We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glass of water as a welcome gift!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Greater London Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ilford
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is a twin to the nearby brand hotel, and seems to be run by the same management, which I consider as a good point. I like about this new property, it follows the similar appearance and even furniture. Everything was ok, even the simple breakfast, and this one is easily reachable from the Ilford station. However there are not many things to do in the hotel during daytime, nothing like a working room for the mobile citynomadies like some hotels do have. The price they charge in my mind does well compensate the distance from Central London, and commuting daily with the local train is such a good experience too. The only thing I was not so happy about was the welcome drink they provided as the member benefit, which was consisting of a can of water on the checkin table, which I could do a glass from to take a sip. Well, its better than nothing, but still left me wondering how valuable they see their guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

It was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is really nice and comfortable. The employees were very friendly and gentle. The room was very comfortable, although a little hot and not air condicionado.A location is good and the peqeno morning breakfast is quite varied.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western Greater London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Unfortunately, we here in the middle of the worst heat wave and the rooms have no air conditioning, but the hotel provides fans for a small deposit.
The hotel is about 500 yards from the railway station.
The connections into London departs quite often and takes about 20 minutes, the buses also quite often, but takes a little longer on the other hand you get to see more of the surroundings plus it's a bit cheaper.

The staff is friendly and service oriented. The breakfast is okay, from a British point of view, but not from a Scandinavian perspective.

I would definitely check in here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western Greater London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for a lovely feedback! It’s a great pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for the staff praise. They truly try their best to make the stay of each and every guest memorable and enjoyable.
Good to know that the location of the property suited your needs.
I have noted your comment in regards to the breakfast. I will definitely have a word with the Chef and hopefully with your next visit breakfast will be more Scandinavian orientated.
Hope to see you soon,
Regards,
Sasha Bukina
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you like a good breakfast DO NOT stay at this hotel, a full English is not an Option! Poached eggs took 15 mins when we were the only 2 in the dining room, and when they came they were rock hard. As two women we wanted a twin bedded room, okay we had two double but poked under the eaves and baking hot with only a tiny window one of the worst nights ever in a hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western Greater London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Madame,
Thank you very much for such an important feedback and I am truly sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay.
Let me assure you that the breakfast is always prepared to the guest’s personal preferences and I hope that a future stay will change your opinion to a more positive one.
Regarding your comments about the room, you were allocated a family room with two double beds which we thought could be better. I am sorry to hear that you did not like it. We can always offer you a different room that will suit your needs if you enquire at the reception.
Please contact me further, so I can personally make sure that your next stay will be more enjoyable.
Kind Regards,
Sasha Bukina
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights, 2 adults and 2 small children for our first visit in London. The hotel is placed a short walk from Ilford station, with great connections to the center of London, and a good shopping mall close by. We booked twin rooms since we were travelling with small children, and were placed in rooms on the 3 floor. With no aircondition or Wifi acces in the rooms we asked for a transfer, and we got that but it ment placement in rooms far apart but now on the 1 floor. It made the heat better, but ment a lot of noice from outside and several rooms between us, not what we dreamt of but still acceptable.
Regarding the breakfast I have only a few good things to say. The staff was kind, and if we arrived when the breakfast was served at 8, maybe we could have had more choises, but we arrived 15 to 30 mins later and found no place to sit and foods that had run out. If it had happend only once it would not have ment much, but it happend every morning because the hotel had rented out their breakfast room to some conference, and left all the hotel guests to find seating in the reception. Breakfast in the reception...really! That is really poor judgement in high season. I would think that the guest staying would have higher priority. The breakfast served was not impressive, turkey rasher instead of bacon, some dry and hard sausages and eggs that seamed to be boiled however ordered.
We had an acceptable stay but I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelleMoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western Greater London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you very much for the time to send us this review!
Good to know that that you liked the area and the location of the hotel.
However, I am really sorry to hear that you couldn’t enjoy the breakfast to the fullest and it was disturbed each morning during your stay, even though we are preparing the breakfast for each guest as tailored as possible. As you mentioned in a right way, our guests are the priority for us and the management has taken a decision not to serve the breakfast in Coffee Shop Area any more.
I really hope that you will contact me further for a future booking in order to make sure that your next stay will be more pleasant and enjoyable than before.
Kind Regards,
Sasha Bukina
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend in June. Room small but clean, ditto bathroom.
No Air con hence v hot at night, but fans available for a refundable deposit. Just a couple of mins to station, (Liverpool st. about 10-15 mins).
Main downside for us was no bacon in the full English breakfast, turkey rashers instead, and the sausage seemed to be vegetarian. Prob for religious reasons... but there was a Wetherspoons just two mins away serving a proper 'full English'.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank diazcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western Greater London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you very much for the feedback from your stay!
I really appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room.
I am sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to your expectations. Although we do not advertise for English breakfast, I will speak to the Chef and see if the Menu can be changed.
Hopefully we will see you soon in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Sasha Bukina
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
0.4 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
0.1 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 14 in Ilford
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Signature Hotel London - Ilford
0.3 mi away
Britannia Inn Hotel
Britannia Inn Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ilford
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Ilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Greater London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Greater London Hotel

Address: 60 Cranbrook Road, Ilford IG1 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range: £36 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Greater London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to City of London - the financial centre of the world and the largest city in Europe. BEST WESTERN Greater London Hotel is located within M25 and is 15 minutes away from Centre of London via train/tube. Property is newly built in 2013 with the intention in providing the best comfort and satisfaction to the guests. We are 10 min away from Excel exhibition Centre and Olympic Village via car. Property is based in Ilford Town Centre opposite the train station and few steps away from the shopping complex. Ilford was announced as the fastest-growing tourist destination in Europe by Trip Advisor. The Hotel is beautifully decorated with crystal balls chandeliers, Roman Pillars and Chesterfield Sofa Lounge and Air Conditioned Reception gives the impression of elite, class and sophistication. Accommodation comprises of modern en-suite rooms with facilities for all. Amenities include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet Access, Telephone, Heating, Safe deposit boxes and 24 hours opened reception. Best Western Greater London Hotel is a perfect choice for business meetings and conferences. Our meeting room offers a unique interior with natural daylight and all the facilities you need. Relax with cup of coffee and sandwiches in our coffee bar. A warm and friendly service will sure make your stay one to remember. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. Things to do and see in London Best Western Greater London Hotel is situated just 1 minute walking from Ilford Train Station and 7 minutes by bus from Gants Hill underground station on the Central Line, offering quick access to Stratford Olympic Village and city of London. From the sight to shops the capital has lots to see and to do. Things to do in Ilford Culture: • Valentines Park and Mansion • Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park • Orbit • Kenneth More Theatre Shopping: • Exchange shopping mall • High Street • Stratford West Field Shopping Centre Sports & Exhibitions: • O2 Arena • ExCel Exibition Centre • Olympic Stadium • Ilford Cricket Club Best Western Greater London Hotel at glance. Whatever is your occasion to visit capital, Best Western Greater London Hotel is perfect place to stay. This brand new accommodation is ideally located, so you can enjoy quality time here or in Central London. You will be less than 1 minute away from Ilford Train Station, 10 minutes away from London city airport and 15 minutes away from London Liverpool Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Greater London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Greater London Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing