did not learn her name to mention her in this review.
The hotel is situated in a leafy suburb in NW Greater London. It is quiet, unassuming, but friendly, courteous & above all has a pleasant atmosphere all round. I was there for a winding-down weekend, to chill out, de-stress and relax. The fact that the hotel was quiet & I never felt harangued or harrassed by staff at any stage meant I could lie down and read a book in the privacy of the room without any problems.
During my 3 night stay, I was asked how things were & if I needed anything, but not in an intrusive or harrassing way. All very pleasant.
On my last night, I got a drink from the reasonably-priced bar, and had a good chat with Sal who proved an engaging & gracious host!

Downsides would be lack of liquid soap in the en-suite (luckily, I had brought shower gel), and the fact that due to having to change hotels at such late notice, accommodation cost me more than originally planned - but as this was not the fault of the Crescent Hotel, I cannot hold them responsible for that... more the fault of the hotel who double-booked me and only told me the day before I was due to check-in! Small grievances though.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark_of_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
11
21
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed in the hotel as a cheap overnight stay before going to Wembley for the Johnstons Paint Final. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by a really friendly receptionist who couldn't do enough for us. She even laughed at my friends poor jokes. We were on two of the top floor rooms which involve two stair cases to climb up. I found, (for London) the rooms to be spacious enough, with a brand new TV fixed to the celing. The bathrooms were a bit cosy, but for £70 we didn't expect luxury!!!! The towels and bedding were freshly laundered and the room was very clean. The receptionist recommended a couple of pubs and restaurant and we made the short walk through Harrow. The town centre is like any small town with the generic chain pubs and restaurants.
On arrival back after our night out we sat in the hotel bar (which is like a big sitting room - lovely after an evening in a chain pub) and chatted to the friendly night receptionist.
Its not luxury - but for £70 its a bargaiin.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campsitechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2009

My husband and I recently visited this hotel. We were offered the choice of two rooms. The top floor room was our choice. It overlooked a beautiful garden. The room was very spacious and clean.The hotel is situated in a quiet strret close to all aminities for central London.It looked like the hotel had recently been decorated and spruced up Friendly staff excellent quality for the cost .We would deffinately stay here again and wholeheartedly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We booked online thru booking.com and was able to get a nice discount 50pounds per night with breakfast included.

The room was clean although a bit small for the 2 of us. There's even a personal ref, which is useless for us. And to think we unplugged it because it's noisy. The TV was hang on the ceiling as we felt we have stiffed neck already. The toilet was a bit small, we couldnt move whenever we take our shower. Plus, we had our late checked in, and starving until we asked for delivery. The receptioned gave us brochure for indian food and have it delivered. All food are spicy. not just spicy but very damn spicy. we could even eat them. Then, we first stayed in one of the hotels in Oxford w/c is very near the city center of London. But when we transfered here, we pay 7pounds for the underground. Which seems like 15pounds added to our hotel bill is the same w/ the hotel in the city.

BUT they cleaned our room everyday and change towels everyday. We have full english breakfast for 3 days. Nice service PLUS the high speed free wifi. although when youre in your room, you have to change network. when youre in the resto downstairs, you have to switch to another network. duh!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stayed here for four days with our grown children and rented three rooms. Upon arrival, we found that they had messed up our reservation and tried to send us to another hotel, under the same ownership. When we threatened to leave, accommodations magically appeared. The hotel is clean, but not immaculate. The bathrooms are ridiculously small. The rooms are basic albeit somewhat scruffy. The breakfasts were adequate and the staff was generally friendly. A walk through a rather “down at the heels” neighborhood and a shopping centre to get to and from the train station is required to get to the hotel. The whole process takes about 45 minutes. If, like us your primary objective is cost, and you don’t really care about the luxuries, this is an adequate choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I loved this hotel immediately. Our room was charming and so comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and clean. Our hosts were always helpful, suggesting amazing restaurants for us and helping me find the local Laundromat. I was very sick when we arrived and they helped me to see a doctor and even leant me money for the cab fare. I was able to relax completely while I was there. The only drawback was the distance from London, although it didn't take too long to get to any of the places we wanted to go.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Good Hotel; Easy to find; only a few minutes from Harrow center but waking up to birds singing instead of traffic!
We dropped our luggage off and parked up. Tube station Harrow on the hill was a few minutes away and only 2 stops from Wembley Park. Used Oyster card, only £2.20 return!
Also on the Metropolitan line straight into London and also goes to St Pancres
Good clean room, could be a little small for some, but plenty of storage; clean bathroom and a safe in the wardrobe; overlooking the garden and no traffic noise.
No lift but only one flight of stairs, lots of corridors and corners as this is 3 houses knocked through.
Good breakfast, cereals followed by full English breakfast.
Very friendly and helpful staff!
Will definitely stay again if going to Wembley and have also recommended to friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hindes Hotel
Hindes Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harrow
105 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel London Wembley
3.0 mi away
Ibis London Wembley
Ibis London Wembley
#6 of 11 in Wembley
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel

Property: Crescent Hotel
Address: 58-62 Welldon Crescent, Harrow HA1 1QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crescent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find all of the following and more at our hotel: - Internet WIFI connection in most of the rooms free - High quality personal service - Centrally situated for Wembley, Heathrow and West End - Fax and Photocopying facilities available - Lounge and Bar - Comfortable and well furnished lounge - Pleasant restaurant overlooking gardens - Corporate users welcome - Individually decorated rooms - 21 bedrooms - many with en-suite facilities - Television and satellite in all rooms - Full English breakfast - Fridges in all rooms - Tea / Coffee making facilities We hope our hotel meets all your needs and we look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing