We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average”
Review of St. Georgio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Georgio Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An average”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was a first for this area, parking was a problem but we were aware of that from the hotel website, the noise and bass from the nightclub below spoilt what would have been a good stay.The breakfast included was vey good and plenty of it. The room we had was big, bit tired, shower head like many hotels neede a bit of adjustment, why the cleaning staff never check them I`ll never know. Beds Okay a few creaks. Handy for wher we wanted to be so no real complaints, a few good restaurants locally for the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the Disco club below!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shalimar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    156
    123
    44
    39
See reviews for
83
187
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

no doubt this hotel is a big joke,we paid for double room for1 nights and when we arrived it was morning and receptionist was half sleeping and angry mood.we were given a key after paying deposit !that was okay.!We went to the room and room was not clean. and smell was coming from room. i again came down to reception but the women was busy on mobile and replied i dont have solution to reduce smell.oh my luck, what i can say?t.The bathroom was so dirty and the small in whole room.
we hardly spend nights and i strongly request all guest that dont waste money here.
The picture are vey nice, but real life everything looks dirty, old, horrible.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jolca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
The fact that we take the payment on check-in is part of our hotel policy.
We take the credit card prior only to secure the booking.
The room is inspected prior check-in by our Head Housekeeper and also during a stay over daily.
We are sorry that we could not move your room and had to experience this unpleasant situation.
You did stay in May and the incident happened with a staff member who is not anymore employed by the company.
Regarding the receptionist attitude which is not acceptable we do understand your position and feeling.
Actions has been taken.
If you would like discuss this matter further with us please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards

Rebecca Limoan
Assistant Manager
St Georgio Hotel
Tel: 0208 554 4411
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilford hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Staying for one night in a standard double room on 2 nd floor cost 89 per night
My colleague staying in 3 rd floor room

On check in they demanded ID ( which is a first for me in uk ) when i asked why was told its the owners rules, go figure?
The lift in reception is broken and the corridors are dimly lit

The room stinks of damp and the bathroom is the smallest posdible with the tiniest shower and no bath

On returning back to the hotel from eating out we decided to have a drink on the patio outside only to be told after taking our order and sitting down next to 4 guys drinking that you cant drink outside and we had to come into the bar area

We asked why 4 guys could sit there and was told they are different , when pushed the poor waitress told us these are the owners !!

I cannot nelieve the hypocrisy of these people to blatantly sit there when paying guests are treated like second class citizens
i never try to be overally critical With any hotel and can accept minor issues ( please look at my other 40 plus reviews)
However this hotel has very intrusive security cameras, ( I literally mean everywhere)with a tv in the bar illustrating these work ,demands for ID AND terrible smelly rooms

The locks inside the rooms dont work and overall there is a feeling of insecurity and intrusion

I aporeciate at this price in london you get what you pay for but for the first time i would urge you to stay away and stay in the travelodge in Ilford at 60 gbp ( 2 other colleagues are staying there on the same night with no complaints)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Assistant Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Christina,

Please find below my response review for Tripadvisor:

Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to apologize for all of the inconvenience experienced during your stay.
The policy of the our hotel requires to ask for an ID upon check-in for security reason.
The CCTV cameras are ensuring the protection of our guests and the possibility for the management to act in an efficient way with the authorities in case of incident.
The lift was out of order for Health and Safety reason ,we do understand the discomfort caused by this incident but the safety of our clients is the most important to us.
The room that you did book was a standard room equipped with an en suite shower as we do advertised and inform our client upon making their booking with us.
None of our guests are treated second class citizens regardless the type of room booked.
We are put in some point in a unfair position as we did contacted you regarding another review on a different website.


Rebecca Limoan
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Staff really helpful and friendly. Tube almost next to the hotel so access to London very convenient. Good value for money. Loved the cake and shake cafe across the road.

Room Tip: Front rooms on busy road, rear quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stopped here for one night while passing through. Check in was fine. Parking is very limited but managed to find a suitable park designated to the hotel. Noticed the lift area on our floor had the distinct odour of marijuana which was a bit dodgy. Room was very small with VERY creaky floorboards. Bathroom was small also but very clean and pleasant to the eye. It happened to be a hot night so we opened the windows... only to realise there was another window behind that window!! So we had a very stuffy night. Walls are also VERY thin! We had an extremely loud family staying in the room next door and were kept awake most of the night by loud laughter. Breakfast wasn't to a great standard but all the staff were quite friendly. Barely passable for a one night stopover, sorry.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBlonde-ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgio, Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Sirs, thank you for your feedback.
First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
Our Receptionists are dedicated to provide the best customer service possible and would have been more than happy to help you regarding the nuisance from the room next to yours as we operate on a 24hours service. The English breakfast and options available served are prepared daily with fresh and quality products by our Breakfast chef.
The use of drugs is not permitted in our building as per the law any guests that are found smoking in their room are finned accordingly to our policy.
Once again we would like to apologize and if you wish to discuss these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Rebecca Limoan
Assistant Manager
St Georgio hotel
Tel: 0208 55 444 11
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Booked a triple room and asked specifically for one suitable for 3 seniors at the back of the hotel and not over the night club. We had a large room that was obviously converted to accommodate three people. However we had 2 twin beds and one small child bed that was not suitable for an adult senior. We were given toiletries for 2 people only. Shower also didn't work properly. Was told that this was a superior room. Nothing was superior about it. Quilts but no bed covers. Carpet could do with a bit of steam cleaning. We were at the front of the building and not at the back as requested. Luckily we were on the 3rd floor so the night club below didn't cause a problem. Parking particularly for disabled seem to be non existant. We were told that we could park in a specific area but when we returned the space was taken so had to park away from the hotel and walk back. It would appear that the car park is used by people using the nightclub.The only good thing was the breakfast quite a variety. The staff on duty at check out time was very apologetic. The check in staff was less pleasant. I would not stay at this hotel again only if its convenient to where I am visiting and can't get another hotel.

Room Tip: A night club is below the hotel and is very noisy at week-ends. If it was hot and you were particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank None1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgio, Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Sirs, we appreciate your review, however there are a few points that we would like to comment on. We understand the comment regarding the fact that your room was not Superior as per your comment (Nothing was superior about it. Quilts but no bed covers) and I would like to confirm the following : the room provided was a Superior Twin an upgrade that the reception department has provided to you further to your request to be away from the street. The room had the following facilities: Air condition, Kitchenette, Flat screen TV (LCD Plasma) safety deposit box, Fridge, Coffee/Tea facilities, En-suite shower with all amenities. As for the bed facilities we are providing all necessary linen for our clients including bed covers. Upon making your reservation a full description of the third bed was provided, extra beds that we are advising as folding beds with capacity of an adult. Regarding our parking facilities we are advertising that we are having Free Parking with limited spaces and cannot be reserved, as for the Disable parking facilities unfortunately our hotel is not providing any Disable rooms in order for us to be required to have any other disable facilities.
We regret that your expectations were not meet and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience, if you wish to discuss these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Assistant Manager
St Georgio Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

The area is not bad and the hotel is also good, the room is clean an spacious so it was good.

But at night!!!!! It felt like I was actually in the club underneath very loud and noisy n kept goin on forever! Don't get me wrong I am 24 n don't mind party mode, but I had my one year old with me and that wasn't very nice for her.

Parking spots are few, and you will rarely find one, unless u come early n leave your car there.

Breakfast was average but good, we were told it ends at 1030 but everyday they ended it before! N we once came down at 10:05 , n were told LOUDLY infront of everyone , that we cant take a tray and go eat somewhere upstairs!! I found it a bit embarrassing!

But other than that it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgio, Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Sirs, first of all we would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay at St Georgio Hotel and we regret that you had to contact trip advisor in order for you to make your complain made aware. I would like to confirm that all necessary information is provided to our clients by qualified and trained staff at the reception department e.g. breakfast times. As an additional we are having this included in our key card holders and directory of services included in the room. Our breakfast department will always advice our clients that will arrive for breakfast later that they will be able to take any necessary’s in their room once breakfast has finished, this will always be done in a professional way for our clients not to fill uncomfortable.
Once again, I would like to apologies for any inconvenience, if you wish to discuss these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Assistant Manager
St Georgio Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
1.1 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
0.9 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#7 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
1.2 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 15 in Ilford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Georgio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Georgio Hotel

Property: St. Georgio Hotel
Address: 454 Cranbrook Road | Gants Hill, Ilford IG2 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Georgio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel in Gants Hill offers modern accommodation just a 20-minute Tube journey from Central London. Guests can enjoy free WI-Fi and limited free on-site private parking. St Georgio Hotel is offering a variety of room types, all en suite with a fridge and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a spa bath, kitchenette and air conditioning. Guests can enjoy a peaceful evening meal and have also the choice to select a variety of cocktails in the Bar/Restaurant opened from Monday to Saturday. Full English breakfast is served in the modern, light dining room. The hotel is located in a vibrant area of Gants Hill and it is just outside Gants Hill Tube Station (Central Line), 15 minutes' drive from City Airport and 30 minutes' drive from Stansted Airport. The 125-acre Valentines Park with the Valentines Mansion and boating lakes is adjacent to the hotel. Westfield Stratford City shopping centre is located just 12 minutes by train from St Georgio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Georgio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Georgio Ilford
St. Georgio Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing