We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Ever Disappoints”
Review of Restaurant Tristan

Restaurant Tristan
Ranked #2 of 166 Restaurants in Horsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$60
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Housed in a 16th Century building in the historic town of Horsham, Restaurant Tristan opened in 2008 and has been a firm favourite with local foodies ever since. Inside, original wooden beams contrast with contemporary style to create an intimate setting for lunch or dinner. Chef and Proprietor Tristan Mason worked in top restaurants like The Greenhouse and Mirabelle before becoming Head Chef at The Hare where he achieved his first Michelin Star. The menu at Restaurant Tristan is predominantly British with some creative French influences, with dishes like terrine of pheasant and turbot with truffle risotto taking centre stage. Ingredients are locally sourced wherever possible and the extensive wine list is designed to complete this truly unforgettable dining experience.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Ever Disappoints”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Again the best food, fantastic presentation, inspired service and more points using Amex :) seriously the best!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    86
    35
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A superb gastronomic experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited Tristan's on a Saturday evening for a special birthday meal. Booking is essential.
It is not a large restaurant, which gives it a lovely atmosphere. Our party all had the Tasting menu - a set menu of 5 courses each served with a different especially picked glass of wine (there is an option to have the food only). The food was excellent and the wines complimented the flavours beautifully, and were not wines we would have chosen ourselves. The presentation was wonderful. The waiting staff were attentive and very helpful, and happy to offer an alternative to the seafood items for one of our group. The whole meal was topped off by an excellent raspberry souffle.
It is not a place to go for a quick meal - that is the point; you go for the full food experience, and so you are not rushed, but given time to savour each course. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and the variety of flavours in each course, and would highly recommend it for special occasions. We just need an excuse to go back again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobJoAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stary Delight”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Event: Sons 20th birthday and something special was required!
Welcome was friendly making you feel comfortable and relaxed.
Interior, an old beam venue with modern decor, tables not too close together so as to have a bit of space. It was busy yet all went smoothly from our perspective.
We chose the 5 course menu where each course was delightful, interesting and artistic even. My sons words not mine. The wine was well chosen with each course where I could not have selected better.
All in all a very successful evening and this venue comes highly recommended and well deserving its Michelin rating

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Horst L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent meal for a special occasion”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was an amazing place for a romantic meal for my 40th birthday. Beautifully presented food and combinations that really challenge your ideas of what will go well together. Needless to say they all worked amazingly well. Great wine choices and loved the place inside very cosy and intimate.
Not the cheapest of places however well worth every penny and will be booking again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Horshamsezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous, with caring staff”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Following a lovely Xmas present my wife and I went for a romantic dinner.

The tasting menu was fantastic, adjusted as needed for veggies and other special requests. The wine was lovely and intriguing - choices I would never have thought of that worked beautifully.

Service was relaxed, but excellent.

Frankly a lovely evening and we will definitely be going back.

Plus for tasting menus for two, wine flight for one at a Michelin starred restaurant to have change back from £190 was fab!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TristanLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Tristan also viewed

Lower Beeding, Horsham
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to Restaurant Tristan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing