We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could look and feel more authentic”

Sahara Syrian & Lebanese Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Could look and feel more authentic”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Visited in November 2013. Just my daughter and I. We've lived in the middle east and spent a lot of time in Lebanon. At the Sahara, the food was really tasty and the staff were friendly. However, it felt like someone's empty front room. Needs more Arabic décor and different lighting. The music was traditionally Lebanese but the feel of the place is severely lacking. I suggest the owner checks out the JasJasJas in Cheadle for some authentic touches. Wouldn't go back unless things changed. The place has to 'feel right'.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arabicatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    14
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This was our January date night and it was perfect! The restaurant itself is cozy, laid back and the waiters are friendly and efficient. The menu is full of mouthwatering dishes...not too many but it was a very hard decision! Both our choices were delicious and we will definitely be going back!
The wine was that nice we had to order a second bottle!!
Highly recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank becspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very authentic food ”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Just popped into this restaurant for a take away and was thoroughly impressed with the quality and authenticity of the food . Four of us ate a selection of 10 dishes and the price was £48 which we felt was good value .. All the ingredients were fresh and the portions generous. Highly recommended .

Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cold food. Cheap ingredients. Zero ambience.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Popped in for early dinner. Only my husband and I in the place. Had to send mine back as was not hot. Lamb tasted boiled and sauce poured on top and mixed in certainly hadn't been in a marinade. Poor quality . not impressed and won't be returning. Staff stand there pan faced!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently visited the Sahara Restaurant for the first time and we will definitely be going back!
The food was absolutely delicious, comprising of four mezza starters and two main courses.To be honest we felt we'd over ordered (two starters would have been sufficient). The menu was quite extensive and the food was well presented and very tasty. The service was excellent, with the manager providing alternatives to complement our choices if we wished.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breezy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sahara Syrian & Lebanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing