We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Banks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banks Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Ilford
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this because it was a cheap night with breakfast and some of the reviews had been positive. However reality has a different take on things. The room was shockingly small, hotter than the devils kitchen and poorly fitted carpets and a leaning wardrobe.

Breakfast was rubbish. The shower was rubbish. Staying it Stratford next time.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Scoobycarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Given the Banks a poor rating, which perhaps seems a tad harsh. However to rate it average would be stretching it. First of all, this place isn't a hotel, it's a B&B. The staff are polite enough to be fair. The problem here is the standard of the place. It needs updating and a high professional clean from top to bottom to even begin to feel like a hotel. The bathroom in our room had been recently refurbished but it hadn't been finished to a high standard. No hot water in the sink taps late at night. You could tell they'd tried to make an effort with the place but it had a slightly bleak feel to it. The room was cleaned to a point of acceptability but the window edges frames and sills could do with a good bleaching down and repaint, the net curtains didn't hang properly. Permanent footprint in the shower. Carpet was dark but always wore socks as wouldn't feel comfortable walking bare footed on it, not even to get out of bed. No bedside lamp or lighting available. Broken headboard on one of the beds but the beds were comfy. Wifi not working on the second nite - I presume it was turned off and no one on reception to ask about it. Breakfast is ok but they don't keep it warm on a hot plate so less frequently eaten items like tomatoes were lukewarm/cold. But they do cook bacon, sausage, egg continuously to keep up with demand. A £10 key deposit refundable at check-out was taken, but they are selective over who pays this I noticed. £5 in a taxi to Gants Hill the nearest underground. Parking outside is free. An overpriced B&B is what it is, when you consider how much a Holiday Inn costs and places such as Premier Inn, you could get better for your money, yes even in London/Greater London.

Room Tip: Ok to lay your head for the night, but if you were to spend time here it would be depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithy486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights 7-8 march. Was dreading staying here following reviews. We were in a triple room. Room very basic but clean. There was no shade covering the light bulb, The window was broken. The room was too small to be a triple room, just enough room for a double but they squeezed in a single too.
As a family we had booked 5 rooms for the stay and all were just as bad.
The tea/coffee facilities are kept on the top of the drawers but can only be plugged in using the socket on the opposite side of the room, meaning kettle on the floor.
Heating was on full so returning to the room late Saturday evening was like entering a sauna.
Staff friendly enough but not very helpful. Had to ask 3 times for a spare pillow- and finally refused to move until I was given one.
Breakfast was not the best, but edible. Serve yourself from a buffet.
Would expect far superior accommodation for what was paid for. The £29 we pay for rooms at premier inn are pure luxury compared to the Banks Hotel.
Hotel conveniently situated though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidi-ann75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This stay was on a Saturday night after a trip to London. The room was much cleaner than in the past. Staff polite. The main problem was the noise coming from the "banqueting suite" opposite the road. It was impossible to sleep until the event finished due to the loud music. Although my room was directly opposite the source of the music, other family members were at the back and the other end of the hotel and were equally affected. This is not the fault of the hotel but it makes the hotel a poor choice if sleep is hoped for.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank 177MikeS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Linen was clean.
The whole room (hotel) needs seriously up dating.
Broken chair, tv hanging off the wall!
Walls stained!
Bathroom felt dirty. Shower really pants!! - hardly any power.

The dining area/breakfast was ok.
Wouldn't return - get what you pay for!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kerryturner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A couple of friends and I stayed in this hotel for New Year's Eve and we found the standards very poor. We were greeted by a very unfriendly receptionist and staff in general. I booked two triple rooms on the website however the receptionist responded that in fact these were not available and we would be given two doubles and a twin room. The rooms were very mediocre, there was no hairdryer and some of the drawers were broken, for £40 a night I was expecting a lot more. Two of my friends also noted that they had problems sleeping because of the noise levels. Overall I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dymphna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ilford
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Inn Hotel
Britannia Inn Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ilford
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 14 in Ilford
156 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Budget London Barking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Avenue, Ilford IG1 4RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range: £33 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Banks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing