We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish and chips in London”
Review of Skipjacks

Skipjacks
Ranked #15 of 351 Restaurants in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Above opening hours are for the restaurant. Our TAKE AWAY section is open all day from Monday to Thursday, 11:30am-11pm and on Friday and Saturday from 11:30am-11:30pm
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips in London”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Amazing quality. Fantastic fresh fish and great service On the takeaway,they will cook the fish freshly for you if you ask. It takes 7 mins and they will show you the freshest fish before they cook it. This is a place who know about fish and know the difference between fresh and frozen and line caught as opposed to farmed. Skipjacks only uses fresh wild fish and it is always delicious.
The restaurant is excellent, grilled fish is a real speciality. The guys in he restaurant are great and offer excellent friendly service. Best fish soup also.
Great value for money and really good portions. My father worked in the fish market in for many years, so we have grown up with good fish. Ever time we take him out he wants to go to Skipjacks, which we are always happy to do.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    30
    2
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Fish”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is the best fish restuarant around. The food is great and the staff Leno and Andraus are just superb. Well done. Charles and family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overrated and pricey”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Having been brought up in the east end I'm used to a good quality friendly chippy. When I moved to Kenton skipjacks became my local chippy. Having read glowing reviews I was looking forward to trying it out but it was a major let down. The portions were small, the chips dry and to top it off they have the nerve to charge more than the average chippy for the pleasure of being served by them!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vtailor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore, Middx
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OVERRATED”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Not sure how discerning other people are, but we must be... Had few take away fish and chips from the adjoining chip shop, only to be disappointed each time, except ONCE, when the cod was very nice and moist as it should be. The other times, it has been very dry and overpriced for the quality. Chips have been good, but not consistently.
Only eaten in the 'eat in' bit once, not memorable
I think the proprietors are a little 'smug' that they charge more than other establishments of this type - for quality that does not reflect the prices.
Personally, I'd rather pay more and have fish and chips at The Ivy, where it's always absolutely superb!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEST FISH AND CHIPS EVER AND "EXCELLENT PEOPLE WORKING"”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The cleanest fish and chips ever visited and also the quality of the fish fresh as if just pulled out of the sea

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lalkunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipjacks also viewed

Northolt, Greater London
Harrow, Greater London
 
Harrow, Greater London
Edgware, Greater London
 

Been to Skipjacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing