We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable good hotel”
Review of Cranbrook Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cranbrook Hotel
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An affordable good hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is very close to Ilford train station, and its only about 25 mins away from the centre by rail and tube. There are lots of good quality shops near and a market. The staff were very friendly and cheerful. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Breakfast consisted of full English breakfast which was good. A few minutes away by walk there's a lovely park. The only negative things I can say about this hotel is the poor wifi, and we found the restaurant is a little small but all in all I would recommend this hotel as it is cheap and very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa-Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Cranbrook Hotel for your stay. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed all the facilities provided to you during your stay with us. Your feedback is very important for us as it helps a lot to improve the standards and comfort according to your expectations.
Taking notice of your review we have installed new routers to maximize the speed of wifi, and we are planning to enlarge our breakfast room so that it can accommodate all our honorable guests at a busy period. We hope to see you again with us at Cranbrook Hotel.
Thanks

Regards
Manager
BILAL JAMIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    45
    56
    31
    56
See reviews for
75
40
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St.Poelten
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

have often taken small Groups to this Hotel in the last 3 years and was always happy about this decision. Sure - the building is old, you can hear some of the doors, in many bathrooms there are still bathtubs with showers, so a bit difficult to climb in - BUT: a very good Price including really good breakfast, staff is totally friendly, Name a Problem and they will help to solve it, rooms are quite spacious and well equipped, Wlan is working. Rooms are well heated with the Chance to controll the heating yourself, and from the Station it is just 12 minutes to Liverpool Street Station with a Train approx every 12 minutes. A very good tipp is - Stratford Park and Shopping Center - just in the next district! will go there again in 2 weeks and looking very much Forward to it

Room Tip: I always ask for a room in the main building, they are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenmary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Cranbrook Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed all the provided facilities during your stay with us at Cranbrook Hotel. We try our best to provide our honorable guests the best service we can. We are looking forward to welcome you again at Cranbrook Hotel.
Thanks

Regards
Manager
BILAL JAMIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As per usual, the negative reviews left for this hotel had me expecting a visit to Josef Fritzel's underground basement for the weekend - OVERDRAMATIC. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. Budget hotel, right? So it bothers me that all the negative reviewers are expecting something other than this. Good alternative to a Holiday Inn/Travel Lodge, 5-10 minute walk from Ilford Railway Station and there are lots of shops and pubs nearby if you want to go out in the local area. The breakfast was ok, sausages, hash browns, beans, mushrooms, eggs, cereal, fruit and yoghurt on offer as well as your fruit juices, tea and coffee. If I'm back in London I wouldn't have a problem returning to this hotel, it was suitable for it's purpose and I was really pleased with it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewShig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for choosing Cranbrook Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed all the provided facilities during your stay with us at Cranbrook Hotel. We try our best to provide our honorable guests the best service we can. We wish to welcome you again at Cranbrook Hotel.
Thanks

Regards
Mannager
BILAL JAMIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I knew I wasn't in for luxury when I booked this hotel, but I wasn't prepared for this dump.

The reception staff were pleasant and friendly, but none of the other staff we saw were. The room was basic, which was to be expected. However, the bathroom was filthy (we both opted not to use the shower, because it was so grimy) and there was writing on the walls. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable.

The smoke alarm outside our room beeped incessantly, and the doors all squeak like you wouldn't believe, so we were woken up every time someone else entered or left their room.

The included breakfast had been left out to go cold, and the apple juice they served us was off.

I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for choosing Cranbrook Hotel for your stay. We apologize about the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Your reviews are very important for us as they help us a lot to improve the standards and comfort according to your expectation.
Taking notice of your review we are doing a renovation in our hotel and hopefully you will not be facing the same problems again with us. We wish to see you again at Cranbrook Hotel.
Thanks

Regards
Manager
BILAL JAMIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilford hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were initially booked into the Cranbrooks sister hotel the Park Hotel to be told as we tried to check in that the room wasn't fit for use and we were to be relocated to the Cranbrook. As it was only 5 minutes away this wasn't a problem.

If you are looking for any kind of luxury - forget it. We were allocated a family room which was in a seperate building to the main hotel. The bathroom was very spartan, the carpet had its own ecosystem of stains and the kitchen area could have benefited from a nuclear blast.

But, the hotel is cheap and if you are looking for a cheap break and not too worried about a good 20 minute walk through Valentines Park to Gants Hill tube its fine as a base (somewhere to sleep) if visiting London. The staff are exceptionally friendly and although the room as described before was grotty - they really did make a real effort to clean it.

Breakfast was surprisingly nice despite the lack of pork on offer and plenty of it. Parking was no problem at all.

You get what you pay for, if you are looking for a hotel then this isn't it but as a hostel or simple bed and breakfast it does the job. If you are on a budget I suspect you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pricey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for staying with us at Cranbrook Hotel. We really apologize if any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We try our best to provide our honorable guests the best service we can. As we are located in the Ilford so it would have been better to use Ilford train station which is just 5 mins walk away from us. We hope to see you again at Cranbrook Hotel.
Thanks

Regards
Manager
BILAL JAMIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Arrived Saturday 1st feb to the cranbrook. Reception staff were pleasant and told us room would be ready in 15 mins. This turned into approx half an hour. The room was tired and old with a double and a single squeezed into it. It did boast a fairly what looked like recently refurbished bathroom and a modern flat screen tv. And it did have tea and coffee making facilities although you had to plug the kettle into an extension lead as the double bed blocked the wall socket. Also there was no milk provided.
At the entrance to the annex which was where our room was located there was a light switch without a cover and bare wires hanging out of it. The other major complaint I'd have about this hotel was that they didn't seem to cater for western palettes in the breakfast offering turkey bacon and beef sausages for their full English breakfast! I'm glad it was only for one night and basically a place to sleep and im thinking they perhaps should add an s into the name so it becomes the cranbrook hoStel as opposed to hotel. And please rac and aa take away your recommended status for the love of sweet Jesus!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffy435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for choosing Cranbrook Hotel for your stay. We apologize about the inconvenience caused during your stay but you should had informed the reception so that they would had moved your room.
Like many buildings in London our hotel is a Victorian style building and it’s well maintained. We are health and safety compliant and we meet all health and safety regulations. We wish to see you again at Cranbrook Hotel.
Thanks

Regards
Manager
BILAL JAMIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
0.2 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#851 of 1,067 in London
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
295 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
10.9 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbrook Hotel

Property: Cranbrook Hotel
Address: 22-24 Coventry Road, Ilford IG1 4QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cranbrook Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cranbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranbrook Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing