We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always wonderful”
Review of The Stanneylands - CLOSED

The Stanneylands
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“always wonderful”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

for a special occassion it cant be beat. the food is outstanding and of course the service is of a very high stand. They do a set menu for lunch and dinner which is very reasonable and wont break the bank and still up to their usual high stand or really push the boat out and go A la Carte

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a hidden gem of a restaurant!
Fantastic quality food at very reasonable prices served in the most wonderful dining room by a brilliant staff team.
I am a very fussy eater & even I struggled to decide which meal to have which makes a change as usually I am struggling to find something I would like to eat when I go out.
I cannot wait to be taken back here for a meal, the staff team can't do enough for you & nothing is too much trouble.
You don't feel rushed in between courses or to leave at all, even when it is getting late in the evening. What a refreshing change!
You must give this hotel restaurant a chance to wow you with their delicious food & wowed you will most certainly be.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Lovely occasion”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked here for Sunday lunch, to celebrate a special occasion. I requested the window table which they said could not be guaranteed. However when we arrived I was delighted to see that my wish had been granted.
We all spent a wonderful 3 hours here, firstly with drinks in the lounge bar then in the beautiful panelled dining room. Used to come here many years ago and I am so pleased to see that it has not been 'modernised'.
The food was delightful, the staff very attentive and I was made to feel very special. On booking they suggested bringing a cake if I wanted, which they brought out later.
There were quite a few birthday celebrations going on and it was a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JMJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely some of the best cakes ive tasted”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stopped for an afternoon tea and cakes which were absolutely stunning among the best i have had a definite return on the cards

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bttocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A touch above average”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had breakfast, 3 courses and lunch here and whilst some of it was very nice we were a little underwhelmed. Service was a tad slow too, the place was a bit dated

Maybe its my fault for expecting a little more after seeing it had won awards, because it was pretty decent grub, but its not as good as my local and i gave that a 4

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stanneylands also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing