We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff, nice place”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The staff here are great, all of them. They are always friendly and they really look after me. A big thank you to all of them. I can highly recommend this hotel. The accommodation is always spotlessly clean. From a genuine guest. Roger

Room Tip: I have always had a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rl218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    181
    117
    43
    43
See reviews for
95
151
57
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here on the 8th August 2014 for one night, we booked a double room but one side was pushed up against the wall so if that person wanted the bathroom they have to disturb the other person. We went to the dogs in Romford for the evening and although it states they have on site parking they don't have many spaces, only those on the forecourt. We got back to the hotel after 11:00pm to find no spaces, I went and asked the reception staff where we could park and they said if there were no spaces out front we could park on a single yellow line but would have to move it by 6.30 the following morning. We had spent the day shopping and at the dogs so we were knackered only to have to set our alarm for the following morning at 6.20 am to move the car for fear of getting a ticket or towed away!! After driving round for 10 minutes and still no spaces on the forecourt we had to pay at a parking meter to park around the corner. We were awake by this time so wasn't much point going back to sleep so we showered, packed our stuff and went for breakfast. Lucky we had got up so early cause the breakfast room wasn't very big and I could imagine you would have to wait a while if everyone came done for breakfast at once. The staff were pleasant enough but we will not be re-booking here in any hurry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western London Ilford Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sir!
Thank you very much for your time and feedback.
I am very sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the parking. As you mentioned in a right way the parking is limited in our hotel. Let me reassure you that the management is trying to make sure that there are enough parking spaces for majority of the guests. Taking the opportunity I am pleased to inform you that we have additional parking which is free of charge for Best Western Ilford Hotel guests within 2 min walk from the property. Please kindly enquiry at the reception and they will be more than happy to issue the parking permit.
I hope you will give us another chance to serve you and we will be able to change the negative impression on a more positive one.
Kind Regards,
Sasha Bukina
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilford hotels

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is the worst hotel stay I have experienced. If you are thinking of staying here, you will want to change your mind very quickly!

To list the negative points of this hotel:
* Uncomfortable beds with springs that dig into your back.
* Double room bed pushed up against a wall so one person will disturb the other if they need to go to the bathroom.
* The windows in the hotel do not stay open past half an inch, so if its a hot day your room will double into a sauna you can do nothing about.
* Double rooms so tiny they would be better suited as a single room.

If you book at the nearby Best Western Greater London hotel you are also likely to end up here so be warned to avoid both of these Best Westerns!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xp132476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western London Ilford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,
First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback!
I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room you were accommodated in. Please note that as soon as you let us know, we can always provide you with a room that will suit your needs, as we have rooms with various sizes.
I have noted your concern in regards with the window problem. Our windows have child safety locks installed therefore you have to press the buttons on the side and the window will be opened wide if needed.

I really hope that you will stay once again with us, so we can try and improve your opinion of the hotel.
If I can be in assistance any further please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind Regards,
Sasha Bukina
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good value for a hotel within easy reach of London We stayed here to go to O2 and would use again. Breakfast was not to bad but very busy and not a lot of room in Breakfast room so you need to pick your times

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Lance E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western London Ilford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for the kind feedback!
I am really happy to hear you are delighted with the location of our hotel and the value for money as well.
Indeed our breakfast room is not very spacious, but the necessary measures have been taken. We have extended breakfast hours and added extra seating outside in the back garden.
We would be really happy if we have the chance to welcome you once again!

Kind Regards,
Sasha Bukina
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I travel all over the world and spend approx. 60 nights a year in hotels, which are all of a very good standard.

My son and I needed to stay in this Best Western for four nights and were both very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, the room was small but adequate and (most importantly) all of the staff were very kind, courteous and friendly.

We were greeted with juice and/or tea & coffee on arrival, a fridge had been requested for our room and they bent over backwards to provide one and all of the staff were just delightful. Especially Victoria, Tayyab and Elena.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western London Ilford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mr Martin,

Thank you so much for the lovely words!
I am really happy to hear that your expectations were exceeded positively. Please be aware that our front desk staff is quite excited that you were delighted with their services and you even remembered them by name (which says quite a lot).
Please let me know if you wish to stay once again, so we can provide you with nothing but exceptional personal care!

Kind Regards,
Sasha Bukina
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed here as a family regularly over the last few years and have only ever had one problem over this time, which was dealt with satisfactorily. However, our latest stay here will be our last. We were shown to our room at 1pm and at this time, the fire alarm was ringing. We returned after a full day in London hoping for a full nights sleep. However, throughout the night from 12.30 am until 3.30 am, we were kept awake by the fire alarm going off-5 times to be exact. At no point did staff ensure we were safe-we did not see or hear from any members of staff. I did ring reception, and, after being told all 5 times were false alarms due to a faulty system, that the hotel manager would speak with us before we left. On check out, we explained that we would appreciate a partial refund on the room rate we had paid, for the inconvenience of the fire alarm being faulty and repeatedly sounding in the middle of the night. We were told this was not possible and that the fire alarm was set off due to people smoking in a room, despite being told several times smoking was not allowed. The manager, Sasha, then went on to explain it had been difficult to ask the smokers to leave in the middle of the night! I then asked to see the hotels fire safety certificate only to be told this was a secret document and she was not allowed to show it to anyone!? We were shocked by this reply. We left totally amazed by how a hotel can actually operate under such circumstances and treat loyal customers in this way.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
0.3 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
0.3 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#5 of 15 in Ilford
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 15 in Ilford
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
295 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western London Ilford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western London Ilford Hotel

Property: Best Western London Ilford Hotel
Address: 3-5 Argyle Road, Ilford IG1 3BH, England (Formerly Best Western Ilford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western London Ilford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ilford Hotel is situated in the heart of ILFORD Town Centre. A brand new Hotel built to truly international standards. The Best Western Ilford Hotel has "Premier Quality" Rooms all en-suite with power showers and some with baths. Stylish setting with spacious air conditioned reception and lounge. All rooms with high speed internet access, state of the art Media Hub rooms & multi-media facilities that are very rare in UK. The Best Western Ilford Hotel is very close to major attractions, we are 20 mins away from Central London via (Tube/Rail), 10 mins away from Olympic Village and stratford station (Car/Taxi/Bus)15 mins away from Liverpool Street train station, 10 mins away from London City Airport and 20 mins away from London Stansted Airport, 1 min away from British Rail (ILFORD station) (walking), 5 min away from historically famous Ilford golf club (walking), 10 min away from Excel Exhibition centre (Car/Taxi/Bus), 10 min away from O2 Arena. (Car/Taxi/Bus), 1 min away from ILFORD Town centre and Exchange shopping plaza. (walking) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western London Ilford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ilford Hotel Ilford
Best Western London Ilford Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing