We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 28th december,we arrived to check in at3pm and were seen to straight away , which was a nice experience.After which we went for the evening,when we got back to the hotel late at nightwe found the room to have been recently refurbished.
The bed was really comfortable and we slept very well.
The next morning we found shower with only coldwater,when reported to the reception , it was quickly resolved to our satisfaction.
I would certainly recommend this hotel if you need to be in the east of london.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naresh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    27
    15
    10
    16
See reviews for
30
18
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This is not The Waldorf Astoria it is surprise surprise a travelodge. A very well positioned one, with a very comfortable bed, a decent telly and a kick out time of midday. Most importantly the staff that work there are incredibly helpful and nothing was a problem.

Nuff said

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty standard Travelodge where we used a family room that was clean, accessible and spacious. Location is pretty good for Gants Hill (and Redbridge) Underground.

Main gripes about the place:
(1) The car parking is a joke, with only 16 parking spots (of with a quarter are handicapped)... clearly insufficient. We had to use the next door Harvester car park to unpack, a big money spinner at £1 per hour 24/7... not sustainable for Travelodge guests. The Travelodge guy just shrugged his shoulders on alternative options. Luckily we got a spot in the end.
(2) The hotel has 2 travel cots for c.35 rooms. We asked for one when booking, which the guy claimed we hadn't. As a result, both had gone when we asked. Fortunately, experience has taught us to keep our own one in the car for this scenario, but it's hardly ideal. Secondly, only 2 towels put in the room for 4 people in total.
(3) Not much air in the room. Don't forget your bottled water!
(4) The Travelodge representative didn't bother going the mile, let alone the extra mile.

Finally, tried to get a takeaway from the Harvester next door but they couldn't do it as they had run out of takeaway boxes!! Given that they were evidently short-staffed it was a better thing to go to the Chinese takeaway across the road, which was nice.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BG1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay BG1500. When a guest has requested a cot for their stay , we expect it to be in their room prior to their arrival so we are truly sorry to learn that this did not happen. We also ask that our housekeeping staff provide the correct amount of towels for our guests so it is regrettable that there were only two towels in your room on this occasion. We also expect our staff to provide great levels of service and we are sorry to learn you found them unhelpful during your stay. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the hotel management team so that they are able to address the issues you have raised and our staff can be reminded of the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilford hotels

Islington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was visiting friends nearby on Christmas Eve and relatives (also fairly near) on Christmas Day, and given the good rate I worked out that it would be as cheap to stay here than take a taxi home that evening and back again the following day! The hotel was very clean and everything worked as it should. It was also surprisingly quiet and I slept very well. There was a bathtub as well as a shower. I was glad I did not bring my car as the car park was small and seemed to be full later on. It would have been possible to park in nearby roads during the holiday period, but I suspect that would be more difficult on a working day.
It is very near Gants Hill Tube Station so easy to get into central London.

Room Tip: It is very quiet at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iggyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I had stopped at this hotel previously, but this time I found it had been refurbished, making it even more attractive than before. The room was comfortable and quiet, and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. There was free parking too, and a tube station a few minutes walk away. it was ideal for 3 days while I enjoyed some of London's attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in November. We were not looking forward to it as we had read the reviews!
What nonsense! We had a lovely reception from the staff and were given a lovely quiet room which had just been refurbished. Nothing was too much trouble for the ladies on the desk All were really friendly and chatty each time we went in and out. They were much nicer that the usual gormless youths encountered at other lodges!
We had excellent room service with endless towels being delivered each day. The cleaning staff do their best every day.
We were very pleasantly surprised to find that each evening when we arrived back in the room that someone had been in and put on the heating and closed the curtains for us!
Above the usual call of Travelodge duty!!!
The lodge is well situated for the underground, but remains quiet and peaceful during the week.
We stayed Tuesday to Saturday morning, so cannot comment on Saturday night.
Prices here are good during the week too.
There are some brilliant restaurants in Gants Hill too!
I'm writing this review to correct the negative comments left by others, possibly to gain compensation if they didn't get extra teabags!
All the staff were honest and decent people!
Please don't be put off this lodge by the disgruntled few!
Remember, most people only write negative comments to get something back!
We'll go back as it was a great location for us and easy to get into London from every day.
Well done everyone who works there!
We recommend it wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilford hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#5 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Ilford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#7 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill

Property: Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill
Address: Beehive Lane, Gants Hill, Ilford IG4 5DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge - London Ilford Gants Hill Hotel London
Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing