We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin Walls”
Review of St. Georgio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Georgio Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Ilford
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Was a pleasant reception on arrival and staff were all polite.
Stayed at this hotel recently, Room was small but adequate, had shower in en-suite and lovely warm water, although room was small.
Walls were very thin and inadequate sound reduction as we could hear next room talking and baby crying, luckily quiet during the night.
Room above us arrived about 1am one evening which you could hear.
Breackfast was buffet style with english breakfast with scrambled eggs in hot food containers.
You could ask for different eggs. Bacon was alot to be desired.
For the price we paid was ok. Good thing was the Free Parking, because in this area we found out you have to pay to park your vehicle in a pub car park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinekid107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel had nice rooms with lots of space. There is a nightclub on the ground level so they upgraded me to a quiet room that had its own living area and kitchenette. They offer a nice breakfast buffet that is included with the room price. There is no wifi in the rooms, only common areas. The subway stop is a 2 minute walk up the street. It takes about 30 minutes to get to Zone 1 of the city...this hotel is in Zone 4. The tube shuts down around 1am and if you miss the train, a cab will cost about 60 pounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if you want it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your previous stay at St Georgio hotel. We would like to confirm that Gants Hill Station is just 40 seconds walking distance from the hotel and only just 20 minutes journey to Central London direct line.

Kind Regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel cost us half the price of what other hotels were asking for for a 1 night stay so I don't really feel I can complain ... as of course you get what you pay for!

For what we wanted, just a place to put our heads down for the night it was fine. Our first room was at the front of the hotel and we were right over the queue for a busy club so as you can imagine it was very noisy, however the very friendly reception staff moved us straight away and you couldn't hear any of the noise from our next room. I think this was the first time I have ever had to ask to change rooms so that may give some indication as to how noisy it was!!

Positives ....the rooms were clean with nice new bathrooms and the breakfast was good.

Negatives.... the duvets were super thin, so were the walls and you could smell smoke in the corridors from the smoking rooms. There is parking but you have to double park if you get there late which could be tricky but lucky for us we left before the guests that we blocked in did!

All in all though a good hotel, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tess1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Sirs,


First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and also to thank you for some of your nice comments provided.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hi everyone ,if you planning to visit London any part East or Central this hotel is for you as it got best location 1 min walk to central line station ,rooms are comfortable sound proof and clean to high standard ,healthy continental breakfast absolutely free and best servers and receptionists I have ever seen in hotels Akmal Mahmood and Lady Dianna.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Zaidi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Sirs,


Thank you for your review and for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at this delightful hotel for my birthday for easy access to see the sights of London. The staff gave a warm friendly welcome. The Hotel itself was clean and tidy and the room itself was comfortable. The full english breakfast set us up for the day ahead. It was very reasonably priced and i would recommend it to anyone and we will definitely stay there again on our next visit to London.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can be noisy due to the night clubs but it didn't disturb our sleep as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Sadie,

On behalf of all staff at St Georgio Hotel we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our facilities and customer service and that we have managed to make your stay away from home like home.
We hope to see you again in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for a night as we went to London the next day and it is a 2 min walk to the underground which was brilliant!
There is an Italian restaurant next door to the hotel which we went to for a meal, but it's not as authentic as I'd hoped for which was disappointing, however the staff in there were very friendly and accommodating.
The hotel itself was clean and very friendly, rooms basic but had a fridge which was a bonus! The shower is lovely and powerful.
The only downside to the room we were in (226) was that it was over the night club below so we didn't get much sleep for the loud music and people arguing in the street till early hours in the morning!
There is a cocktail bar in this hotel but it was closed on a Sunday so was a bit disappointed about that.
Overall I would say this is a good hotel very close to central London without the London prices which was good for us.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tigger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review about our hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and we do apologize for any inconvenience caused due to noise levels.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location is perfect ,easy access to central london,rooms are very clean and comfortable , receptionist was very polite,nice and helpful ,I think name was Akmal ,i will highly recommend this hotel.
Cheers

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilitaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice review about your previous stay with us.
I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with us and your nice comments will be shared with the member of staff in question. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
1.1 mi away
Signature Hotel London - Ilford
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ilford
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
1.2 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 14 in Ilford
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Georgio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Georgio Hotel

Address: 454 Cranbrook Road | Gants Hill, Ilford IG2 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range: £24 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Georgio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel in Gants Hill offers modern accommodation just a 20-minute Tube journey from Central London. Guests can enjoy free WI-Fi and limited free on-site private parking. St Georgio Hotel is offering a variety of room types, all en suite with a fridge and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a spa bath, kitchenette and air conditioning. Guests can enjoy a peaceful evening meal and have also the choice to select a variety of cocktails in the Bar/Restaurant opened from Monday to Saturday. Full English breakfast is served in the modern, light dining room. The hotel is located in a vibrant area of Gants Hill and it is just outside Gants Hill Tube Station (Central Line), 15 minutes' drive from City Airport and 30 minutes' drive from Stansted Airport. The 125-acre Valentines Park with the Valentines Mansion and boating lakes is adjacent to the hotel. Westfield Stratford City shopping centre is located just 12 minutes by train from St Georgio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Georgio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Georgio Ilford
St. Georgio Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing